We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rottnest Island with Bike Hire from Perth or Fremantle

Select Date and Travellers
2 travellers
Select tour language
Enjoy the relaxed casual environment of Rottnest Island, one of the most unique islands in the world, just off the coast of Perth. After cruising down the Swan River and across the open ocean, you’ll arrive on the island, ready to begin your full-day adventure. Explore the island by bike (the only form of transport – cars are not allowed), discover secluded beaches, snorkel among the reefs and meet the local wildlife. You have the option to depart from Perth or Fremantle.
You’ll have 3 starting options
Or, you can also get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Swan River
    Stop: 60 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Rottnest Express
    Pass by Rottnest Island Visitor Centre
    Pass by Salmon Bay
  • 2
    The Basin
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
You'll return to the starting point
  • Explore car-free Rottnest Island by bike with optional snorkel tour or lunch
  • Depart from Perth by boat and high-speed ferry or Fremantle by high-speed ferry
  • Bike rental and helmet arranged ahead of time
  • No surprises with admission fee to Rottnest Island included
What to Expect
Depart from Fremantle via high-speed ferry, or depart from Perth for a 1-hour scenic cruise along the Swan River to Fremantle, followed by the high-speed ferry. Either way, enjoy the view from the water. Cross the Indian Ocean to Rottnest, where you receive your rental bike and safety equipment. With all the details arranged ahead of time, your job is to relax and enjoy the island. Bike the car-free island independently, exploring some of its 20 bays and 63 secluded beaches. Head for Bathurst or Wadjemup lighthouses, Pilot Boathouse, Rottnest Island Museum, or Lomas Cottage. As you ride, keep a lookout for seals at Cathedral Rocks or the island's native quokkas. If you upgraded to include food, stop at Karma Rottnest for lunch. If you upgraded to include snorkeling, enjoy the underwater view. You return either to Barrack Street Jetty in Perth or Shed B in Victoria Quay Fremantle.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
1: Rottnest Express Barrack Street Jetty Elizabeth Quay Ferry Terminal, 2 Barrack St, Perth WA 6000, Australia
2: Rottnest Express B Shed Ferry Terminal Fremantle, 1 Peter Hughes Dr, Fremantle WA 6160, Australia
3: Rottnest Express North Port Rous Head Ferry Terminal, 1 Emma Place, Rous Head Rd, North Fremantle WA 6159, Australia

Traveler pickup is offered
Hotel transfers are subject to availability and must be booked 24 - 48 hours prior to travel otherwise are not guaranteed. Please contact Rottnest Express directly to confirm your hotel pick up time.
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
  • Return ferry to Rottnest Island from Perth or Fremantle
  • Bicycle hire, helmet and security lock
  • Lunch (if option selected)
  • Entry/Admission - The Basin
  • Hotel drop-off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Guide
  • Snorkel set hire at $20 per set
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 3 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Children aged between 4-12 years old must be accompanied by an adult
  • Children under 4 years old travel free. Child seats and trailers are available
  • Bike helmets must be worn while cycling on the island; failure to do so could result in a fine.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 16
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The trip there was quick and on the way back they let us in an earlier ferry than we had booked. Bikes were good to ride around the island.
Read more
This tour would be fantastic in colder months. The quokka's were easy to find and very friendly, so we got what we wanted from the trip. However, biking in the heat with flies swarming around us was a nightmare! There are a lot of hills, so you have to be quite fit if you want
Read more
For my husband and I , it was our first time ever staying in Rottnest ever and I am so glad we did decide to stay for our wedding anniversary. We stayed at karma rottnest lodge and got a deal which involved breakfast and bike and snorkeling hire with the ferry from Hillarys. We
Read more
We took the ferry from Perth and really enjoyed the commentary! Getting our bikes and snorkels was pretty straight forward and no complaints about any of the equipment. The island itself is beautiful! We made the mistake of cycling clockwise first when really all we wanted to do
Read more
Response from RottnestExpress, Customer Service at Rottnest Island with Bike Hire from Perth or Fremantle
Responded 1 week ago
Hi 200dayzofSummer, Thank you for your response. Its great to hear you had a fantastic day exploring the island. We do recommend cycling clockwise and seeing the south side of the island first, as the afternoon can get quite rough in the water as the winds increase later in the day. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the island soon. Kind Regards, Lydia
Read more
We had heard good things about Rottnest island, however the one thing we hadn’t been told about prior was the flies! Within 30 seconds of leaving the ferry we were covered in flies, our faces, mouths, nose, ears, all over our bodies, no amount of insect repellant made any
Read more
Response from RottnestExpress, Customer Service at Rottnest Island with Bike Hire from Perth or Fremantle
Responded 1 week ago
Hi 590graemem, Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Rottnest Island. We do sympathise that flies can be a hindrance and make enjoying food and outside activities difficult, however they are a common side effect of a hot WA day with no breeze. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Rottnest Island at another time, when the weather is more to your preference so that you can enjoy the raw beauty of our beloved island. Kind Regards, Lydia
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+60 392125427