We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Save

Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Sightseeing Tour

Highlights
  • Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius tour from Sorrento
  • Get off the beaten track in a 4x4 vehicle
  • Visit the ancient crater inside Vesuvius National Park
More
Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Sightseeing Tour
From US$80.87
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Sightseeing Tour
US$80.87
Overview
Explore Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius on a four-wheel-drive tour for an up-close perspective of this Italian volcano. Travel up the mountain in a 4x4 vehicle to Vesuvius National Park, where you’ll walk to the crater to learn about its geology and monitoring system. Then visit the archaeological ruins of Pompeii, a UNESCO World Heritage site whose excavations reveal what life was like just before Vesuvius erupted and covered the ancient town with its deadly flow.
What to Expect
You will leave the bus at the volcano’s slopes and with a special car 4x4 you will climb into the Vesuvius National Park reaching the 3000 feet altitude.
Then you will continue by foot for 20 minutes to arrive to the top of 1300 meters height, passing through a dug up grave. Once you arrive at the crater your expert Alpine guides will illustrate the monitoring and the history of the Vesuvius and of its numerous and famous eruptions.
After a break of one hour for lunch on your own, you will go to Pompeii to visit the archaeological excavations and spend 2 hours with a local guide who will reveal you the secrets of this beautiful ancient Roman city destroyed by the eruption of the 79 BC.
You will discover the beauties of this archaeological site walking through the Abundance Street and passing through imperial forums, temples, thermal baths, villas and the Amphitheatre.
At 5:00 pm you will be transferred back to the hotel.
Reviews (29)
1 - 5 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Exhausting by rewarding day out

We booked this trip before we left and found out that we would not be able to do the 4x4 trip as planned due to a fire on Mount Vesuvius from last years summer a couple of days before the actual trip would have been...More

Thank Julie G
Giovanna R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tours & More Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julie G, thank you very much for taking your time to write your review on the Pompeii - Vesuvius tour with us and for undestanding. Consider that during peak season here all the most important Unesco sites like Pompeii and Amalfi Coast and Capri...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile
No 4x4

Only informed after booking that they couldn’t provide the 4x4 aspect of the trip due to a forest fire last year. Could have cancelled but decided to go ahead for what was an enjoyable day. Driver was good and views from top of Vesuvius are...More

1  Thank NandD2016
Reviewed 28 May 2018
Visit to Europe's only active volcano

After visiting Pompeii we returned to the railway station, where you can choose a tour to Mt Vesuvious. The office is location upstairs at the railway station. Very helpful staff and booking is easy. We choose the bus trip to Mt Vesuvious, just a short...More

5  Thank hristopher J
Reviewed 27 May 2018
Deceived and Disappointed

It took 2 hours to get to Pompeii and the driver was very difficult to understand. Joined another group of 8 for 2 hours with a very good guide. Then we were supposed to be on our own for an hour lunch, and after, meet...More

6  Thank Susan E
Giovanna R, Direttore at Tours & More Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Susan E, we regret to read your dissapointed feedback regarding your Vesuvius part of the tour. Unfortunately, we regret but most of local drivers in Sorrento do not speak a very fluent english as well as our guides, they are supposed mainly to drive...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018
Mixed feelings

Was really looking forward to this in view of some of the reviews read before booking.Unfortunately we spent a lot of time in a traffic jam on way to Pompeii. This was frustrating as we knew from the previous day's visit to Herculaneum by train...More

3  Thank LondonCristina
Giovanna R, Direttore generale at Tours & More Italia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Cristina, thank you for writing your feedback of your Pompeii tour. We read that you paid 15€ Pompeii ruins entry fee, please note that 15€ is the correct official price in 2018, therefore the guide collected the right amount from you in ordert to...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carl G
4 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Discover90617 | Reviewed this property |
It is not my tour, I was the tourist, however they did pick us up from our hotel.
0
Votes