Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch Spot, Dinner, Reservations, After-hours, Dessert
Description: Gahan is a name unknown in Charlottetown today, but in the middle of the 19th century, John Gahan was a prominent merchant, an importer of teas, wines, and family groceries. His place of business was on the corner of Queen and Sydney Streets, the former McIsaac building. Mr. Gahan lived next door to the shop, at 126 Sydney Street, in a wooden house he had purchased from the Brenan Estate. In 1880 he replaced that residence with the mansard-roofed brick one now at this address. It remained in Gahan ownership until the beginning of the 20th century when John Gahan’s widow, Marguerita, sold the property to Edward Kelly, the enterprising Irishman who built and owned houses all over Charlottetown. After Edward Kelly’s death in 1922, the premises became the property of the Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation. The Sisters of the Precious Blood built a large addition to the house and used it as a convent until the 1960s. In the last quarter century the Gahan House had been used as a boarding house. The Gahan Brewery (formerly Murphy’s Brewing Co.) was established in March 1997 next to the Lone Star Café at 449 University Ave. Due to the increased popularity of the beer, we relocated to its current location, 126 Sydney Street, thus doubling its production capacity and giving it a permanent home in Old Charlottetown in the Gahan House. Murphy’s Brewing Co. was renamed The Gahan Brewery in November 2000 and remains the only brewery on Prince Edward Island. The Gahan House Pub opened in June 2001 and quickly became one of Charlottetown’s favourite restaurants. It’s unique and friendly atmosphere, food, and fine Ales has helped to establish The Gahan House as a destination of choice for locals and tourists alike.From our house to your house... Cheers!