Tours and Tickets

Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow provided by Timberbush Tours Glasgow - Day Tours

Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow

Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow
4.5
Book in advance
from
RM 294.83
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
See the best of the Highlands in just one day from Glasgow
Duration:
12h 15m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
32
Service animals allowed
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    12h 15m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    32
  • Service animals allowed
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Make the most of your time in Scotland on this guided day trip from Glasgow to Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands. Visit the country's most famous and most beautiful attractions while seamlessly transported in a comfortable bus. Also see one of Britain's highest mountain and visit the charming town of Pitlochry while your guide explains the complex backstories and culture of this dramatic (in both appearance and history) region.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Learn about the region's history from your guide
  • Enjoy an optional cruise on Loch Ness or visit Urquhart Castle
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from central Glasgow
What to expect
Meet your guide and group in central Glasgow. Board your air-conditioned coach and journey north, passing by Loch Lomond National Park and its famously "bonnie, bonnie banks." Continue into the Highlands, traveling by Rannoch Moor and the Black Mount mountain range, toward Glencoe, the haunting site of the 1692 MacDonald clan massacre and recognizable from the James Bond movie, Skyfall. Continue past Loch Linnhe, one of Scotland's deepest lakes (lochs), and stop for lunch in Fort William (own expense). See one of Britain's highest mountain, Ben Nevis, as you journey into the Great Glen. Travel through the Fort Augustus village toward Loch Ness. Keep your eyes peeled for the famous monster, and add on an optional boat cruise or Urquhart Castle tour. Continue north to Inverness, before heading back through Perthshire and the Forest of Atholl. Take a short break in Pitlochry, before concluding your tour back in central Glasgow.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 12h 15m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Learn about the region's history from your guide
  • Enjoy an optional cruise on Loch Ness or visit Urquhart Castle
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from central Glasgow
What to expect
Meet your guide and group in central Glasgow. Board your air-conditioned coach and journey north, passing by Loch Lomond National Park and its famously "bonnie, bonnie banks." Continue into the Highlands, traveling by Rannoch Moor and the Black Mount mountain range, toward Glencoe, the haunting site of the 1692 MacDonald clan massacre and recognizable from the James Bond movie, Skyfall. Continue past Loch Linnhe, one of Scotland's deepest lakes (lochs), and stop for lunch in Fort William (own expense). See one of Britain's highest mountain, Ben Nevis, as you journey into the Great Glen. Travel through the Fort Augustus village toward Loch Ness. Keep your eyes peeled for the famous monster, and add on an optional boat cruise or Urquhart Castle tour. Continue north to Inverness, before heading back through Perthshire and the Forest of Atholl. Take a short break in Pitlochry, before concluding your tour back in central Glasgow.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 6898P11
Important information
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Local guide
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Attraction Tickets
  • Entry/Admission - Loch Ness
Duration
12h 15m
Departure details
  • 19 Killermont St, Glasgow G2 3NX, UK This is located outside the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and opposite Buchanan Bus Station.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • The cruise currently needs to be pre-booked, details will be provided on the ticket.
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travellers
Inclusions
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Local guide
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Attraction Tickets
  • Entry/Admission - Loch Ness
Departure details
  • 19 Killermont St, Glasgow G2 3NX, UK This is located outside the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and opposite Buchanan Bus Station.
Duration
12h 15m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • The cruise currently needs to be pre-booked, details will be provided on the ticket.
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    19 Killermont St
    19 Killermont St, Glasgow G2 3NX, UK
    This is located outside the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and opposite Buchanan Bus Station.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Loch Lomond
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Glen Coe
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Ben Nevis
  • 3
    Loch Ness
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
    Pass by
    Inverness Museum and Art Gallery
  • 4
    Pitlochry VisitScotland iCentre
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
210 reviews
Excellent
160
Very good
23
Average
13
Poor
5
Terrible
9

Isabell R
4 contributions
Jan 2020
Our guide Andrew was amazing, he knows everything and is a fun guy. Thanks!

The tour itself was great, especially in the morning; we saw beautiful landscapes and took amazing pictures. Loch Lomond and the Highlands were beautiful.
Loch Ness was a bit disappointing since we did not want to spend the money for the cruise (we should have, though), and therefore the only thing we could do was hiking up the hill.

Lastly, although we expected this, be aware that it gets dark early in winter. The sun set in Inverness and therefore all following locations on the way back to Glasgow were invisible to us (Pitlochry, Perth, Stirling, to name a few). Most of the group fell asleep also then, so it felt very long.

If you only have time for a one-day trip, I'd recommend something that doesn't go as far north. :)
Written 28 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear 340isabellr, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your Driver-Guide Andrew and your Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands tour. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us! I am so pleased to hear that your driver-guide made the tour even more special for you with his knowledge, and entertainment! I am sorry you did not find your stop at Loch Ness to be impressive. Taking the cruise would have been the best way to fully experience the Loch and I am sorry you did not take that opportunity. Thank you for your recommendation regarding the winter early sunset, I am sure some of our future passengers will find it very useful! Best Wishes, Ophelie
Written 29 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kathleen S
2 contributions
Had a fantastic time with Ben as our guide today! His stories were engaging: full of history and he brought the people and battles alive. He made a long day seem short with his endless well of facts, and kept us chuckling along the way. His driving was smooth and professional even though the driving conditions were poor. He was a great guide and I would gladly recommend him. You will not be disappointed.
Written 30 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour798538
Hi there, Kathleen: We are very glad to hear you had a great/safe time with Ben. I will be sure to pass along your comments to him. We're so happy you had a great time despite the 'wet' weather. Hopefully, we can welcome you onto another tour with us in the future!
Written 3 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Maz B
Pevensey, UK150 contributions
Just got back from a Timberbush day trip with Charlie. He was amazing, knowledgable, explained the history, played relevant music to wherever we were. Fantastic! Pick up was 8am, we were asked to be there at 7.45. Everyone was present so he didn't hang about. We went to Loch Lomond, through Crainlarich, Glencoe, Fort William, Fort Augustus, through stunning scenery, stopping for photos and food along the way. With plenty of interesting commentary from Charlie.
We got off at Urquhart Castle which was stunning in the sunshine with Loch Ness setting in the background, the cruise on Loch Ness was cancelled unfortunately due to the water being to high which made it unsafe for boarding on and off the boat. But to be fair we took many beautiful photos from the shore so it didnt spoil the trip at all. Back on the minibus we headed up through Inverness where the snow came down as we travelled through the Grampian mountains. Stopping at Pitlochry for some delicious Fish and Chips before heading past Stirling castle and back to Glasgow. Had an amazing relaxing day. Would thoroughly recommend.x
Written 3 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Maz B, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your Driver-Guide Charlie and your Loch Ness day tour. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this tour with it's stunning landscapes, and that Charlie made it more special for you with his historical knowledge, personal touches, and guiding style! I am very sorry that you did not get to do the cruise on Loch Ness following the bad weather of the last few days but I am glad it did not spoil your trip though and you still managed to take great pictures! Please do think of us again if you wish to travel more in Scotland. Best Wishes, Ophelie
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jasmin M
1 contribution
Sep 2020 • Solo
Excellent Trip. I can highly recommend, our tour guide Charlie was fantastic, he was not only
knowledgeable and fun, but also mixed-up the tour with a wide range of facts, not only historical. He kept me definitely entertained until the end and made it one of the best tours I have been on. Top tip if you only have day as I saw and learned far more than I expected.
Written 3 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberbush T
Hi 388jasminm, Thanks for the review! I'll pass on your kind comments to Charlie, your Driver-Guide. Hopefully see you on a tour in the future! Best wishes, Amy
Written 4 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John D
5 contributions
Mar 2022
The tour with Michael was the absolute highlight of my two week tour of Europe. His incredible knowledge of the history of the the highlands as well has his passion for storytelling made the full day journey an unforgettable experience. I'm so grateful for his thoughtfulness and care in ensuring the tour was was pure delight.
Written 15 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review! What a lovely review for our Michael, I'm glad to hear you had a such a great time on tour with him and that his incredible knowledge and passion for storytelling really made the tour for you. Hopefully we will see you on another tour with him soon! Best wishes, David
Written 18 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rita C
1 contribution
Sep 2021
Amazing tour! It is a great peak into the Highlands, if you do not have a lot of time to spend on your trip. The amount of stops and time spent in each felt appropriate for such a long bus trip and our tour guide, Callum, was also really fun and informative. The landscapes were absolutelly amazing and memorable! My Partner and I enjoyed it so much and thought it was definitely worth the money.
Written 1 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberbush T
Thank you for your kind words, I123FMritac!
Written 11 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Quest760238
2 contributions
Jan 2020 • Solo
The view of the Highlands was spectacular but the tour was lacking. The description of the tour mentions an optional cruise : castle that would be at extra cost (£20/person) but it doesn’t mention that there’s nothing to do but hang out at a low-quality hotel / tourist trap if you choose not to do either. I felt therefore scammed into spending more money - and would’ve preferred the cost to be lumped into the tour ticket. The day definitely could’ve been shortened with more efficiencies. Spending 45min in Pitlochry for toilet breaks was ridiculous- every shop was closed and much less time could’ve been spent. The guide was very knowledgeable and excellent. Would recommend skipping the tour altogether and hiring a car.
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Quest760238, Many thanks for your feedback and I am sorry that you found your experience to be disappointing! We do advertise on our website and on our brochures that the price of the option is not included in the price of the tour and we even list the price of each attraction on each tour page as well. I am sorry you missed the information but paying for the optional extras shouldn't have been surprise for you. Pitlochry is a very picturesque village and some of our passengers would enjoy having as much time as possible to take a walk around and explore the small town. It would not be fair to reduce the time spent at Pitlochry especially on a tour like Loch Ness that covers most of the country and where stops off the coach are less frequent than in other shorter tours. I am glad that despite your disappointment you still enjoy spending time with your driver guide! Best Wishes, Ophelie
Written 8 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rachie L
Neath Port Talbot, UK7 contributions
We had never been to Scotland and had a free day for something to do..booking.com sent us ‘attractions to explore’ so we signed up for this. The company sent me an email for a different pick up point and for the same time.. not sure where we were going or if they would show up...Was one of the best trips we have done!! Our driver Andy was informative and witty, even in the Ciara storm he gave us the choice of certain stops and places to go. The castle was beautiful, Loch ness was picturesque and the cafe to stop in for lunch had a lovely baked potato with haggis! I recommend this trip for anyone. I saw everything I wanted to see apart from a Nessie!! Thank you for the trip my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed :) x
Written 13 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear 342rachiel, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your Driver-Guide Andy and your Loch Ness, Glencoe & The Highlands tour. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us! I am so pleased to hear that Andy made the tour even more special for you with his knowledge, and friendliness! I am glad that he was super flexible with you so you get to see what you wish and the storm doesn't spoil your day! Thank you for your recommendation! Please think of us again if you wish to tour more of Scotland! Best Wishes, Ophelie
Written 16 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GVS
1 contribution
Feb 2020
Thanks to our amazing guide and driver, Charlie, a very cold, rainy and snowy day was transformed into a wonderful adventure filled with Scottish history, interesting things to see, enough time for refreshments etc and great music appropriate to each stage of the tour. Charlie has an incredible knowledge of each place that we visited and made everything come alive for us. I'd like to come back in the summer for another tour. THANK YOU, CHARLIE😀
Written 10 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Scottishdescendant, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for your Driver-Guide Charlie and your Loch Ness and Glencoe day tour. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us! I am so pleased to hear that Charlie made the tour extra special for you with his knowledge, his music and his excellent entertainment throughout the day. We take pride in our professional and very knowledgeable driver-guides! I will make sure to pass on your lovely feedback to him! I hope you manged to take wonderful pictures of the Highlands under the snow! Many thanks again for your great feedback and recommendation! Best Wishes, Ophelie
Written 11 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anita K
London, England, United Kingdom16 contributions
Jul 2020 • Family
We have visited Highlands, Loch Ness from Glasgow this week. Our tour guide Charlie was telling lots of interesting stories and history along the way. I would definitely recommend this tour for everyone who wants to see beautiful scenery of the Highlands and get to know more about places. Thank you Charlie and Timberbush!
Written 19 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberbush T
Hi Anita, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your day with Charlie -I'll pass on your kind comments to him! All the best, Amy
Written 27 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 182
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Timberbush Tours Glasgow - Day Tours
hayleytan
hayleytan
00
Great experience for Solo Travelers
The trip in general is well planned. Despite my last minute booking, Timberbush was able to accommodate me and help
kumack
kumack
00
Highly recommend a great day excursion.
Just the right pace, entertaining, and informative. I've done a ton of day tours and this one was perfect! Great tr
U5206PIwilliams
U5206PIwilliams
00
Lovely trip
Brilliant trip Andrew the driver was brill Telling jokes etc 👍🏻, would be good to align the time in Oban , as yo
haileyskyed
haileyskyed
00
Book your tour with Neil!
This tour was great and I highly recommend it! Our guide Neil was amazing, he has so much great local and historica
Quentin M
Quentin M
00
Loch Lomond, Stirling Castle and the Trossachs
Michael did the tour. There appeared to be strong nationalist undertones in his narrative, which was not necessaril
MaeOkay
MaeOkay
00
Great tour
Great tour, it supposed rainy day, turn out a nice weather, love the cruise and Stirling Castle tour.
837nasimm
837nasimm
00
The best you can get from three days
Very informative. Beautiful stops for short walks. The accommodations were good. Remember to ask if departure time
maddyentrkn
maddyentrkn
00
Beautiful day trip with knowledgeable guide
We had such a great time with our guide Charlie!!! He gave us lots of history insight on the places we went and mad
dazzle482000
dazzle482000
00
Hits and misses
A bit hit and miss with this one. Firstly, Robert, our driver and guide was very friendly and knowledgeable, keep
506marens
506marens
00
Amazing tour!
It was an amazing tour! The guide was so kind and we saw a beautiful landscape. Definitely coming back!
Robob94
Robob94
00
Oban
Great trip, a good way to see Scotland and hear some interesting facts about Scotland from the excellent guide craz
Nicole B
Nicole B
00
Great Day with Colin
We had a great day with Colin. Learned so much history throughout the day. The castle was beautiful and countryside
ngfour61
ngfour61
00
Highly recommended, not only for Harry Potter fans
A memorable experience. The views were fantastic throughout the tour, although to get a really good picture of the
MJANDER2015
MJANDER2015
00
Cancelled at last minute
Timberbush tours cancelled at the last minute because booked and paid people were not important enough to take out.
Voyager22839904184
Voyager22839904184
00
A great intro to Scotland
Gillian was a great guide and safe driver, wonderful little spots (yay hairy coos!!) and stories you'd never discov
Frequently Asked Questions about Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow

Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow will start at 8:00 AM. Discover and book Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow on Tripadvisor


Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow price starts from RM 291.33. Discover and book Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow on Tripadvisor

Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Loch Ness, Glencoe, and the Highlands Day Trip from Glasgow on Tripadvisor