Tours and Tickets

2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik

By Arctic Adventures
from
RM 2,319.01
per adult
from
RM 2,319.01
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeFree cancellation

Ages 6-99, max of 18 per group
Duration:2 days
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English


  • Hotel pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Guided tour in a minibus
  • Breakfast at the hotel
  • Northern Lights Hunt (if conditions are right)
  • Overnight accommodation at a hotel
  • Free wi-fi on board
What's not included
  • Food & drinks (except breakfast at the hotel on day 2)
  • Optional caving exploration at Vatnshellir cave (extra fee)
  • Optional entrance to Krauma Geothermal Baths (extra fee)


Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Please note that we only serve the pick-up locations specified in our pick-up list below. Due to traffic restrictions, we are not allowed to pick up from hotels in the city center nor from private Air BnBs. If your pick-up location is not on our pick-up list then we kindly ask you to find the closest pick-up point to your accommodation from our list: 22 Hill Hótel – Brautarholt 22-24. Arctic Comfort Hótel – Síðumúli 19. BSÍ Bus Terminal – Vatnsmýrarvegi 10. Bus Hostel Reykjavík – Skógarhlíð 10. Bus pick up/drop off nr.1 – City Hall, Vonarstræti Bus pick up/drop off nr.3 – Lækjargata (outside Hard Rock Café) Bus pick up/drop off nr.4 – Miðbakki Bus pick up/drop off nr.5 – Harpa Music Hall Bus pick up/drop off nr.6 – Safnahúsið (The Culture House) Bus pick up/drop off nr.8 – Hallgrímskirkja Church Bus pick up/drop off nr.9 – Snorrabraut Bus pick up/drop off nr.12 – Höfðatorg Bus pick up/drop off nr.13 - Rauðarárstígur Bus pick up/drop off nr.14 – Skúlagata Cabin Hótel – Borgartún 32. Eyja Guldsmen Hotel – Brautarholt 10. Grand Hótel Reykjavík – Sigtún 38. Grayline – Main bus terminal - Klettagarðar 4. Hilton Reykjavík Nordica – Suðurlandsbraut 2. Hótel Ísland – Ármúla 9. Hotel Ørkin – Brautarholti 29. Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura – við Hlíðarfót, Nauthólsvegur 52. Kex Hostel – Skúlagata 28. Klettur Hótel – Mjölnisholt 12-14. N1 Gas Station – Ártúnshöfði Radisson Blu Hótel Saga – við Hagatorg. Reykjavík City Hostel – Sundlaugavegur 34. Reykjavík Lights Hotel – Suðurlandsbraut 12. Skarfabakki – Cruise Ship, Reykjavik Harbor, 105 Reykjavik
  • Ports:
  • Skarfabakki Harbour, 544P+F35, 104 Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5590P67

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note that if you are a solo traveler and would like to have your own room then please choose the "Single room option". Otherwise you will be paired up in a shared room with a participant of the same gender.
  • The success of the Northern Lights is heavily dependent on weather conditions. We can therefore never confirm that you will be able to see them during your tour but if the forecast looks promising your certified guide will take you on a hunt for the lights.
  • Please note that you can add a caving exploration to Vatnshellir cave as an extra for this tour (extra charge). If you will not be joining the caving part, then the guide will take you walking around the area
  • Please note that you can add a visit to Krauma Geothermal Baths as an extra for this tour (extra charge). If you will not be joining Krauma you will spend more time exploring Deildartunguhver and the nearby area.
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • Please dress appropriately according to weather
  • This tour is a small group experience tour
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travellers

  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik?
How much is 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik?
2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik price starts from RM 2,348.43. Discover and book 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor
What is the 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik cancellation policy?
2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik cancellation policy: If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. Discover and book 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor
Which company provides 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik?
2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik is hosted by Arctic Adventures. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Arctic Adventures on Tripadvisor. Discover and book 2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5590P67

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

Dreamer78MC
Dreamer78MC
00
Awesome Cave Tour but Lazy Tour Bus Driver
This was just a short lava tunnel tour but the most amazing and memorable experience for us, The cave tour guide (a
christinalE9402RL
christinalE9402RL
00
Highly recommend
Every part of the tour was informative and professional. Tom was our guide and he was sensational. I told him about
IcelandLover05401
IcelandLover05401
00
Volcanos Galore
We had a fantastic time on this excursion. Our guide was wonderful. We started off by going to a local supermarke
Manoj2907
Manoj2907
00
Excellent,fabulous,fantastic
Excellent, from beginning to end of tour, great service by Sindrey driver cum guide, well organized,beautiful lands
miragea9
miragea9
00
Amazing snorkling in Silfra
It was fantastic that I could do snorkling btw Northamerican and Eurasian continents. Our guide Kris was so humorou
LeilaniS39
LeilaniS39
00
2 day South Coast tour - highly recommend!
The two day south coast tour with Vjeran was an amazing experience! The weather wasn’t great at times but Vjeran lo
jbotelho22
jbotelho22
00
Icelandic horseback riding tour
We were a group 2 families with 5 kids, 9-15 years old that took a tour from the Ion Adventure Hotel to ride the Ic
Katieob0913
Katieob0913
00
Icelandic Horseback Riding Tour
We left from Ion Adventure hotel- picked up by Vjeran! He was on time and fantastic. From the moment we stepped on
jeanmW9818TS
jeanmW9818TS
00
Good experience bad tour company
This review is going to be three parts, The Good, The Bad and The Helpful. First The Good This is an incredible ex
Leah F
Leah F
00
2 day South Coast tour with Vjeran
Absolutely incredible, I’d rate this through the roof if I could and it was all thanks to Vjeran. From the start, w
cpU5144HI
cpU5144HI
00
Perfect 2 Day South Coast Experience with Excellent Guide despite Wild Wintry Weather
We had an amazing time with the 2-day South Coast tour. Arctic Adventures recommended that we do this instead of th
U1885QYdebbies
U1885QYdebbies
00
Gorgeous 2 day South Coast Tour!
We went on the 2 day South Coast, Ice Cave, Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon Tour. Hilmar was an excellent guide. He se
516mikaelaa
516mikaelaa
00
Amazing experience
very cool experience! felt very comfortable and safe with our tour guide. The ice caves were breathtaking!
tinapO9794LL
tinapO9794LL
00
A Real Arctic Adventure
Absolutely loved this trip! It's often quite difficult to find any trips from Reykjavik to see the sights that are
foleydog1
foleydog1
00
A wonderful tour with a great mix of adventure and nature.
As a solo traveler, I loved this tour. Our group was small - about 11. It was an eclectic mixture of nature and his
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
27 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
4
Average
1
Poor
2
Terrible
1

larry k
Hillsborough, NJ35 contributions
Oct 2022
5 stars are not enough! Our guide Tjeran was unbelievable. We were lucky to have a small group of only 6 so we were actually just like a family. Tjeran was highly energetic, very personable and happy, and clearly loves his job. He stayed with us the entire time, leading us through caves, canyons and waterfalls (definitely bring waterproof outerwear and boots). We saw a beautiful sunset with the Snaefellsnes glacier in the foreground that was postcard worthy plus of course so many waterfalls. We also stopped numerous times for spots not even on the itinerary. We did not see the northern lights on the 2 day trip due to weather conditions but did see them later on in the week as we did a 3 day trip back to back.
Written 11 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear larry k, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear the tour went smoothly for you. A special thank you for all of the amazing compliments to our guide. He will be absolutely delighted to read this! It means the world to us that you have chosen to book an experience with our team. We are looking forward to seeing you again on one of our tours sometime in the near future! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 14 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

michellebarf2254
Charleston, SC2 contributions
Jan 2022
First of all, the weather was awful during our stay in Iceland. But we didn't let that stop us from doing what we had planned. The unfortunate thing was the northern lights were non existent. We had three nights to see them...two were canceled because of weather and the third one was clear but the lights were off doing their thing someplace else. This is where I will describe my disappointment with the company.

The weather had been bad the previous 2 1/2 weeks so all those people kept getting another night to see the lights. But because the lights never showed they kept bumping them to the next night over and over and over until the one night we finally got to go out! But there were soooooo many people (because of the "bumps") that they had to split t us into 2-3 bus groups with one bunch going out early and the second one going out late. We were in the late group.

The temps were right around 28 degrees but the winds were blowing 30-35mph so the windchill was in the single digits! Very cold to be outside waiting to see the lights. The leader suggested that some of us could sit in the buses and when the lights began they would come get us. But they never came. They took us to another sighting are but it was zip there, too. We found out the following day when we did the volcano tour that the early groups got to see them! They only lasted 23 min but they were visible! Top say we were disappointed would be an understatement.

What could the company have done differently? In think everyone should have gone out at the same time...all the buses taken to the same locations and we all could have waited the 3 hours promised to wait for the lights to show. Would that have been feasible? I don't know but it would have been more equitable for those of us who were traveling on shorter trips and had only a handful of possible nights to see the aurora borealis!

Now my husband will have to suffer through another cold trip to a snowy, very northern country in the middle of winter for us to try to see the Northern Lights! And of course we have to include our son and his best friend!
Written 2 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear michellebarf2254, Thank you for your review. We do welcome both positive and negative feedback as it helps us to improve our services. Here in Iceland, the weather can change within the time period of a few minutes. Therefore even though it had been showing the forecast that you've screenshotted before noon, the forecast for the northern lights showed better possibilities to see the northern lights at the location that we took your group. As with any natural phenomena we have to rely heavily on weather forecasts and therefore we have experts looking into this every day. If the forecast shows no options off the auroras to be seen we will of course not take our customers out for the tour. The fact that the tour went ahead of both us and most of the operators that do northern lights tours, that evening, would support the statement that there were chances to see the northern lights during the evening. We do agree that some of the logistical decisions could have been improved. Therefore, we have passed your review to our Operations Team to avoid similar experiences in the future. We are sorry that you did not have the opportunity to see the lights in their full potential, but as you know and have explained to show understanding, it is a natural phenomenon that we could not control even if we wanted to. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Iceland and are looking to have you back sometime soon!
Written 4 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nkwe16
5 contributions
Had a fantastic two day trip with our guide Nick. He even organised the sunshine for us…

Saw all the sights and more! Great knowledge, loved the playlist and learning about Icelandic music too.

Do pay to do the optional extras on this tour In advance they’re worth it and can be fully booked if you wait until the day.
Written 8 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Nkwe16, Thank you for this fantastic review! We are very happy to know that the 2 day trip went smoothly for you. It's also cool to know that you had a chance to listen to some good Icelandic music too. Thank you for mentioning Nick. We are sure he will be very happy to read kind words of yours. We cannot wait for you to come back and explore more of Iceland with us! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 11 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emily L
1 contribution
Oct 2022 • Couples
This tour was a great way to experience Iceland. Our tour guide Vjeran was so energetic and knowledgeable. He joined in on all the activities we did and took us to lots of extra places he found interesting. The tour itself was great because the peninsula wasn't very crowded this time of the year and offered lots of beautiful views. The weather did not cooperate for us to see the northern lights but was overall very good.
Written 6 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear elail213, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really glad you enjoyed the tour. A special thank you for mentioning and complimenting our amazing guide. We are sure Vjeran will be very happy to read your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Let's explore more of Iceland together! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 10 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marta A
12 contributions
Jun 2022 • Friends
Driver not a big talker, maybe because of his English level, the time in the bus was boring, not as in other tours I did where the driver had many interesting stories to share about Iceland. We missed some interesting stops, like a crack in the Mountain that looked amazing from the bus, the cave, not hotdog as the tour description promised... The tour was meant to be 11h as per description, after 8h we're back. Overall ok, but I wouldn't recommend the tour, it has nice spots but nothing spectacular as other areas in Iceland.
Written 26 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear martaaQ6343UQ, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sad to hear the tour you took did not match your expectations. As we are constantly aiming to improve the quality of our products and services we kindly ask you to send us your impressions along with more details to info@adventures.is. That way we could launch a proper investigation and make sure we avoid similar experiences in the future.
Written 29 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Danielle A
New York City, NY3 contributions
Mar 2022 • Solo
Our guide is personable. Not only he took us to the scenic spots he also took us to little cafes and had the owner let us sample their soup. I even like the jokes he shared which kept us entertained. I really enjoyed the tour and I can't believe I get to see the west part of Iceland with Arctic Adventures.
Written 17 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 239daniellea, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really glad you enjoyed the tour. A special thank you for mentioning and complimenting our amazing guide. We are sure they will be very happy to read your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Let's explore more of Iceland together! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 23 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LFong18
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
Dec 2017 • Couples
We went on a 2-day tour with Arctic Adventures over the Christmas break (24 & 25 Dec). For most part of the tour, we visited the places of interest listed on the itinerary with the exception of one or two places because of the short days in Dec. This is acceptable as we were working with limited daylight.

What I found unacceptable is the trip is marketed as a Northern Lights tour and that "we will hunt for the northern lights" in the evenings. However, we did nothing of that sort. When the tour group members asked about the hunt in the evening, the guide gave several excuses (he does not drive after several hours of driving, the sky looks cloudy etc) why we will not be going on a hunt.

Regardless of the conditions, if the tour is marketed to include a hunt, I would think the minimum effort is to take the participants out to search for the lights. I understand that the Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon and they do not appear at our fancy. I am also aware that the sighting of the Lights is subjected to weather conditions.

What I am unhappy with is the lack of effort shown to look for the lights even when the conditions were favorable on the first (later part of the evening) and second nights.

I would suggest that if a HUNT is not part of the itinerary, avoid putting that in your marketing collateral even if this is a big draw for potential customers.

Am really disappointed.
Written 9 January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear LFong18, thank you for taking the time to write us this review. Your feedback from the tour is greatly appreciated and we will look into how we can improve. After reading your review we started to read over the description of the tour once again and it is stated that there aren't any guarantees of seeing the lights as they are a natural phenomenon but this location is great for seeing them and the time is perfect (mid winter). The guide, being an expert in the field looked at the forecast and saw no chance of seeing them and that is why a light hunt wasn't in place on the 1st night. This of course should have been explained and we will discuss with the guide to be more clear on his actions and efforts. We can fully understand how this might have seemed but we do go out when there is a chance, most of the time on foot as the hotels are located in remote areas with limited lights. Sorry to hear that this affected your experience on the tour so much but hope that you enjoyed the scenery and activities during the days. Kind regards, Ragnheiður.
Written 14 January 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

treesynger
Olympia, WA37 contributions
Nov 2018 • Solo
If you are thinking about going to Iceland, Go! And make it easy on yourself and maximize the beautiful places you get to see by doing a multi-day tour with Arctic Adventures.

During my visit to Iceland, I did several day tours (with various companies) and the 4 day tour with Arctic Adventures. The 4 day tour was a fantastic experience.

If I had to do it all over again, I would do a 5 or more day tour with Arctic Adventures instead of any of the day tours. This is what I am recommending to all of my friends who want to go and I am considering going back and doing the 2 places I haven’t explored yet (the North and the Highlands) with my favorite guide (Hilmar) and Arctic Adventures.

The day tours (with various companies) were rushed. With the 4 day Arctic Adventures tour, we had time to enjoy each attraction. (Case in point: I had 2 stops that were overlaps from one of my day tours and we got twice as much time at each of those stops on the multi-day tour.) We also got to see more attractions per day since we didn't have to drive back to Reykjavik each night. There was plenty of time for pictures, as well as to just to take in the beautiful sights and enjoy them. In addition, we had time for some extra stops when it was merited (such as seeing the Northern Lights or a view of the Snæfellsnes Peninsula we were leaving it). Speaking of pictures, the buses had free wifi, so I was able to upload my favorite pictures to social media while our guide was driving us to the next attraction. Each night, we stayed in a comfortable place with great food for dinner (cost of dinner not included in tour).

It was really nice to not have to worry about any of the planning or winter driving. I felt safe the entire trip with Arctic Adventures and was able to enjoy seeing so many beautiful places without the stress of getting from place to place in a different country.

Our guide passed out crampons so that we could safely explore some of the sights since it was winter and some of the walks were slippery. I could tell how much they were helping us by watching people not on our tour try to navigate the slippery territory.

Our tour guide (Hilmar) was wonderful! I will request him again next time and am recommending him to all of my friends. He was patient, kind, knowledgeable, and full of interesting stories and tips. Many of the guides on the day tours seemed impatient and grumpy.

Multi-day tours with Arctic Adventures:
PROS
* You don’t have to plan anything other than where to have the bus pick you up and drop you off (and you can ask them to help determine the best bus stop to use )
* You don’t have to rent a car - many convenient bus stops in Reykjavik to get picked up at/dropped off at near your lodging (and you can take the Flybus to/from the airport)
* You don’t have to navigate or chance driving on slippery winter roads or in high winds
* The buses have free wifi so you can upload pictures from your adventures in between stops
* Lodging during the tour is included in a safe, comfortable place in the beautiful Icelandic countryside
* The guides are knowledgeable and will tell you about the the Points of Interest you are passing/stopping at
* Breakfast is included and was delicious
* You get plenty of time at each Point of Interest to take pictures and just take it all in and enjoy it
* The tours provide crampons for slippery stops, if needed, so that you can still get up close and enjoy them
* The buses stop plenty of times to grab snacks, lunches, and bathroom breaks (but do take advantage of those stops)
** Hilmar! (my favorite guide out of all the tours I did works for Arctic Adventures)
* They will help you hunt for the Northern Lights

CONS
* Expensive (but worth it, especially when you factor in that lodging and breakfast are included and you won’t need to rent a car)
* Lunch and Dinner are not included
* Lack of Legroom and space on bus, depending on type of bus and group size (but it is worth it since you are not on the bus long between stops and you get to go to all of these beautiful places without having to do the driving yourself)

Note: I did the 4 day Snæfellsnes Peninsula and South Coast, but it was not an option in the list, so I picked the 2 day Snæfellsnes Peninsula instead.
Written 4 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Aggie W
11 contributions
Our guide (Bjorg) was wonderful! She shared the historical and geological information about each place we visited and even took us to some ‘off the beaten path’ areas that were her favorite spots!
Written 1 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear aggiew2018, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really glad you enjoyed the tour. A special thank you for mentioning and complimenting our amazing guide. We are sure Bjorg will be very happy to read your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Let's explore more of Iceland together! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 2 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kat b
8 contributions
Mar 2019 • Solo
even With the bad weather on Friday, we managed to see quite a bit. The guide was very professional and did not do anything that put any of the participants in danger, unlike other guides.

Highlights were definitely the horse farm,
Written 24 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Katrina B, It's great news for us that you had a great weekend! Thanks a lot for your review. Come back soon for more adventures! Best regards, Erika
Written 7 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 25

2-Day Northern Lights and Snaefellsnes Peninsula Adventure from Reykjavik