QUEEN’S WHARF TO GLENROCK LAGOON: 7.2 km (easy walk for all)
Start your walk at the Newcastle Queen’s Wharf. Walking south over the... more »
QUEEN’S WHARF TO GLENROCK LAGOON: 7.2 km (easy walk for all)
Start your walk at the Newcastle Queen’s Wharf. Walking south over the... more » railway follow signs through historic Newcastle past the cathedral to the Newcastle Obelisk. Then cross Reserve Road to King Edward Park and follow the cliff past Bar Beach, Dixon Park to Merewether and then Burwood Beach. Pass Murdering Gully to reach Glenrock Lagoon.
The tower at Queen’s Wharf where the Great North Walk begins involves a climb the 180 steps. From the 30 m high observation deck the panorama is superb. From the top you can see virtually the whole of today’s walk as well as the ships queuing to enter the harbour and the mountains to the west.
Download EZ Guide to Great North Walk and downloadable e-trails http://tiny.cc/EZguideGNW
Full details about the Great North Walk can be found at http://www.thegreatnorthwalk.com
We also recommend accessing e-trails and guides at Great North Walk books - http://tiny.cc/Buy2GNWbooks
This is a lovely walk anytime. Swimming on the beaches is year-round fun and there are also public (saltwater pools) with their own... more » history to enjoy too!
Access to the start of the Australian "Great North Walk" is at Queen's Wharf. This is a very short stroll from Newcastle's main railway station. The Tower is well worth the climb!
Take a few moments for a coffee on the wharf and read a little about the area's history - this will mean you enjoy the sights along the way all the more.
Watch out for the fantastic views from the cliff-top walk and also bird & human hang-gliders floating overhead around King Edward Park. less «
More than one hundred ships have been wrecked just here, along Stockton Beach and the Oyster Bank. Many wrecks are now part of the main breakwater, which was begun in 1898. The most famous wreck was the ‘Adolphe’, captained by Mr Layec, was arriving into Newcastle’s port from Antwerp on 30 September 1904. Around 9 am on that day, the two tugs, ... More‘Hero’ and ‘Victoria’, went out to meet the ‘Adolphe’. The pilot, Mr Stevenson, started to guide them into harbour. However, as they rounded the southern breakwater, the three ships were hit by huge seas that severed ‘Victoria's’ hawser. By itself, the tug ‘Hero’ was unable to keep control of the ‘Adolphe’. The next set of waves lifted the ‘Adolphe’ right on top of the remnants of a previous wreck: that of the ‘Colonist’. They say it was a weird sight — one doomed vessel stuck atop another. The miracle was that the lifeboat, under the command of Coxswain A. McKinnon, managed to save everyone on board although they had it really tough too — they broke at least four oars trying to get around the stern but finally the lifeboat crew got near enough to take off everyone to the applause of thousands of spectators.Less
This museum recreates the former Castlemain & Wood Bros Brewery in this museum was a major Bicentennial project. Exhibits cover the industrial and technological heritage of the Newcastle region, including its social history, lifestyle and environment. Located at 787 Hunter Street (+61 2 4962 2001). About 1 km from the Great North Walk.
Australia’s only ‘at war’ fort. Built in 1882 on a hilltop on the south-eastern headland, which is at the entrance to Newcastle Harbour. Located just over 1 km east of Newcastle Station that is at one end of the Great North Walk.
The first hotel in Newcastle - the Ship Inn - was built in 1823 at the end of Watt Street. The licensee, James Hannell, moved his premises to this location in 1846. The "Ship" was a famous meeting place for Newcastle power brokers and community pressure groups. For example advocates of the incorporation of the borough of Newcastle met... More in the Ship's "long room"and elected the pub owner, Mr Hannell, the first mayor of Newcastle on 7th June 1859.Less
Christ Church Cathedral is the largest provincial Anglican cathedral in Australia. It was built in what is now termed ‘Federation Gothic’ style. Anglican worship in Newcastle goes back to 1804 when Governor King instructed Lieutenant Menzies as follows:
‘You are to cause the prayers of the Church of England to be read with all due solemnity... More every Sunday.’
There is a legend that says that, by 1812, a slab hut had been constructed on the same site as the present-day cathedral to shelter people during the reading of the prayers. The first church building proper was erected some five years later, in 1817. It is said that Governor Macquarie himself gave the name of Christ Church to this small, convict-built church building, which he had been responsible for creating. The original church remained in use until 1884 when it was replaced by another building opposite the site of the present cathedral; that is now the Cathedral Hall. The cathedral we’re in today was dedicated in 1902, but it wasn’t really completed until 1979 when the tower was addedLess
Newcastle harbour was sighted by Captain Cook - he wrote in his journal about what is now known as Nobby's head, in 1770 as a ‘small clump of an island’. Newcastle was settled very soon after Sydney because of the discovery of coal near Glenrock Lagoon. Many houses date back to the mid 19th century and some offer impressive views of the harbour ... Moreand ocean.Less
Shepherd’s Place at the top of Nobbys Road just before you enter the Fort Scratchley. The story is that back in 1801 Lieutenant-Colonel W. Patterson wrote a report referring to the hills south of Newcastle's harbour:
‘Those hills are so much alike to what I have seen sheep feeding on in England that I have named them Sheep Pasture Hills.’
Since ... Morethen this area has been known as Shepherd's Hill.Less
The Newcastle obelisk was erected in 1850 following a storm of protest after an earlier landmark, or rather sea-farers mark, a windmill for flour grinding built in 1819, was demolished from a prominent hill close to the harbour. Ship-owners successfully petitioned for this vital navigation aid to be replaced, resulting in the erection of this... More towering white obelisk. Despite damage from lightning and the 1989 earthquake, this monument has remained intact.Less
This fountain was erected at Newcastle’s main railway station to provide drinking water for passers-by in 1879. With the coming of a town water supply in 1888, this purpose was no longer a reason for the fountain to remain at the station, so it was moved to the beautiful King Edward Park.
The oldest swimming baths in NSW date from around 1820 when a natural pool was enlarged by convict labour under the direction of soldiers and on the orders of Major James Thomas Morisset, Commandant of the Newcastle settlement from 1819 to 1822. Its original size is estimated as 15 feet (about 5m) long, seven feet (2.2m) wide and six feet (2m)... More deep. These baths originally served as Morisset's private bathing pool giving rise to their other name: the Commandant's Bath. Following this, the bathing facilities were reserved for military use becoming a public pool in 1863.Less
This part of the Great North Walk is known locally as ‘Bathers’ Way’ with excellent community notices about its history and culture. Follow the history of early Newcastle right up to present day whale-watching with the help of these informative signs.
From the top of Cliff Street walkers have fantastic views both east across Merewether Beach and... More the saltwater pool replete with splashing bathers and further west a glimpse of Mount Sugarloaf and the ranges we walked in the Watagan Mountains.Less
In 2008 the City of Newcastle officially adopted a migrating whale whom they named Wittilliko, which means ‘to sing’ in the Guraki language. Hundreds of humpback whales swim along this part of the coast of eastern Australia every year. In fact, they swim both ways: north from Antarctica, where their main source of food, tiny krill abound, to... More warmer seas to have their young. Whales undertake a seasonal migration over very long distances. In winter, they mate and give birth in tropical waters. They then swim south to colder waters around the pole and stay there for the summer, feeding. Humpbacks, for example, have incredible powers of endurance and when migrating can swim over 1,500 km in a month. They travel up to 8,000 km each way during their annual pilgrimage, taking almost no rest during this period. When the calves are old enough, they swim with their Mums and the rest of the pod back past here again, this time heading south to the food-rich waters around Antarctica.Less
The real reason for the haunting name and the true history of Murdering Gully are lost but there are many stories. One says here that a Glenrock coal miner was leaning over a waterfall back there trying to catch water for tea. He overbalanced and fell off the edge. His mates rushed down to find him but when they did find the body hours later his... More head was missing. They say the ghost of his body still roams around looking for his head!Less
Lieutenant John Shortland reported coal deposits near what is now called Glenrock Lagoon while pursuing a group of convict escapees in 1797. He landed near the mouth of the Coal River, in the vicinity of what is now Newcastle, and, as its 'discoverer', claimed the prerogative of naming it, which he did so after Governor Hunter.