Tours and Tickets
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre
3

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

By Leisure Tours
from
RM 566.51
per adult
from
RM 566.51
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 100 per group
Duration: 6h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
English


  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Hagglund ride
  • Local guide
  • Covered by Viator’s worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
  • Entry/Admission - International Antarctic Centre
What's not included
  • Food and drinks


Departure details
  • The Britomart Cannon, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand From the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.15am for a 10.30am departure.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2950PRTCHCCLT66CS

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Please note that activity times and schedules can be slightly amended depending on your cruise ships timetable.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travellers

  • If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
  • If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

A note from Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre
  • Follow the safety guidelines as issued by the New Zealand Government and maintain good hygiene and social distancing measures. Do not travel if you are experiencing cold or flu symptoms. If the city in which you are departing from is in alert level two, then please wear a facemask for all transport.
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre?
How much is Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre?
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre price starts from RM 580.26. Discover and book Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre on Tripadvisor
What is the Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre cancellation policy?
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre cancellation policy: If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. Discover and book Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre?
Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre is hosted by Leisure Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Leisure Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2950PRTCHCCLT66CS

Reserve your spot
from RM 566.51
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    The Britomart Cannon
    Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
    From the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.15am for a 10.30am departure.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Akaroa Village Inn
  • 1
    Christchurch Botanic Gardens
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Cathedral Square
  • 2
    International Antarctic Centre
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by
    Banks Peninsula
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

kajames2016
kajames2016
00
lovely day out
great trip, Joseph was our driver and was very informative. we visited 4 vineyards, all quite different all with a
Amelia H
Amelia H
00
Amazing day at the Waipara Winery
5/5! The Winery tour was fantastic and a lovely activity for a Sunday afternoon. The tour guide was so very passion
WEGL81
WEGL81
00
Packs a lot in too short of a time
This had the potential to be much better than it was. We got started more than an hour late due to waiting for peop
Manoj S
Manoj S
00
Unforgetable journey on Transalpine Express Train
Embark on the unforgettable Arthur's Pass Full-Day Tour, complete with a scenic journey aboard the renowned TranzAl
bkh2014
bkh2014
00
Eco tour of Lyrtlwton & Akaroa
If this was the Eco tour-it was the most amazing day! Our tour guide and driverTania put her heart and soul into m
cheryllT4742NO
cheryllT4742NO
00
Highly recommend
Our tour guide Joe was wonderful. Love that it was a small group. Chosen wineries were lovely! Would highly recomme
48gayathrim
48gayathrim
00
Fantastic experience!!
This was one of the best tours we did in NZ. Each winery had a wonderful sekection of wines and the vineyards thems
Darlene W
Darlene W
00
Great experience
The Albatross colony was an absolute must. We enjoyed observing the albatross chicks being fed by returning parent
FarAway51203312799
FarAway51203312799
00
Lost in the Walpara Valley
The most fun we had on our visit to Christchurch. The luncheon was very good and the wine tastings were excellent,
IsabelleM1228
IsabelleM1228
00
What a mess and a disappointment!
If I were you reading this review, I would seriously reconsider other options for a tour provider and find any agen
392michellez
392michellez
00
A relaxing afternoon with good NZ wine!
This tour was well worth the time and cost... a great addition to our visit in Christchurch. The tour company who
Calum B
Calum B
00
Great Experience would do again
Wine tasting and all the hosts at the wineries were very knowledgable and great wines to taste. View at all the win
roberthI10EJ
roberthI10EJ
00
tour from ship
maori talks disappointing but plesant ladies serving morning tea.Highlight of tour was entertainment by14 year old
SuzySanaa
SuzySanaa
00
Tasty experience
We booked this day tour having docked in lyttleton on a cruise ship for the day. The tour operators were mindful of
217susanc
217susanc
00
Winery tour
Van was uncomfortable. Driver barely gave us any knowledge of area. One couple was 40 mins late causing us to mis
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

3.0
7 reviews
Excellent
1
Very good
2
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Jodi R
Townsville, Australia3 contributions
Jan 2020
The drive from the boat looking at Banks Peninsula was lovely - occasional education/information was provided regarding what was being seen.
The cruise ship tenders were a little late getting into Akoroa and unfortunately time was never caught up - tour was rushed and short. There was very limited if not no time for food,
Only 10mins was provided to us to look around the museum - very rushed and barely enough time to go to the toilet.
Christchurch City Tour was literally just driving through the city on the way to the International Antarctic centre.
The International Antarctic Centre was not what I expected it to be. If sufficient time allowed maybe I would have enjoyed it. No identification was provided to the six participants (4 of these people I did not know) of the paid tour so I had to explain this at the centre several times that we had indeed paid and were part of a private tour. The Haggland ride was a surprise to me because I did not know it was included in our tour and was great! The 4d video was excellent and the snow storm was good. Did not get to see penguins due to have less than an hour at the centre.
The tourist shop at the centre was really good and reasonably priced.
Written 28 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canterburyleisure
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately the time in Christchurch is dictated by the time the cruise ship has in port. Akaroa is a tender port and when you are on a cruise ship they are often very slow at allowing passengers not booked on their own tours off the ship and have an early departure time. This unfortunately dictates the amount of time we can give you in Christchurch before heading to the International Antarctic Centre. The scheduled tour time is 10.30 to 4.30 pm, I see on the day of travel you were late departing due to the delay coming ashore, however, we did manage to extend the day slightly arriving back in Akaroa after the scheduled excursion time but in plenty of time prior to the last tender for your cruise ship. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the sites and the International Antarctic Centre.
Written 28 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michaele D
7 contributions
Jan 2019 • Friends
I have very mixed feelings about the tour. The tour guide was difficult to understand and the audio system didn't work so it was very frustrating for many of the passengers. The guide didn't explain the itinerary very well and timeframes for stops. Company did replace the bus while we were at the Botanical Gardens so we could hear much better. Gardens were beautiful, but it was a short stop. Dropped off at International Antarctic Centre and no one knew what to do so we started touring not realizing we had a private tour. The Centre's guide was wonderful and really wanted to make sure we had an informative experience. Really enjoyed the Centre, but didn't have enough time. The tour was very rushed, but we had limited time to get back to the cruise ship.
Written 18 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to learn that you had mixed feelings about the tour. It was unfortunate that on the initial part of the tour you had a problem with the audio system in the coach. As soon as the coach arrived in Christchurch a replacement coach was provided to rectify this problem. I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the International Antarctic Centre and the guide there was both professional and helpful. Unfortunately on your day of travel your cruise ship posted an earlier than normal final tender time and in the circumstances the tour had to be back in Akaroa in time to ensure you did not miss the last tender of the day, although the tour was still the full six hours in duration. On a normal cruise ship day this tour is not so rushed and we can extend the 6 hour tour time which is 10.30 - 4.30 by leaving Akaroa earlier and returning a little later, however, everything is dependent on the tenders and the last tender time of the day. When booking your cruise you should compare the times the various cruise ships are docked in the New Zealand ports, some stay a lot longer in the ports than others, whilst others give you the minimum time in the ports and prefer to have you on board longer spending more money. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit New Zealand again at some future date and have more time to enjoy that all is on offer.
Written 20 February 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anne T
Sheffield, Australia19 contributions
Feb 2018 • Couples
Our ship's schedule wasn't great for doing this tour but our driver made sure we were back in time for the last tender. It made it all a bit rushed but this was in no way the fault of the tour company, the driver handled it all wonderfully. Loved the sightseeing component of this tour, our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. Was a bit disappointed in the Antartic Centre, it was quite basic. In hindsight, I would opt for just a sightseeing tour.
Written 4 March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to supply your feedback and impressions of the tour which is important to us to ensure we continue to meet our customers expectations and where possible exceed them. I am pleased to hear our driver, Scotty, represented the company well and that you enjoyed his commentary, Knowledge and good sense of homour. I hope you have the opportunity to visit New Zealand again at some future date.
Written 18 March 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gregory S
Tucson, Arizona, United States115 contributions
Feb 2018 • Friends
This tour is a shore excursion from a cruise ship. It starts at the dock with a 1-1/2 hour + drive to Christchurch. We had a very rushed 15 minute stop then back on the bus for a half hour drive around Christchurch. The tour guide, Scotty, points out things as we go. The problem is, he can see them out the front, but none of us can see it. Then it another half hour to the Antarctic Centre. This looked like it would have been interesting, but we had, virtually no time (45 minutes) there either. Then back on the bus.
The problem was made worse by our tour guide. While there are many interesting things to see, he also had to discuss his politics, his house, every aspect of his and his girlfriend's relationship. He was extremely pompous. When one elderly passenger asked a question, his response was "I already covered that. I don't have time to repeat myself, so you should stop talking and listen".
In my 17 cruises worth of shore excursions. This was the worst.
Written 6 March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We appreciate the feedback when it is accurate which this particular review is not, you only need to look at the review below for the same tour that this gentleman was on. The tour itself is very organised in respect of schedules and timings, all of the prebooked cruise passengers are meet and greeted as they come off the tenders in Akaroa and given a boarding pass with a scheduled departure time. The journey into Christchurch is 90 minutes with a 30 minute stop at the botanical gardens and museum, there is then a 45 minute tour of central Christchurch and the earthquake damage of 2011 which is still evident prior to arriving at the International Antarctic Centre where the passengers have around 2 hours, depending on the last tender time in Akaroa (never less than one hour and three quarters). We have received other feedback directly from other customers on this day and have asked that they post this feedback on trip advisor, the other feedback was very positive like below, however, the underlying message was that there was a very loud gentleman on the tour that was continuing talking over the driver and whom the driver eventually asked if he would mind being a little quieter so the other passengers could enjoy the commentary and to which request he took offence. From the other reviews posted or to be posted you can decide for yourselves.
Written 19 March 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RSchug
Clovis, CA27 contributions
Dec 2018 • Couples
Rarely do I submit negative reviews, but since I depend on the reviews that are positive and negative I feel compelled to share this feedback too.
1) This is a large bus tour- which I typically stray away from if it is clear. We came off Majestic Princess Cruise ship via tenders and there were large buses that waited until it was loaded...poor use of time compared to a small van.
2) Christchurch and botanical gardens were interesting and if I had a chance to do another tour I would do just that, instead of squeezing in the Antarctic Centre. I would gladly spend more time in the botanical gardens, see the museum or just walk around Christchurch.
3) Antarctic Centre- to be fair, I come from California, yet Disneyland is not my thought for vacation. The ride on the Haggland was interesting and fun, but the centre itself was a disappointment. Overcrowded, rushed and even the penguins rehabilitating was met with a sad story that they let the penguins have eggs but they take them away since they cannot find their real home...instead they let the parents think the eggs never hatched and they have no kids...yes, I could have seen them without this added negative information...I would like to think they are doing research on the eggs or something, but not shared if so.
In summary, the bus driver/tour guide was good- nice narration to a long destination- Christchurch and good driving ability, but didn't make up for the crammed day and cheesy visit at Antarctic Centre....
Written 31 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
It is always disappointing to receive a negative review, especially on an extremely popular shore excursion which receives very positive reviews. With regard to the matters you have raised I can advise as follows; 1. Akaroa is a tender port and we operate a scheduled departure time of 10.30, returning at 4.30 - 6 hours in total which is more than enough time for the excursion which encompasses Banks Peninsula and Christchurch, together with the International Antarctic Centre. Due to the tendering process passengers arrive on shore at various times prior to 10.30. As you are aware we do the meet and greet, provide tickets for the relevant tour and advise the loading time. In most cases we get everyone loaded and away early. As all of our customers are pre-booked there is not waiting and it is normally the small minibuses who's operators are selling on the wharf who are sitting for ages waiting. 2. Christchurch is interesting and well worth seeing. We do operate a Christchurch tour without any attraction or activity for those passengers who wish to see more and spend more time in the city. It is always disappointing to receive a negative review when someone has simply, in hindsight, selected the wrong shore excursion option. 3. With regard to the International Antarctic Centre, yes it is not Disneyland and is in no way trying to be Disneyland. It is designed as an educational centre so visitors can better understand and appreciate the Antarctic. With regard to the little Blue Penguins you have misunderstood the purpose of the fake eggs. All of the penguins at the centre have been brought there as injured rescue penguins from the wild, to be cared for, nursed and rehibilated and then hopefully returned to the wild fully fit. The fake eggs are part of the rehibilation for some of the female penguins, that are of a certain age and who have been brought to the centre injured.
Written 1 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda M
Brisbane, Australia63 contributions
Dec 2017 • Couples
We were on a cruise when we stopped at Akaroa so our excursions were limited by the ship timings. This tour worked in perfectly and had a guarantee to get us back to the shore on time, which they did. Easy to book and meet up with tour. Bus driver was informative as we drove around Christchurch.
The tour was a good pace allowing sufficient time at most attractions without feeling rushed. Main tour highlights were visit to botanic gardens and the Antarctic Centre. Excellent tour of Christchurch city as well.
Written 26 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the tour. This feedback is important to us as it helps us ensure we are meeting our customers expectations and where possible exceeding them. I am pleased you had an enjoyable day and that you felt that the tour was well planned, informative and unrushed. I hope you have the opportunity to visit this very special part of New Zealand again at some future day.
Written 27 February 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Similar experiences

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre provided by Leisure Tours