Tours and Tickets

5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts provided by Icelandic Mountain Guides

5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
View all photos (17)
Recommended by 94% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$1,836.00
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Itinerary
Overview
Full Map
6 stops
Day 1
Reykjavik - Landmannalaugar -...
Day 2
Hrafntinnusker - Álftavatn
Day 3
Álftavatn - Emstrur
Day 4
Emstrur - Þórsmörk
Day 5
Þórsmörk - Reykjavík
+
Important Information
Duration
5 days
Inclusions
  • Guide for 5 days
  • Lunch
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Breakfast
  • Dinner
  • Dinner
  • Lunch
  • Lunch
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Breakfast
  • Public transportation to and from Reykjavík
  • Full board from lunch on day 1 to lunch on day 5
  • Cooking gear
  • Luggage transportation from hut to hut.
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Snacks
  • Coffee and/or Tea
Exclusions
  • Fee for showers (around 500 ISK)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Age limit is 14 years
  • Please advise for any special dietary needs at the time of booking if required
  • All huts are heated and access to showers is on the way (not the first night). The huts have dormitory with single and twin bunk beds, participants have to be prepared to share a bunk with other travelers from the group.
  • Not all huts have electricity.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
16Reviews
2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Dara wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
I booked the 5-day Laugavegur Huts Trek on February 2020 and was scheduled to begin the tour in late June. Then Covid-19 happened. I emailed the company to see what their cancellation policy was, and they replied the next day with a few options that were all very reasonable.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ah0208, Customer Service Representative at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 22 May 2020
Good Morning Dana, Thank you for your kind words. We do appreciate that in these uncertain times, kindness and understanding goes a long way. As you experienced, our sales and service team gave you the available options, and tried to find a solution that works for all parties. Our team are very humbled to hear that your experience with us was amazing, even without the actual tour taking place, we pride ourselves on professionalism and quality, this being a core element of the Icelandic Mountain Guides ethos. From all of us here, we wish you well and are certainly looking towards the future, when we hopefully will see you soon. Best Regards Scott
Read more
Rita A wrote a review Sep 2019
Madison, Wisconsin, United States1 contribution1 helpful vote
This trip was amazing! My adult children and I were on this adventure together. Solvi was a great guide, and taught us so many things about Iceland that I wouldn't have otherwise learned. Also had authentic Icelandic foods each night. 5 days of hiking, sometimes with less
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arc_Mountain_Guides, Guest Relations Manager at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Hello Rita, Thank you for your kind words and we are very happy to hear that you have a splendid time with our guide Sölvi. We pride ourselves on our guides and the authentic experience that we strive to offer to our guests, and we are glad to hear your compliments for our guide Sölvi and the services we provided. We hope that you will come back to Iceland and we will see you again in the near future :)
Read more
ItaiSpiegel wrote a review Sep 2019
Herzliya, Israel2 contributions
TL;DR Don't book the self guided tours, arrange them yourselves. I took the self guided Laugavegur Trail Tour and it was a complete waste of money. The trail was amazing and I really enjoyed every part of it, but the tour was a total rip off. You pay at least 600$ to the
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Arc_Mountain_Guides, Director of Sales at 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Responded 18 Sep 2019
Hello ItaiSpiegel, and thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service and pricing of our Laugavegur Trail Self Guided Package. When you book our self-guided tours, you are paying for a service. We provide the transport, accommodations in mountain huts, a comprehensive information package, and a map of the hiking route. We take care of all this for you, but of course, that service is not free. However, there is always room to improve, and we will take a careful look at our pricing to see if there is anything we can do to make our service more affordable. As you mentioned correctly, we also offer guided versions of the Laugavegur Trail, including luggage transfer and meals cooked by the guide, often with assistance from the group. The amount of food we bring on each tour is carefully calculated to minimize waste and load on our transfer vehicles. Meals are not included in the self-drive packages, and even though there might be leftovers from other groups, those leftovers may be used for lunch the following day or as part of later meals. Again, I am sorry to hear that our service did not meet your standards, and we appreciate your feedback. If there is anything else, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at bardi@mountainguides.is. Best regards, Barði Theódórsson Sales Manager
Read more
FlyBy wrote a review Jul 2019
Pennsylvania8 contributions1 helpful vote
Just completed the Laugavegur tour with guides Emma and Pad. Could not have had a better time! Trekking this trail is an amazing life experience with overwhelming sights that cannot be adequately described, and a phenomenal group of people who may become life-long friends. While
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Yonatan Z wrote a review Jul 2019
Mazkeret Batya, Israel2 contributions
This was an excellent experience. The landscape was breathtaking, the trip was very well organized, the guide - Sigthor - was excellent: knowledgeable, experienced, patient, told us interesting facts and stories, and always with smile and a nice sense oh humor. Very highly
Read more
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Icelandic Mountain Guides
mdovhinka
00
Blur Ice Experience
The tour and our guide Marta were perfect. It was my first hike in the ice,but thanks to the professionalism of our
Read more
Lucaandrea_gobbo
00
Amazing glacier walk
We booked a 3.5h walk on the glacier near Skaftafell national park. The meeting place is directly at the informatio
Read more
Elizabeth J
00
Lots of fun!
We really enjoyed our glaciar walk with Mateo, who shared lots of interesting knowledge about glaciers. We would h
Read more
Lthomas101
00
Good fun time
Had a fun and reasonably challenging time. Always felt safe thanks to Tamas and got some great pictures on top of t
Read more
tina9308
00
Glacier hike
Had a great tour. Almost no people were there due to the COVID-19 situation. Matteo did a great job with explaining
Read more
larsblindberg2020
00
Great trip and guides😀
Super trip on Lake with glaciers and insights into Iceland - our guides made the trip even more enjoyable
Read more
frabi2000
00
Very cool glacier-tour
It was pretty cool to walk on the glacier with this super guide. He told us a lot of interesting facts...
Read more
kcsmith71
00
Great guide!
Jón took his time with our group & let us really enjoy the FULL glacier experience - sights, sounds AND tastes! Wit
Read more
PhilSelle
00
Incredible tour and guide!
The hike was an amazing experience. Tamas is an incredible guide. Funny, helpful and lots of knowledge about glacie
Read more
W7335QJmichael
00
Magic walk on the Solheimajokull glacier under the snow
That was really a pleasant moment with lot of snow and impressive glaciers parts... Just missed caves. But our gui
Read more
Andrew S
00
Beautiful
Easy hike on the side of a volcano. Very memorable walk with beautiful icy landscape. Wanted more, so may come ba
Read more
fulviomayo
00
Amazing Experience
My First Time to walk in a glacier and it was amazing highly recommended with our guide who explains everything and
Read more
Janet B
00
An incredible experience
An experience not to be missed, walking on the glacier! The staff were very professional but relaxed providing and
Read more
christumilson
00
Amazing Tour with Trig
Coronavirus meant our tour was 4 people, rather than the max of 20. Our guide Trig sorted us out with boots, crampo
Read more
Helen M
00
Great accessible intro hike on glacier
We were so impressed by this outfit. I contacted them the day before we wanted to take the hike as there were four
Read more
Key Details
  • Umferðarmiðstöðin BSÍ, Landmannalaugar, and 7 more
  • Duration: 5 days
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 7 days in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+60 392125427
Frequently Asked Questions about 5-day Laugavegur Trek in Huts