Overview : The City of Bath and the beautiful countryside which surrounds it has been described as one of England's most beautiful places to... more »
The City of Bath and the beautiful countryside which surrounds it has been described as one of England's most beautiful places to... more » visit.
Very easy to navigate on foot, the city of Bath, boasts a unique and diverse range of restaurants, shops, theatres, pubs and architecture. less «
Located in the South West of England, Bath is easy to get to - only 90 minutes from London Paddington by train and a short drive from ... more »the M4/M5 motorways. Bath is 120 miles west of London and just 20 miles from Bristol Airport.
The train station is in the heart of the city centre and there are plenty of car parking spaces available. Bath is a compact city making it easy to walk around during your visit. less «
The Abbey Church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, Bath, commonly known as Bath Abbey, is an active Christian church situated at the heart of the city. Founded in 1499, it stands on the site of an earlier Norman Cathedral and the original Abbey Church built in the 8th century.
The church is cruciform in shape and has seating for approximately 1,200 ... Morepeople. It has two organs and ten bells.Less
The Roman Baths complex is a well-preserved Roman site for public bathing.
The Roman Baths themselves are below the modern street level. There are four main features: the Sacred Spring, the Roman Temple, the Roman Bath House and the Museum holding finds from Roman Bath. The buildings above street level date from the 19th century.
The Baths are a... More major tourist attraction and, together with the Grand Pump Room, receive more than one million visitors a year. It was featured on the 2005 TV program Seven Natural Wonders as one of the wonders of the West Country. Visitors can see the Baths and Museum but cannot enter the water.Less
The Cross Bath was rebuilt, in the style of Robert Adam by Thomas Baldwin around 1789. The name is believed to commemorate the body of St Aldhelm resting there on its journey from Doulting to Malmesbury Abbey in 709
This is one of Bath’s smaller hot springs. By about 1700 the Cross Bath was ’the bathing place of pleasure’. More private than the... More King’s Bath, it was favoured by the fashionable society. Musicians serenaded noted beauties from one of its galleries, while spectators admired them from the other.
In the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries the baths were frequently visited by royalty, increasing their popularity. In June 1688, Mary of Modena, James II's wife, gave birth to a son, Prince James nine months after bathing in the Cross Bath.
The bath was refurbished in the 1990s by Donald Insall Associates. Access is now administered in conjunction with the adjacent Thermae Bath Spa.Less
Queen Square is a peaceful green area in the heart of Bath that is surrounded by Georgian buildings. The obelisk in the centre of Queen Square records the visit of Frederick, Prince of Wales. It was designed by Bath’s famed architect John Wood and paid for by the self proclaimed “King of Bath”Beau Nash. The stone was donated by Ralph Allen, whose... More quarries supplied the honey coloured limestone that gives Bath a unique character.Less
The Circus, originally called King's Circus, was designed by the architect John Wood the Elder, although he never lived to see his plans put into effect as he died less than three months after the first stone was laid in 1754. It was left to his son, John Wood the Younger to complete the scheme (in 1768) to his father's design.
Wood's... More inspiration was the Roman Colosseum, but whereas the Colosseum was designed to be seen from the outside, the Circus faces inwardly. Three classical Orders, (Greek Doric, Roman/Composite and Corinthian) are used, one above the other, in the elegant curved façades.
The central area was originally paved with stone setts, covering a reservoir in the centre that supplied water to the houses. In 1800 the Circus residents enclosed the central part of the open space as a garden. Now, the central area is grassed over and is home to a group of old 'plane trees'.
When viewed from the air, the Circus, along with Queens Square and the adjoining Gay Street, form a key shape, which is a masonic symbol similar to those that adorn many of Wood's buildings.Less
The Royal Crescent is a residential road of 30 houses, laid out in a crescent designed by the architect John Wood the Younger and built between 1767 and 1774. It is among the greatest examples of Georgian architecture to be found in the United Kingdom and is a grade I listed building. The crescent is often chosen to be on postcards of the city
... More Changes have been made to the interiors, however the facade remains much as it was when it was built. No.1 Royal Crescent has been restored to its original style and can be viewed as an authentic example of 18th Century decor and style.Less
The Assembly Rooms were designed by John Wood the Younger in 1769.
There are four main function rooms in the complex: the 100-foot-long (30 m) ballroom — the largest Georgian interior in Bath, the tea room, the card room and the octagon.
The Assembly Rooms formed the hub of fashionable Georgian society in the city. Citizens would gather in the... More rooms in the evening for balls and other public functions, or simply to play cards. Mothers and chaperones bringing their daughters to Bath for the social season, hoping to marry them off to a suitable husband, would take their charge to such events where, very quickly, one might meet all the eligible men currently in the CityLess
The Paragon is a street of Georgian houses which have been designated as listed buildings. It was designed by Thomas Warr Attwood and now forms part of the A4.
Numbers 1 to 21 are 3 storey houses with mansard roofs. Each building has matching doors and windows with central pediments and flat entablatures either side of the 1st floor windows and ... MoreTuscan pilasters and pediments to the doorways.
Numbers 22 to 37 continue the theme from numbers 1 to 21 and were completed in 1775 by Joseph Axford, a local mason. Numbers 28 to 32 were damaged by bombing during World War II but have since been restored.Less
Milsom Street was built in 1762 by Thomas Lightholder. The buildings were originally grand town houses, but most are now used as shops, offices and banks. They have 3 storeys with mansard roofs and Corinthian columns.
In the 2010 Google Street View Best Streets Awards, Milsom Street was voted "Britain's Best Fashion Street" by the... More 11,000 participants.Less
Pulteney Bridge is a rarity. It is one of only four in the world lined by shops on both sides. It was built for William Pulteney in 1773, whose wife had inherited rural Bathwick across the river from Bath. Pulteney could see the potential for development, but first a ferry had to be replaced by a bridge. His architect Robert Adam favoured a... More Palladian design. The bridge has suffered so many changes that Adam would only recognise the south river front, yet it remains an architectural symbol of Bath.Less