Tours and Tickets

Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina provided by SAT Group Tours

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina

Select Date and Travellers
RM 464.23
2 adults
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Watch the setting sun from the prime location of Mount Etna with this evening tour from Taormina. Explore the volcano and take in the views from 9,843 feet (3,000 meters) above sea level. After experiencing the magical glow of the setting sun, head to a traditional restaurant at the foot of the volcano to sample with local Italian specialties (own expense).
  • You’ll have 3 starting options
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Mount Etna
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    See Important Information for details
  • Take in the views with this Mount Etna sunset tour from Taormina
  • Hassle-free pickup and drop-off from your Taormina hotel
  • Learn about local geology and volcanic activity from your guide
  • Visit a restaurant at the bottom of Mount Etna for dinner (own expense)
Important Information
Departure Point
Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy Recanati Bus Terminal, Viale Dionisio, 12, 98035 Giardini Naxos ME, Italy 98037 Letojanni, Province of Messina, Italy
8–9 hours
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
  • Transport by air-conditioned coach and jeep
  • Tour multilingual escort/host
  • Entry/Admission - Craters Silvestri of Mount Etna
  • Food and drinks
  • Wind jacket and boots rental
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Warm clothes and comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Multilingual tour
  • Ascent by off-road jeeps up to the authorized crater area at approximately 3,000 meters escorted by licensed guides of the CAI (Italian Alpine Club). Possibility to admire the sunset at a safe distance from the central crater. The darkness makes it possible to observe better an eventual volcanic activity
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 79 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Popular mentions
Jeff G. wrote a review Jul 2019
New York City, New York19 contributions4 helpful votes
Etna is a beautiful place, and being able to walk across the landscape, take in the views, and experience the sunset there is a special experience. Our guide did a good job, and even went out of his way to help a fellow traveler who had some issues with heights. Very kind. It is
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Response from Traveler57455648382, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina
Responded 1 Aug 2019
Dear Jeff_in, receiving your review is such a pleasure! It shows a particular appreciation on our organization, underlining the human factor which is a very important part of our job. Hospitality is an important issue and we like to give the best of uS. Greetings from Taormina, Guest Relation Manager SAT Group
Read more
Resort305657 wrote a review Oct 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked two tours through SAT while we were in Taormina. Frederico was incredibly helpful and supportive in providing guidance and accommodating our needs. The opportunity to be on Mount Etna was amazing. Our guide was knowledgeable and answered questions. I highly
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Response from Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Hello Resort305657, Federico is so happy to receive your appreciation and we are extremely proud to have such a feedback form you! Thank you so much. Arrivederci! Guest Relation Manager SAT Group
Read more
Oliviasky wrote a review Sep 2018
Dubai, United Arab Emirates43 contributions14 helpful votes
We’ve booked this tour just 24 hours in advance and the booking website confirmed the booking with outdated departure times which made us miss the bus. However, SAT Group was amazingly helpful and went the extra mile so that we could still join the group. A big shout out to
Read more
Response from Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Hello Oliviasky, we absolutely remember you! We made it to let you participate despite the problem with the departure time. Happy for that! Thank you for the amazing pictures, incredible souvenir! Arrivederci! Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
Read more
Nigel R wrote a review Aug 2018
Worcestershire, United Kingdom55 contributions32 helpful votes
We stood at the bus stop waiting for are lift in temperatures over 32c, not knowing that in 2 hours, we would be freezing in the ice cold winds of Etna. Apart from the cold, the whole experience was amazing. It is very important that you wear warm clothing or hire jackets (€4)
Read more
Date of experience: July 2018
4 Helpful votes
Frank T wrote a review Jun 2018
Northampton, United Kingdom34 contributions12 helpful votes
A waste of money. We paid 130 euros each and the weather was appalling. Most of us never got out of the 'jeep' ( it isn't really a jeep..more of an eight-wheeled coach thingy). What's more we had to hire jackets at 4 euros each and the so-called 'Sicilian meal' in the restaurant
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
Response from Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Hello northamptonoldby, we recognize you, you are the same customer that has been refunded with the 50% of the total amount after receiving the following letter from our Customer Care Manager. We do believe that it is not fair to receive the 50% refund for the weather conditions that you could have checked before leaving and then write this awful review. This is the mail you have received from our company: "First of all, we are profusely sorry for the discomfort suffered by you and your partner and for not having enjoyed your experience during the excursion Etna Sunset with SAT Group on 14th of June. Reading your comment we understand that your complain is about above all the weather conditions on Mount Etna and not about the company's organization. As a matter of fact, we go to Mount Etna every single day with our excursions and the operability of the tour is carried out by the Alpine Guide company which is responsible and decide about the feasibility of the last part of the tour basing on wind/weather conditions. Many times it can happen that we leave Taormina with dark clouds and then we overcome them and find sun at the summit of Mount Etna. So it is very unpredictable. Weather changes very easily especially in some time of the year, but in any case, Alpine Guides decide when to cancel or not. They have a certain parameter that has been used for decades and we, as their partners, trust that. Of course, customers are welcomed to cancel with full refund or switch to another day when they check the forecast and are not convinced 100% about finding perfect weather up there. Regarding the warning about the suitable clothing to wear, that is well described on the Important Info on the product's schedule and it is also well stated that rental of wind jackets and boots is possible with an extra. That is stated twice on the tour's schedule and on the voucher as well. It is quite predictable to find cold and possibly wind at 3000 mts during the evening. Regarding the restaurant, we are so sorry to read that the you found the food of poor quality. We can guarantee about the genuineness and freshness of the ingredients, but, of course, we recognize that it is a simple place with a homy and rustic mood as all the restaurants on Mount Etna, we are sorry that you did not find the level satisfactory. Said all that, as we absolutely care about the satisfaction of our customers, we are willing to offer a 50% refund of the total amount paid, considering that the service has been fully carried out and that we have high technical costs on this tour. We hope that this will compensate your discomfort and we still hope to have the possibility to welcome you again on top of Mount Etna for a positive experience. We thank you very much for sending the feedback as SAT Group is very involved in Customer Care and is taking all clients’ comments in high consideration using them always as an occasion of improvement." We did our best, but the customer did not think twice to post this terrible review. We hope that we have the possibility to show our customers oriented policy in this matter. All the best. Guest Relation Manager SAT Group
Read more
Read 25 more reviews on Viator
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: SAT Group Tours
Great Activity in Taormina
Great couple of hours taking part in Italian cooking! See as it was during Covid-19, my partner and I were the only
Read more
Finally Lava!!!
First we arrived at Panarea. We made a walk through this beautiful island. The ferry brought us to Stromboli. We sw
Read more
We went to the market, made pasta under a lemonthree, ond ate frech fish. A beautiful day!!!! The location of the
Read more
SUCH good value! Also included pasta and break making.
Giovanni was an amazing teacher, his English was very good and he just loves food. He also taught us pasta making a
Read more
Amazing cooking class
The best cooking class! We had a wonderful time, fantastic food, speaks perfect English and we learned a lot!
Read more
Diana Z
Not to be missed
After having read some of the reviews, I decided not to waste my time on this trip. Luckily we had bad weather in N
Read more
Quality (and tasty) family time in Taormina!
Had a blast with our 25-year old son & new Catania friends with the Cooking Class Taormina Team! Engaging conversa
Read more
Awesome experience
Absolutely wonderful way to spend a few hours making fresh Sicilian fishes. Giovanni was funny and a wonderful chef
Read more
Amazing temples
If you're not ruined-out after Pompeii, the Valley of the Temples is worth a visit. Be prepared for a lot of walkin
Read more
Chris M
Great exercise.
If you're in Catania, book a tour of Mt. Etna. It is unforgettable if you're an "outdoors person." I've been up tw
Read more
Jeff B
Day trip to mount Etna
Whilst touring Europe on a year long trip in our motorhome we found ourselves in aTaormina camp site for Euro a nig
Read more
Great life time experience not to be missed.
We debated along with many others on our trip whether we should visit Mount Etna as the cost which varied between €
Read more
The Day From Hell!
I don’t drive and using public transport is not a viable option for visiting various sites/cities in Sicily. Hiring
Read more
Really Great! Great fun, great food.
This was a really fun experience. Our hosts were great fun, lots of delicious food (and wine) consumed. Highly reco
Read more
More Than “Just Pizza”
My friend and I feel so lucky that we signed up for this class! The entire staff works to make you feel welcome, th
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 8–9 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, German, Italian
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+60 392125427

Travellers also viewed

Etna at Sunset Half-Day Tour from Taormina
from MYR 339.91*
Popular: Booked by 139 travellers!

Frequently bought together

Italian Opera in Taormina
from MYR 125.34*
Popular: Booked by 980 travellers!
Palermo Street Food Walking Tour
from MYR 242.72*
Popular: Booked by 2,158 travellers!
Monreale And Cefalù Half Day Excursion
from MYR 317.00*
Popular: Booked by 431 travellers!
Sicilian Cuisine Cooking Class in Palermo
from MYR 344.36*
Popular: Booked by 169 travellers!

Bus Tours

Palermo City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
from MYR 97.73*
Popular: Booked by 1,284 travellers!
Taormina and Castelmola Tour from Messina
from MYR 295.74*
Popular: Booked by 809 travellers!
Mount Etna Half-Day Tour - Small Groups From Taormina
from MYR 332.29*
Popular: Booked by 740 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset Mount Etna Tour from Taormina