We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Ness and Glencoe Day Trip from Edinburgh Including Lunch

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$105.64
Date
2 travellers
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Highland Explorer Tours
60 High St, Edinburgh EH1 1TB, UK
See address & details
  • Pass by Stirling Castle
  • 1
    Callander
    Stop: 50 minutes -
    See details
  • 2
    Glencoe
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Ben Nevis
  • 3
    The Lovat, Loch Ness
    Stop: 80 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Loch Ness Region
    Stop: 30 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Cairngorms National Park
  • 5
    Pitlochry
    Stop: 45 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Forth Bridge
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Highland Explorer Tours, 60 High St, Edinburgh EH1 1TB, UK
    Departure Time
    8:00 AM
    Duration
    12h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Local guide
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Lunch - 3-course lunch
    • Souvenir map
    • Entry/Admission - The Lovat, Loch Ness
    Exclusions
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Gratuities
    • Food and drinks, unless specified
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 23 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • We are unable to carry children under 5 years old
    • The restaurant provides a set menu and we, therefore, cannot cater to any dietary requirements or special requests.
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    54Reviews0Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 43
    • 2
    • 3
    • 2
    • 2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    We had a one day tour to Lock Ness form Edinburgh, the whole trip was super fantastic ! Very packed schedule but in a relax way ~ well worth it ! very appreciated with our tour guide Michael , a funny and energetic guy which never stop giving us information about Scotland plus
    Read more
    Very long day-trip but worthes it. I recommand to go there in Autumn, the landscapes are colourful and you will see snow on the summit of the hills and mountains ! I recommand a hundred times ! Thank you Kristie for all these explanations (sorry if you don't write it like that)
    Read more
    When we booked we had the option on the day of the trip to purchase cruise tickets. However on the day of the trip the tickets had already sold out, one poor family bought the last loch ness cruise tickets but only got 4 so they had to decide which three members were going to
    Read more
    Response from Highland Explor... T, Guest Relations Manager at Loch Ness and Glencoe Day Trip from Edinburgh Including Lunch
    Responded 22 Sep 2019
    Hello Katrina, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your day tour. I understand the main issues on the tour were: - You were not able to take part in the cruise due to a lack of available tickets - Your experience was affected by other passengers who spoke loudly throughout the tour. - The music played by the driver was too loud. - You feel that the itinerary of reaching Fort Augustus then travelling back was not as good as other tours you have done in the past which included Urquhart Castle. On the above points I would like to apologise on behalf of Highland Explorer Tours for any inconvenience or disappointment caused. In regards to the boat cruise tickets, we are allocated a set number of tickets by the cruise line as multiple tour companies use them. We offer the option to pre purchase the tickets at the time of ordering ( depending on which booking platform you use). Once our allocation of tickets is sold we would advise customers they may be able to purchase tickets from the cruise line direct or try and arrange this on behalf of our customers before they leave. We have not sold out our allocation of tickets since the middle of August so I am unsure why the above happened. If you could please advise of your booking reference we can look into the date you travelled and why you were not able to take part in the boat cruise. The other passengers on the tour speaking loudly is regrettably out of our control, we do ask our guides to try and ensure that all passengers behave appropriately which from your comments I can see the guide did speak to the group in question. However, we are limited to what we can do if the group chose to ignore the guide as well as other passengers. Your comments about the music being too loud is something I will pass back to the guides to make sure they check will all passengers that the level of sound is okay. Sometimes it can be too quiet or loud so we always recommend to check with the group to make sure everyone is happy. Finally, in regards to the itinerary of the tour I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the final destination and felt ripped off. I am unsure which company you used previously to visit Urquhart Castle but we do not include this in our day tour. Our itinerary was devised to try and maximise the amount of time you get at each stop as well as allowing passengers to see as much of the beautiful countryside as we can. Including a visit to the castle would shorten the amount of time we are able to spend at the loch. We have found that trying to incorporate everything means we sacrifice time off the bus to explore and take in the location. However I will pass on your feedback as I am aware that Urquhart Castle is a popular destination. Overall I hope that despite your experience on this occasion you could still consider Highland Explorer Tours a travel option in the future and if we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly Many Thanks Rebecca
    Read more
    As other reviews have said, this tour is not for the feint hearted. You are travelling a long way so there is a far bit of time spent in the bus, driving. Our driver (cannot remember his name) was fantastic. He was funny and informative. We chose to do the lunch and it was
    Read more
    When we showed it turned up there is no space on our bus. We were offered to sit separately on a different bus. Make your own judgement.
    Read more
    Response from Highland Explor... T, Public Relations Manager at Loch Ness and Glencoe Day Trip from Edinburgh Including Lunch
    Responded 9 Sep 2019
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. Firstly we would like to apologise, this is not the experience we aim to deliver for our tours. The experience you have described is definitely a rare occurrence as our booking system automatically places passengers under the same booking on the same bus; we would certainly like to investigate this further and make sure this does not happen again. If possible, could you please email us with more information for your booking? Our email address is info@highlandexplorertours.com. Once again we sincerely apologise for the experience and we look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Richard.
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Duration: 12h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Languages Offered: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 Support