We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Walking Night Tour - The Dark Shadows of the Old Town (Ghosts of Prague)

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$22.44
Date
2 travellers
Options
Select tour language
Overview
Join this 2-hour mystery walking tour of Prague's Old Town and explore the charming dark side of Prague. This night tour is guided by an elegant and professional story-teller dressed in historical gothic outfit, will take you through the cobblestone streets and alleys of Old Town and Jewish quarter, visiting places where dark tales and legends are told before Gothic churches, convents, medieval houses.

Note that Mysterium Tours does NOT craft typical guided tours for tourists, these are immersive storytelling experiences about legends, histories and tales not always associated with the building we stand in front of.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Staroměstské nám. 934
Staroměstské nám. 934, 110 00 Praha-Staré Město, CzechiaAt the CARTIER store, next to the Czech Tourism office located at the corner with Parizska street - Look for your guide/actor who will be wearing a period costume carrying an oil lantern, waiting to take you on this journey.
See address & details
  • 1
    Kinsky Palace
    Stop: 10 minutes -
    See details
  • 2
    Convent of St Agnes of Bohemia
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 3
    Stary zidovsky Hrbitov
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
  • Learn about Prague’s haunted history on this nighttime walking tour
  • Follow your costumed guide through dark alleys you might not otherwise see
  • Learn about prominent Prague monuments along the way 
  • Limited group size means a more personal, intimate experience
What to Expect
Wander through the shady side of Prague at night on this evening walking tour filled with spooky horror stories about bloody tragedies. Weave through Prague’s cobblestone streets and hear stories about Gothic churches, market squares, and haunted cemeteries. Your art historian guide is a professional storyteller dressed in a historically accurate gothic outfit. Walk through Old Town in the darkness and make your way down quiet streets. Hear little-known stories about Prague’s most famous landmarks. Explore the remnants of the Jewish Quarter and learn about the eerie legends about it.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Staroměstské nám. 934, 110 00 Praha-Staré Město, Czechia
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Professional Art Historian guide
  • Storytelling performance
  • Old Town alleys
  • Jewish quarter
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • This tour does NOT include paranormal investigation nor access to interiors of sites visited.
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Important: the tour has several starting times (20:15, 20:30, 21:00), based on the number of bookings we receive, you might be informed about a change. Please check your TripAdvisor inbox.
  • This tour is educational and entertaining - does not include interiors nor actors to try to scare you.
  • There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements (4 guests). In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Wear warm clothing in autumn/winter time and bring your umbrella in case of rain.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
332Reviews25Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 257
  • 32
  • 4
  • 9
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Excellent tour with Scott! He was very theatrical and fantastic at storytelling. I loved hearing about all the legends and it was a great way to spend my final night in Prague!
Read more
I know we all have to start somewhere, but this guy was DEFINITELY not ready for prime time. I did appreciate that our tour guide tried really hard, but after having seen several "ghost" tours over the years, this was pretty bad. Even my 12 year old was bored and disappointed.
Read more
Response from Mysterium-Prague, Guest Relations Manager at Walking Night Tour - The Dark Shadows of the Old Town (Ghosts of Prague)
Responded 5 days ago
Dear customer, we are terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour. This tour was guided by a non-confirmed Mysterium Tours member, an external person, hired for one tour only at last minute, due to unexpected sickness leave of the actor scheduled for this date. We thank you anyway for your review, we always working to improve our quality of service. If you will visit Prague once again, feel free to contact us and we will be glad to offer you FREE participation with one of our experienced actors. Wish you safe travels. Andrea
Read more
If we had to do it over again, would not have booked it. Family of four and we found it to be campy and silly at times, so do not worry about being scared. Tour lasted about 1 hour 40 minutes.
Read more
Response from Mysterium-Prague, Guest Relations Manager at Walking Night Tour - The Dark Shadows of the Old Town (Ghosts of Prague)
Responded 4 days ago
Dear customer, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience, but on the other hand, storytelling is about to create an emotional experience for the listener not to scare them, especially adults... Maybe stand up monologues are not your cup of tea, but this is what we do and what it is included on this tour: storytelling and legends.
Read more
The kid leading our tour spent the first 20 minutes doing the WORST Irish accent I’ve ever heard. It was so bad I abandoned the tour. Learned way more on my day tour of Prague. (Prague Tours with Petra)
Read more
Response from Mysterium-Prague, Guest Relations Manager at Walking Night Tour - The Dark Shadows of the Old Town (Ghosts of Prague)
Responded 4 days ago
Dear customer, We have read your review and first of all we find it inappropriate to call our guide "a kid" when he is a 28 year old drama teacher and actor with a decade of experience. Regarding his accent : Liam is American but spent a large portion of his life in Ireland, which has had an effect on his accent : he was certainly not trying to put on a "fake Irish accent" as you refer to it. Last but not least, it is a mistake to compare our tour with a completely different one. These tours are not typical guided tours: they are more focused on storytelling and legends and the atmosphere created than facts about the city itself. Of course, you would have learned more on a tour you experienced fully than one you left within the first 20 minutes. Safe travels, Andrea
Read more
We did not enjoy this,quite uninteresting. This was by no means a 'ghost' walk and having the stories being told by an American actor was not authentic at all.I started to be unsure as the tour guide asked a restraunt if they could open up a door for us to one of the buildings
Read more
Response from Mysterium-Prague, Guest Relations Manager at Walking Night Tour - The Dark Shadows of the Old Town (Ghosts of Prague)
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much indeed for your review, however we’d like to point out a few things. Firstly, we are surprised to read how unhappy you are with your experience with our tour (based on our rating). Secondly, we suppose that you expected something that is not mentioned in the tour’s description that is > an immersive storytelling experience in form of an evening walking tour where a narrator tell ghost stories for the entire duration of the tour which is 2 hours. These are authentic Prague legends; not tailor-made stories to suit people’s taste, still bloody tragedies involving deaths and ghost hauntings. People have different level of sensitivity, some feel shivers down the spine, others find the stories interesting. Anyway these requires from the audience a particular attention to listen; perhaps oral storytelling is not your cup of tea. Or you might have expected more than just listening to a tale perhaps stunts or jump scares, unfortunately had you read the description BEFORE booking, you would have known that these were NOT included. - tour guided by American actor. We do storytelling at professional level, language diction and articulation is primary; reason why we have Americans, Slovenians, Czechs actors, all of them with native English level. Had you specifically wanted a Czech actor/actress, you could have contacted us beforehand and we would have gladly booked you with our Czech actress. Now, about the restaurant door closed, rarely in winter the passage that leads to the tyn church is shut down at early hours; the only way to reach the inner courtyard, is by asking the restaurant the courtesy to let us in. Most of times they do; probably on this time they didn’t for unknown reason. You have to understand that as private company, we don’t own the Prague city centre ; every house has its own landlord. That’s why in our terms and conditions it is stated we shall not be liable for any default in the tour caused by conditions beyond our control including such circumstances. Good luck in your travels Andrea
Read more
Previous
About the operator
By: Mysterium Tours
932 reviews
Certificate of Excellence
490josho
12
Enjoyable especially if you love a good ghost story/legend!
Excellent tour with Scott! He was very theatrical and fantastic at storytelling. I loved hearing about all the
Read more
mackatee13
California
20
MEH.
I know we all have to start somewhere, but this guy was DEFINITELY not ready for prime time. I did appreciate that
Read more
KrissyT
Chester, Virginia
1425
Just okay
If we had to do it over again, would not have booked it. Family of four and we found it to be campy and silly at
Read more
Loves2GoPlaces
Dallas, Texas
143
Meh. Not worth it.
The kid leading our tour spent the first 20 minutes doing the WORST Irish accent I’ve ever heard. It was so bad I
Read more
Til87
85
Not what I expected.Would not recommend!
We did not enjoy this,quite uninteresting. This was by no means a 'ghost' walk and having the stories being told
Read more
tinapR816MY
Rochdale, United Kingdom
10
T Pickering
Had a great time on this tour which was very interesting and informative, would recommend to people visiting
Read more
735maraz
Riga, Latvia
91
Disappointment
Also didn't seem to be appropriate asking for tips, which turns out to "put a food on the table" for Liam (his
Read more
Sofía V
20
Great!
A special tour in Prague’s most special streets, it was very well characterized and mysterious, we loved it.
Read more
490kaseyd
10
Entertaining and Informative
We had Liam as our guide for the Ghosts of Prague tour who was a fantastic storyteller! Visiting locations we had
Read more
almostactive
96
Incident occurred, person died, today the ghost haunts - rinse repeat for 2 hours
It was late at night and cold and somewhere after our third or fourth ghost story was told in the same fashion we
Read more
martyxvx
Leipzig, Germany
10
Very fun tour!
We had a great time, Tommy was a great story teller and we learned a lot. He also gave us good advice in which
Read more
kylaejordan
Los Angeles, California
10
fun event despite the -2 degrees
He's a fast talker and good story teller. It's worth it if its not -2 degrees!! Other than the crazy cold night
Read more
Gagge1984
21
interesting cultural/architectural tour
Andrea was very helpfully to discover stories and culture of old town an Jewish town. We kwown legends and
Read more
L1983LEdonnac
20
Great Scary Storytelling About The History of Prague
We had Liam as our guide. He was amazing! He's a fabulous storyteller and kept our whole group captivated
Read more
thomascW950CW
10
Awesome stories
Fantastic night tour with our guide Liam yesterday. A great story teller and made sure that everyone in the group
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, German, Italian, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+60 392125427