Ranked #9 of 23 attractions in Fredericton
Category: Military Museums
The Soldiers’ Barracks is an 1827, three and a half storey stone structure built by the British Army to accommodate more than...
The Soldiers’ Barracks is an 1827, three and a half storey stone structure built by the British Army to accommodate more than 200 British soldiers. A bronze plaque honours the 104th Regiment. Remarkably, as reinforcements for the war of 1812, six of its companies made a 1,128 km, 52-day march to Quebec and then to Kingston, Ontario, between February and April of 1813, with no loss of men. The lower level of the Barracks houses River Valley Crafts and the Barracks Fine Craft Shops, featuring local artists producing & selling their wares. In addition to fine crafts, River Valley Crafts provides visitor information, tickets for programs within the Historic Garrison District, refreshments and souvenirs. Open daily June to September. English and French tours are available from interpreters at the adjacent Guard House in July & August.