We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
    EuropeIcelandCapital RegionReykjavikReykjavik AttractionsTours and Tickets

- with unbiased reviews

Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$73.00
Date
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Overview
Experience the Northern Lights like never before. Imagine Mother Nature shooting fireworks and lighten up the sky, a moment so beautiful it leaves you speechless, almost out of breath. Embark on a special trip away from the shine of the city to a place where you can truly see the northern lights dance around in the sky.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Hlésgata 101
Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, IcelandBoat departs from the Old Harbour in Reykjavik, Reykjavik Sailors office is located at the water front.
See address & details
  • 1
    Reykjavik Sailors
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    Imagine if Mother Nature herself would shoot fireworks and lighten up the sky, a moment so beautiful it leaves you out of speech, almost out of breath. We would love to take you on a special Iceland northern light tour away from the shine of the city to a place where you can truly see the northern lights dance around in the sky.
    Read more
You'll end at
Hlésgata 101
Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, IcelandBoat departs from the Old Harbour in Reykjavik, Reykjavik Sailors office is located at the water front.
See address & details
Important Information
Departure Point
Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Warm flotation overalls
  • Heated indoor cabins with toilet facilities
  • Wireless internet
  • Seasickness tablets, if needed
  • Entry/Admission - Reykjavik Sailors
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Snacks and beverages (sold on board)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please be at the departure point the latest 30 minutes before the scheduled cruise time.
  • Please, CHECK YOUR VENDOR account or at tour operator DAILY DIARY before you come to tour operator office; all the important daily information of all our tours will be notified via vendor and on tour operator website. We recommend to contact tour operator if you wish another way to get in touch with you.
  • Please note: Northern Lights is a natural activity governed by the laws of the weather. If the trip is canceled due to bad weather, full ticket price will be refunded If you don't see any Northern Lights, you have the option to take the tour again any time for free.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please be aware that due to environmental reasons during certain times of the year our trips may be delivered on a shared boat with one of our partners. At Reykjavik Sailors we are committed to ensuring the environment is kept pristine by making sure fewer boats are on the water during slower periods.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
28Reviews
2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Mike wrote a review Nov 2019
43 contributions6 helpful votes
+4
Had an original tour with a different operator for a Northern Lights experience that was cancelled at short notice so booked with Reykjavik Sailors for a cruise instead as there was availability. It was well organised and equipped with a great commentary throughout the cruise.
Read more
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 2 weeks ago
thank you so much for your review! Made our day, have a great day!
Read more
Kathy B wrote a review Nov 2019
56 contributions17 helpful votes
Although we didn't see the Northern Lights, the boat trip was amazing and informative. The crew aboard the boat was friendly and knowledgable. Since the Northern Lights are not guaranteed there's a 50/50 chance - but totally worth it
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your message! If you are back in Iceland, you are welcomed to try your luck again! Have a great day!
Read more
Spike Lemmer wrote a review May 2019
60 contributions27 helpful votes
this a truly amazing and stunning sight to experience. this definitely a bucket list phenomenon to visit.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 3 Jun 2019
Dear rototank, Thank you for your feedback. We totally agree : northern lights are an absolutely incredible phenomenon to witness, and are without a doubt bucket-list worthy. Yet it can be so hard to spot at times... We're happy to read our guides managed to make your dream come true! The time spent braving the infamous Icelandic weather does not come in vain ;) We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland, and wish you all the best!
Read more
Adventurer1956 wrote a review Jan 2019
78 contributions46 helpful votes
The trip was cancelled by the tour Operator citing weather conditions - which is totally understandable and is clearly indicated when booking that it is weather dependant. We were unable to make another reservation as the trip was not running the following night. The reason I
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 23 Jan 2019
Dear Adventurer1956, Thank you very much for your comment, this will help us to improve the system. We will contact Trip Advisor/Viator to let them know that some people have problems to get the refund through their website, or at least, it should be easier to do it. On the other hand we appreciate you understood that we had to cancel because of weather conditions, it was a pity though. We hope you enjoyed your staying in Iceland. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
Read more
tyhinkle wrote a review Apr 2018
20 contributions19 helpful votes
We picked this company for a variety of reasons. They had a smaller boat, family feel, offered warm clothing, etc. I never expected the lies, creepiness, and poor service. Last minute, they informed us they were pawning us off to a completely different company!!! This is not
Read more
Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
Responded 2 May 2018
Dear tyhinkle, Thanks for your sincere review. First of all, we are very sorry for your bad experience with us. As you can read in our website and all our sellers, during some seasons we can transfer the passengers to our partners to be more environmental friendly and sail with the minimum boats; and if this happens, our partners are only 2-4 minutes away walking from our office. Of course the weather can change, sometimes has happened the opposite (we cancel and finally the sky gets clear), but of course, we cannot wait until last minute to put the tour on or cancel it. So, weather is quite unpredictable here. We apologize again for all this matter, but in this case, passengers are invited to come with us for free again. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support