EuropeIcelandCapital RegionReykjavikReykjavik AttractionsTours and Tickets

Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik provided by Arctic Adventures

Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$100.16
Date
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Overview
Most Iceland visitors opt for a tour around the island nation to see the stunning volcanic landscape, but few discover the mysterious world beneath the lava. With this spelunking adventure, take a trip under the lava fields to experience the otherworldly beauty of the lava tube caves. As you explore, enjoy views of the various subterranean formations and colorful layers formed by eruptions over centuries—with cave exploring gear, hassle-free travel, and a guide to lead the way included.
Itinerary
Highlights
  • Explore lava caves on a day trip to the Blue Mountains, from Reykjavik
  • Crawl through tunnels, and see formations like stalactites and stalagmites
  • Get a top value with caving gear, onboard Wi-Fi, travel, and guide included
  • Hassle-free, air-conditioned pickup and drop-off—from Reykjavik—is included
Important Information
Departure Point
Reykjavik, Reykjavik, Capital Region
Duration
3h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Small group guarantee
  • Reykjavik pick up & return
  • Certified guide
  • All necessary caving gear
  • Free wi-fi on board
  • Entry/Admission - Raufarholshellir
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age: 6 years old
  • Remember to bring: Warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, head-wear, gloves and hiking shoes.
  • Caving equipment will be provided, however you are advised to wear good hiking shoes and gloves.
  • This is a small group tour ensuring a more personalized experience.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
59Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
EyePatchGirl wrote a review Nov 2019
61 contributions32 helpful votes
I want to be clear - the tour we did at the lava tunnel itself was really good, just not the “small group caving experience” I thought I was booking. Other reviews here talk of narrow caves and getting on hands and knees to crawl through - exactly the adventure I wanted. But
Read more
Response from Barte S, Customer Care at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear EyePatchGirl, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review. We are truly sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations. Kindly note that recently we have changed the visited lava cave to Raufarholshellir, hence there might have been a misunderstanding. Please accept our apologies if you have been provided any misleading information from our side. Please note that our website is up to date and we do not advertise neither small tunnels nor that crawling is required. We hope made some good memories in Iceland despite this situation and we hope you will return to make more someday. Best regards, Barte Arctic Adventures
Read more
Globalexplorerr wrote a review Nov 2019
26 contributions3 helpful votes
Ad far as I am aware, Arctic adventures just provide the pickup and drop off to the lava tunnel. I thoroughly enjoyed my morning out here, I was back in Reykjavík a little before 12. The cave was a wonder and our guide talked us through things like the different colourations,
Read more
VAP1611 wrote a review Sep 2019
1,042 contribution55 helpful votes
+1
I booked two tours with Arctic Adventures -- their Underworld Lava Cave tour from Reykjavík and Gullfoss Canyon Rafting tour from Reykjavík. Both tours were easily booked directly through Arctic Adventures' own website while the tour pick-up was a breeze -- in my case at stop
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
Responded 23 Sep 2019
Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear that you had a great time. Come back and see us soon!
Read more
ladyteex wrote a review Mar 2019
740 contributions37 helpful votes
+2
One of the most adventurous experience you can ever have! The cave has so much to see, all those unique landform features and requires a brave heart and fitness.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
Responded 6 Oct 2019
Hello ladyteex, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the others. We are looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Erika
Read more
Andrew wrote a review Jan 2019
5 contributions8 helpful votes
Our trip (with its excellent guide) was ruined by appalling customer service. Due to blizzard conditions Arctic Adventure's bus - with 9 of us on board - almost plunged off the road down a 40 ft slope (one in one incline). The bus would definitely have turned over. We had to
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from Helena T, Manager at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
Responded 2 Jan 2019
Dear andrewcutler2004, Thank you for taking the time to express your experience here with us. We're saddened to read that your experience with us was compromised due to the unfavourable road conditions and missing hat. First of all, we fully understand that the icy conditions on the roads may have seemed scary on that day but at no point was anyone at risk of being harmed. With a professional driver on board, your safety was kept at all times, as you have explained above. When the bus started sliding on the ice, despite being equipped with winter tires, the driver kept it on the road but it did turn on the road. The driver instructed everyone to go off the bus just in case it would slide some more. The icy conditions then prevented the bus continuing further resulting in a replacement bus being sent to your location. We are happy to hear that the guide managed to keep you safe during and after the incident, as per your description, as that is of course our main focus in such conditions. As per our email conversation, the general rule is that our customers are responsible to keep track of their personal belonging. While we certainly try our very best to reunite them, our options are quite limited. We have, unfortunately, up until now not found the woolly hat that you say was left on the bus and for that we sincerely apologize. As you had to continue on a new bus the guide took all items left on the previous bus to be delivered to the owners. There seems to have been some miscommunication as the hat, that the guide confirmed we had, turned out to be a cap and did not match the description you have given on your daughter's hat. If found, we will of course, as promised, reach out to you and get the hat sent to you. We fully understand that the terrible accident that happened on the south coast bridge, to tourists travelling on their own with a rental car, can well affect the experience other travellers in Iceland might have. However it is important to keep in mind that the situation on your tour was very different and your safety was never at risk. We are again very sorry to hear how your experience has been affected during your stay. Again, we will be in touch if the woolly hat turns up, but unfortunately at the time this is being written, the team has not been able to locate the described hat. Best regards, Customer Support Team Arctic Adventures
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support
TripAdvisorknow better book better go better
© 2019 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
US$USD
Malaysia