Tours and Tickets

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier provided by Arctic Adventures

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier
4.5
Book in advance
from
RM 693.60
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Recommended by 93% of travellers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
4h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
8
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5590P55
Important information
Inclusions
  • Small group guarantee
  • Guided glacier hike on Solheimajokull glacier
  • Certified glacier guide
  • All necessary glacier gear
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Hiking shoes (can be rented for a small fee)
Duration
4h
Departure details
  • Sólheimajökulll, 871, Iceland Solheimajokull Glacier parking lot.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is a small group adventure, limited to 8 participants per guide, ensuring a more personalized experience.
  • Minimum age is 14 years
  • The tour is about 4 hours with approx. 3 hours on ice.
  • Remember to bring: Warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, head-wear, gloves and good hiking shoes.
  • Sturdy hiking shoes, waterproof jacket and pants can be rented from the local operator for a small fee, please contact the local operator prior to traveling if you wish to rent some gear.
  • This tour is available all year round
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Inclusions
  • Small group guarantee
  • Guided glacier hike on Solheimajokull glacier
  • Certified glacier guide
  • All necessary glacier gear
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Gratuities
  • Hiking shoes (can be rented for a small fee)
Departure details
  • Sólheimajökulll, 871, Iceland Solheimajokull Glacier parking lot.
Duration
4h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is a small group adventure, limited to 8 participants per guide, ensuring a more personalized experience.
  • Minimum age is 14 years
  • The tour is about 4 hours with approx. 3 hours on ice.
  • Remember to bring: Warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, head-wear, gloves and good hiking shoes.
  • Sturdy hiking shoes, waterproof jacket and pants can be rented from the local operator for a small fee, please contact the local operator prior to traveling if you wish to rent some gear.
  • This tour is available all year round
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
77 reviews
Excellent
69
Very good
3
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
4

cramj1234
Madison, WI3 contributions
The driver/guide from Reykjavik to the glacier, Vjeran, was incredibly knowledgeable and 100% attentive to our needs. We were picked up on time and without any issues. The climbing guides were equally knowledgeable and attentive to our needs. The climbing guides tailored the route to each of our abilities. On the way back, Vjeran picked us up on time and knowing we were all tired from a days worth of hiking and climbing, provided a bit of guiding but otherwise got us back to our hotel in good shape. I would highly recommend Arctic Adventure and would like to give a shout out to our driver/guide Vjeran as well as our climbing guides Gyan and Pavel.
Written 20 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear cramj1234, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. We are delighted to hear the tour went smoothly for you. A special thank you for all of the amazing compliments to our guides. They will be absolutely delighted to read this! It means the world to us that you have chosen to book an experience with our team. We are looking forward to seeing you again on one of our tours sometime in the near future! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 21 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Aquila
1 contribution
The hike was one of the greatest experiences of my life and the views were like nothing else in the world. It was an afternoon hike in the winter so the sun hit its peak right as we got to the top of the glacier and the main character hero moment was priceless. The guide showed us how to climb ice walls at 90 degrees using special climbing ice axes. The guide was amazing; he clearly knew the glacier incredibly well and was very helpful and informative as we hiked the glacier. Definitely dress warmly for winter hiking. I rented boots which was a great choice because of the amount of snow.
Written 23 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear aquilabean, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really glad you enjoyed the tour. A special thank you for mentioning and complimenting our amazing guide. We are sure they will be very happy to read your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Let's explore more of Iceland together! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 28 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Marc P
2 contributions
Ice hiking and climbing was a really great experience. Thanks to a mini-bus driver Vejran, we discovre a lot of Iceland history and geography. He is really funny and enthousiaste. The road was pretty short thanks to him ! He was also very flexible on the planning that we could see the waterfall next to the Solheimajokull glacier. Ice climbing was also a nice experience with Steven, our monitor for the day. He explained a lot how the glacier work during year and he always answer my question with precisions. He was also very cheerful and very cautious on the hiking and climbing. I really recommend this activity and the staff with it !
Written 14 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear marcpW601KO, Thank you for this wonderful review. We are very happy to know you had a great time. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the community. It is amazing to hear you loved our guides as well. They will be thrilled to read your review. We can't wait for you to come back and have another great adventure! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 15 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jason W
1 contribution
We booked the 5.5 hour Glacier Explorer tour with Arctic Adventures in September 2021. When booking the tour we researched on the website to see if the tour would be appropriate for my 6 month pregnant wife. On their website for the Glacier explorer tour, it states that:

FAQ's for the Glacier Explorer Hike, "I am pregnant, can I still join your hike? "This is, of course, a personal choice, we have often had pregnant women on our trips. We recommend you take a close look at our trip description and difficulty rating, they will hopefully give you a better idea."

After reading this, we saw that the Glacier explorer tour was rated Moderate, which is categorized on their website as "Suitable for those in good condition who are able to walk for about 4 hours at a low or moderate pace. Trails are generally of good quality and glacier travel at a relatively low angle."

After reading this rating we decided that it would be appropriate for my wife to do this tour as she is in good shape and could easly walk for 4 hours at a low or moderate pace.

When we arrived on-site at the meeting location for our tour we notified staff that my wife was pregnant and would be participating. The guide then pulled her aside and spoke of the terrain we would be crossing and told her that the tour is rated difficult, though this is not what was stated on the website, and asked her to make a decision as to if she still wanted to participate in the tour. We discussed it and decided that yes, she still wanted to participate. She was then fitted in the safety harness and with crampons.

She was then pulled aside by another lead guide that tried to dissuade her from going on the tour and stated "if I was leading this tour I would not allow you to go on it but since this other guide is leading the tour it is ultimately up to her decision and that it was very dangerous." It was apparent from both of the guides that pulled her aside that they were not comfortable with her going on the tour even though she stated that she knew the risks and still wanted to go.

After being pulled aside from both of the guides who basically told her that she should not go for safety reasons we made the decision to not have her go on the tour.

The next day we emailed Arctic Adventures requesting a refund for the trip and they refused to give a refund stating " Mrs. XXXXX made a decision on her own not to take a risk participating in this hike.
Since you didn't evaluate properly your ability to take part in this tour, I'm afraid no refund could be issued."

Their response and refusal to give a refund was a bit appalling because both tour guides told her that she should not go for safety reasons, and then told us that we did not evaluate properly her ability to take part in the tour when the tour was rated MODERATE on their website.

While this review may not apply to everyone interested in the tour I hope it saves another family in our situation from losing money due to their incorrect ratings on their website.
Written 19 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear E5083OWjasonw, Thank you for reaching out to us. We would like to begin by establishing that customers' safety and overall good experience are our top two priorities. Our tour descriptions include difficulty ratings, FAQs, customer reviews, and pictures to help you to choose the best fitting activity. Our guides are also there to make the last evaluation and recommendations prior to the tour. We confirm that your case has been investigated thoroughly and we have checked the guide's report. The tour you have booked is not rated as moderate or difficult. It is rated as easy. The hike itself is not strenuous in any way. The only reason why we are asking for pregnant participants to reconsider before booking it is that the hike takes place on slippery surfaces. The same goes for ice cave tours. This is exactly what the guide had in mind when giving recommendations not to go because of the safety. We understand your frustration and disappointment. If you are not happy with the settlement of your complaint, you can always e-mail us back and we will re-open your case.
Written 22 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

N P
1 contribution
Please select another company. Any other company. My wife and I did the Blue Ice Glacier Hiking Adventure. The experience was not enjoyable due to our guide.

He did not properly introduce himself or provide any opportunity for anyone else to introduce themselves and did not do any sort of team building. He pointed out that none of our gear (shoes, waterproof gear etc) was acceptable and pretty much everyone ended up paying extra to rent gear. We understand if our gear is not correct, but his demeanor was very rude. The whole experience was stressful right there in the parking lot even before we started. Regardless of their physical ability, he made it seem no one was worthy of this hike. Instructions were brief and pretty much shouted once (so if you missed, oh well). The practice session was brief and nearly no opportunities to take pictures or ask questions. The guide and the whole crew pretty much acted like they rather be anywhere else but working to make this process enjoyable for their paid customers.

We were singled out by the guide shortly in the hike saying that we have no ability to hike. We were not quite sure what he wanted us to do at that point. We did not have any difficulty with the hiking but my wife did struggle with the ice climbing and required the guide’s help. When my turn came he said we ran out of time due to my wife and he cancelled my opportunity for ice climbing. This was very poorly managed. To clarify, my wife and I are active with years of crossfit and peloton training. We are not certain what level of physical fitness was acceptable for this guide.

My wife and I have been on many adventure activities around the world and have always had very positive, energetic, and supportive guides. If that is what you are seeking, find another company.
Written 9 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear 968np, Thank you so much for sharing your review. We appreciate both positive and negative feedback as it helps us improve and grow. We would like to begin by apologizing for the negative experience. Please rest assured the behavior you have described is not considered to be an appropriate one. We kindly ask you to forward your complaint along with your reference number to info@adventures.is so we could open an investigation. Once again, we sincerely apologize for any distress and inconvenience caused.
Written 12 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shaun
2 contributions
A guided tour like this is when one of the guide leads and the other comes at the end. My friend and I took this tour in September 2019. We had two terrible guides. We had a small group of around 12 to 15 ppl and 2 guides. After hiking for a while, we climbed down the ice one by one. Then the guides were talking about how to do ice climbing. When the climbing started, the first guide went up (that's understandable) to set things up. After a few tourists climbed, the 2nd guide also climbed to the top leaving behind myself, my friend and a couple of other tourists. Me and My friend were experienced but not everyone is gonna be experienced. In an ideal world, the 2nd guide should be the one to climb last. The 2nd guide did not even ask us whether we are ok with him leaving behind us. With both the guides staying at the top, the remaining tourists had to climb without a 2nd guide watching them in case of emergency. While we all understand this is an adventurous activity and we are expected to have some kind of physical fitness to complete this task, in a guided hike with "two" guides one is expected to lead and the other is expected to stay with the group and not run away. After we climbed back, we started our walk back to where we started. Again both the guides ran away to the front and the tourists walked slowly themselves. In case some mishap happens, the tourists wouldn't even be able to call these guides as they are atleast 200 meters ahead of us. While me and my friend could do this activity all by ourselves, not every tourist would be able to. If you want to continue this way, don't call this a "guided" hike, just call it a "self hike" where you just rent the crampons.
Written 15 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Shaun186, Thank you for reaching out to us. We want to say that the negative review is appreciated as much as the positive one. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry you had a bad experience. This is on us. We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again. We would like the opportunity to talk and investigate your feedback further, we kindly ask to send us an email to info@adventures.is Accept our sincere apologies. All the best, Arctic Adventures
Written 27 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Brian L
3 contributions
My afternoon with Arctic Adventures provided a lifetime of memories in a 4-hour tour. My guide, Nikol, was fantastic! She was extremely knowledgeable as a guide, demonstrating expertise the technical part of the climb, safety practices, Solheimajokull's history, and glacial science. Every part of the tour was seamless and the highlight of my Iceland trip. This exact tour with Arctic Adventures had been recommended to me by a friend and I see why, it's unrivaled!

As part of my tour we hiked from the meeting point to the base of Solheimajokull before we put on our technical gear (crampons, helmet) and was given a tutorial on how to properly walk on the ice. Again I want to reiterate the professionalism of both Arctic Adventures and Nikol's service, who ensured proper safety the entire time.

From the base we hiked to the glacial wall I would be climbing, where I was given instruction on proper climbing techniques. I was lucky enough to get multiple climbs in and it was the experience of a lifetime! I also got to do some "viking pushups" and experience the raw natural beauty of the glacier. And don't worry, there's plenty of opportunities for photos!

I want to thank Nikol and the entire Arctic Adventures team again for an unforgettable afternoon that created memories to last a lifetime. This tour was the highlight of my Iceland trip and is a must-do when visiting!
Written 25 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear BLTraveler76, Thank you so much for taking the time out and leaving us a review. We are so happy to hear that the tour went smoothly for you. It's such great news to us to know that you had not only a great time but also an informative one. Your safety is our number one priority that's why you must follow all the instructions on how to properly put on the technical gear! We were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! Thank you. We appreciate that very much. We are looking forward to your next visit. Greetings from Iceland.
Written 27 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Daniel R
Ruislip, UK1 contribution
Solo
Had a fantastic guided tour across the glacier by Gaia. She was very friendly, polite and very informative of the activity, the glacier and how to run a really interactive & fun tour. Taking us to some amazing spots on the glacier and very attentive to getting a great photo opportunity. I came alone, yet felt so very relaxed and at ease doing it solo. Would highly recommend and was definitely a highlight of my trip!
Written 13 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear dcraigr9, Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us a great review. It’s wonderful to know that the tour went smoothly for you. It means the world to us that you have chosen to book an experience with our team. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! Greetings from Iceland.
Written 14 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Fabrizio Borgia
Darmstadt, Germany199 contributions
This is one of the most unforgettable experiences I ever had in my trips in Iceland.
Our guide, Marco, was very knowledgeable and inspiring (and that really made the difference, since the weather was not so good for the whole duration of the hike). We had the feeling he was really enjoying being on the glacier with us.
The views from the Sólheimajökull glacier are simply breathtaking. I will remember the noise of the crampons on the ice, the small streams of water running on the glacier and disappearing in small, blue crevasses, the white and black colours on the glacier plateau, and the big chunks of ice floating in the the glacier lagoon.
I uploaded a few pictures below, but they do little justice to the majesty of the Sólheimajökull glacier.
We were actually tempted to go again the next day!
Written 20 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear IN3lutTabil3, Thanks a lot for sharing your experience with us and everyone else. We appreciate that. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed every minute you spent in Iceland. We know you have choices when it comes to your travel adventures, and it means the world to us that you’ve chosen to book an experience with our team. We can’t thank you enough for the kind words. Your review means a lot to us and lets us know we’re on the right track! We can't wait to have you back soon for more adventures! Best regards, Erika
Written 22 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Brittany F
1 contribution
Friends
Our guide, Velario, was a wonderful instructor for our introduction to hiking and ice climbing. He was very professional while maintaining safety standards the entire time. That being said, we had a lot of fun. It was a very unique experience that left our group feeling energized and satisfied. I would recommend this adventure to anyone interested in a once in a lifetime opportunity.
Written 13 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear brittanyfB918NP, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are really glad you enjoyed the tour. A special thank you for mentioning and complimenting our amazing guide. We are sure Valerio will be delighted to read your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Let's explore more of Iceland together! Warm wishes from Iceland.
Written 16 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 67
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Arctic Adventures
Skibumlady
Skibumlady
00
Hard hike, misleading advertising, guide not willing to adjust pace – avoid this
Hard hike, misleading advertising, guide not willing to adjust pace – avoid this Unfortunately, this tour did n
293lindsayt
293lindsayt
00
Great experience snorkling in Silfra
The whole experience was amazing. From the moment we got there until we left. We had An amazing group with 6 woman
Lena M
Lena M
00
Not organized
The worst tour I have been on. Our bus was late 40 minutes because of the maintenance issue. When we arrived to the
Tom V
Tom V
00
Bucket list ✔️
Bucket list activity. Just saw it and thought it would be an adventure, I was not disappointed. It is a bit strenuo
Jeff R
Jeff R
00
Hiking the Landmannalaugar in Iceland
Was a great group of people. There were 16 of us on this 4 day hike. Everyone got along fabulously. There was 1
marcellakinsella
marcellakinsella
00
Outstanding Glacier hike, Amazing Guides
Wow. What can I say? My sister and I went on this really excellent glacier hike from Skaftafell in Iceland in June.
ralexisb213
ralexisb213
00
See all the sights!
Nick was an excellent tour guide! He was friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. Only thing I’d say is to skip t
rclaws0n
rclaws0n
00
Fun stop on the return to normalcy
Great guides. Beautiful vistas. Once-in-a-lifetime experience. Highly recommend you take this excursion.
CCase28
CCase28
00
Remarkable Iceland trip 7/22!!
This was our second time to Iceland. 1sr trip was self-guided and was great!; this trip was on a guided tour around
anabellao180
anabellao180
00
Extra walk is tiring and unnecessary
The glacier walk is amazing. However, the drop off is at a parking lot that requires a 30 minute walk each way (uph
836cornev
836cornev
00
Great experience on a glacier
We had a wonderfull experience on the glacier. The group was not to big, our guide was enthousiast and very capable
Netrip2022
Netrip2022
00
Good, wish they had better suits though.
Was fun. However, my suit had a leak in it and water flushed in and it was freezing. I ended up entirely soaked, th
kabototravel
kabototravel
00
Best trip of our lives!
Completely in love with the trip! The hotels during the 6 day tour were excellent and everything was very well plan
SergeiMingaliev
SergeiMingaliev
00
Amazing cave, but slightly underwhelming
Educational trip out to the ice cave aboard the jeep with an entertaining guide. Interesting experience of climbing
lilygO530KS
lilygO530KS
00
Go with another Golden Circle Tour
I took two tours with this company and had an amazing experience with the first, so was really looking forward to t
Frequently Asked Questions about Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier price starts from RM 699.37. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier is hosted by Arctic Adventures. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Arctic Adventures on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Small-Group Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing on Sólheimajokull Glacier on Tripadvisor