Tours and Tickets
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

By Springbok Atlas Day Tours
This tour is ideal for travelers who would like to see African wildlife without traveling too far from Cape Town. Spend several hours on a safari at Aquila Game Reserve, home to the “Big Five” game animals and Verreaux’s eagle. Everything is planned: transportation, lunch, and pickup and drop-off from your hotel.
from
RM 711.06
per adult
from
RM 711.06
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 2-99, max of 8 per group
Duration:9h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Take one of the easiest safari tours near Cape Town
  • Don’t stress about lunch or transportation: both are included
  • Get a chance to see the Verreaux's black eagle
  • See the “Big Five” game animals, including African elephants and Cape buffalo

  • Lunch
  • Game Drive
  • Hotel pickup and drop off (English Driver only)
  • Professional Game Ranger - English speaking only
  • Entry/Admission - Touwsrivier
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified

After pickup from your central Cape Town hotel in an air-conditioned coach, journey to the southern Karoo region and the private Aquila Game Reserve. Meet your guide and game ranger and climb aboard an open-air safari vehicle. Start the drive while your guide tells you about the “Big Five” animals in the reserve. Keep your eyes out for them as well as African elephants, buffalo, lions, hippos, and other animals. Pass a large wetland area known for its abundance of bird species, including Verreaux's black eagles. Have lunch after your safari and then meet your guide again for the drive back to Cape Town, where you’re dropped off at your hotel by late afternoon.

Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Should your Hotel not be listed, please contact us 48 hours so we can confirm if we would be able to pick up and drop off from your hotel.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2382SC9

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Tour accommodates maximum 8 guests, however there will be more guests at the Reserve and on the game drive.
  • Cullinan Guided Journeys strictly follow the SA Government approved TBCSA Health and Safety COVID-19 Protocols. Should guests present COVID-19 symptoms, COVID testing and quarantine will be at their own cost. We recommend that you ensure that your guests take adequate personal travel insurance cover before departure from home.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Currently this tour departs Fridays and Saturdays only until 30 April 2021 (this is subject to change)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

A note from Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town
  • * Guests are required to bring along own face mask. * All passengers are required to be fully vaccinated in order to travel on our tours
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

How much is Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town?
Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town price starts from RM 694.25. Discover and book Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town on Tripadvisor
What is the Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town cancellation policy?
Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town?
Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town is hosted by Springbok Atlas Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Springbok Atlas Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2382SC9

Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See departure details
  • 1
    Aquila Private Game Reserve
    Stop: 5 hours - Admission included
    Included: welcome drink on arrival, 3 hour open vehicle game drive, & buffet lunch. Drinks and all extras are for your own account
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

LilianaEmilio
LilianaEmilio
00
Excellent
The staff is super helpful. Try to buy your ticket before getting there for they really stick to their schedules.
James M
James M
00
Fabulous experience
This was a very special experience. We were given a full safety brief and was fitted with life jackets and raincoat
NormUtah
NormUtah
00
An Ernest trip to Table Mountain
We loved learning about the history of Cape Town from our guide, Ernest. He was very knowledgeable, and we enjoyed
Justin H
Justin H
00
Franchhoek wine tour
Great time. Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic experience. Affordable. Really recommend it. Would do it again
kathleengD6556OV
kathleengD6556OV
00
Nothing beats seeing wildlife in their natural setting
Over the years have travelled from England to South Africa and always took a trip to the Kruger Park. We have stay
Aimeescott12
Aimeescott12
00
Wonderful.
Our curated wine experience was incredible. Our tour guide Roger ensured we learnt at each farm, tasted the best wi
michael_lB1269FU
michael_lB1269FU
00
Great trip to the Cape Peninsular
Very comfortable coach from the "hop on hop off" company. A very scenic drive and splendid comentry by "Mark" - ou
Tourist738221
Tourist738221
00
Overall, very good value
Excellent tour but very difficult with visit to Table Mountain as cable cars (although very quick) have such long q
WilmaB619
WilmaB619
00
Horrible experience at Mount Nelson
We booked a table a week in advance for 5 pax on the terrace for high tea on Tuesday the 4th of Feb at 15h00. On ar
caroline196260
caroline196260
00
Breathtaking!!
Attempted the cable car in January but winds too strong. We continued our trip with the half day tour and took in
SL_KU
SL_KU
00
Perfect day in Cape Town area.
Perfect day visiting Cape Town area. Highly recommended. Great guide. Comfortable couch and very rich information a
IrinaB128
IrinaB128
00
Amazing day around Cape Peninsula
The tour was exactly as described and, although packed, I didn’t feel rush at all during the stops. The tour compan
Fredjcluver
Fredjcluver
00
Tram Fun
Awesome way to get around the Franschhoek wine farms .... and not having to drink and drive. Friendly staff and lot
davidrX7555BB
davidrX7555BB
00
Best afternoon tea ever
My wife and I felt so lucky to have been bought this gift of afternoon tea at Belmont Mount Nelson. What an amazin
sj2260
sj2260
00
Average commercial tour
There is nothing particularly wrong with this tour—except being told there was no time to drive through Muizenberg—
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

3.5
41 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
6
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
8

lynne
Wrexham, UK3 contributions
2 hours out of Cape Town finds you at this amazing place, we booked to see the Big 5 and Aquila did not disappoint only the cheetah felt a bit shy on the day. Our driver Max was very knowledgeable and a real character making sure everyone got the best view possible and had a great day……. Thank you Max and Aquila for the hard work and ongoing care given to the beautiful wildlife
Written 24 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Safari experience with us.
Written 25 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DoringMT
Reading, UK34 contributions
Sep 2022
There's not much to say about my experience at Aquila, other than: don't hesitate to go! The accommodation was comfortable - and the views amazing. The food was varied and plentiful, and the staff friendly and helpful. But, best of all, were the game drives. We had a knowledgeable and friendly guide with a lovely sense of humour, and we managed to get up close and almost personal with all the animals, other than the shy leopard. My one and only complaint is not about the lodge itself, but rather the booking process. I booked a transfer from a hotel in Cape Town, and was told that I would be notified the day before my pickup as to the time of the pickup. I tried calling the evening before as I had heard nothing and ended up having to call the office as soon as it opened to find out that I had about an hour and a half until pickup. It was quickly organised, and the pickup itself went smoothly, but there was no apology from the office when I called, and I found that disappointing. Other than that...my time at the game reserve itself was a truly wonderful experience.
Written 13 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Morning Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your overall experience. We will be sure to pass on your comments onto the reserve as well.
Written 15 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tanya Larke
1 contribution
Aug 2022 • Family
From arrival to departure we were welcomed and greeted by the friendly staff. We went of several game drives and all were very informative with excellent rangers. Chevan (unsure of spelling) was our favourite and went above and beyond for our two girls on the game drives. The restaurant experiences were always a pleasure, great ambiance, service and fresh food! Rooms are comfy with everything you need and staff on call to come start-up your in-room fireplace. Worth the visit.
Written 22 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Safari Experience.
Written 23 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jules1985112233
London, UK10 contributions
Mar 2022 • Friends
You’re guaranteed to see game as you’re basically in a safari park. They put food out for the animals so that you will see them. It’s just so unrealistic eg: they’re eating out of a trough. The restaurant staff are inattentive and the food is very average. There are so many better game reserve options - honestly, do not bother going.
Written 24 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good afternoon, Thank you for your taking the time and provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not the best and that your comments with regards to staff are well noted and will be passed onto the reserve.
Written 25 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jim the dog
Birmingham, UK16 contributions
Over priced safari park. You’ll always see the animals as they are fenced in. The elephants come when called, hardly wild. It’s no different to a normal safari park. They have 3 lions, 3 giraffe, 3 elephants .. no cheetah as per there picture. Avoid at all costs.
Written 7 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Morning Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are sorry that the visit to Aquila Private Game Reserve did not meet your expectations.
Written 9 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fredelvanas
Cape Town Central, South Africa17 contributions
The reserve offers si much,
Staff remains glued to their mobile phones.
Service remains extremely poor.
Bar service can only be described as none existent.
The food remains a disgrace.
Example - if you serve pastries and its stale and not even made with butter - say no more!!
The Head chef cannot be caked a Chef.
Maintenance remains top of the lust as things fall apart.
Morbid and unhelpful staff.
Written 7 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so sorry to hear of your disappointing experience at the Aquila Private Game Reserve. We will be sure to convey your comments to the Reserve’s Management.
Written 25 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matthias
1 contribution
Oct 2021 • Couples
We were already surprised by the beauty of Cape Town. But this trip made our vacation unforgettable. At the safari day trip we were welcomed with welcome drinks and had a really good buffet with many options (also vegetarian). Then the safari started. We had a very nice guide for the game drive. He told us many interesting details about the animals and answered every question. We saw everything. Lions, elephants, rinos, giraffes, zebras and more. This is a MUST DO when you are in Cape Town.
Written 29 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Evening Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your Safari.
Written 1 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Serge Anderson
18 contributions
Jan 2022
we had a lovely experience with my friends , thanks to Remigeous for the guide , what an excellent guy . He was very patients with us through out the whole trip
We loved the food, the service was excellent, staff was super friendly and helpful. The game drive was awesome and informative. The spa is absolutely beautiful and the spa treatment made me sleep like a baby!😊
Written 6 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the Aquila Reserve.
Written 7 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andy B
4 contributions
Throughly enjoyable afternoon out. I’ve only ever been to zoos and safari parks in the uk and this place didn’t disappoint.

Can’t wait to visit cape town again and do the overnight stay here.

The guide was superb and very knowledgeable. Overall a brilliant day out.
Written 29 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Storyteller778375
Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your safari and we look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa in the future.
Written 31 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ARMANDO R
Escazú, Costa Rica32 contributions
Nov 2018
Just to start, we were told we will be picked up at our hotel at Sea Point at 8:30 a.m. sharp. They showed up at 9:30 a.m. When we got to the Reserve after a long two hour and half drive we were told by the receptionist that according to our reservation number we had already done the safari early in the morning and left back to Auckland. Oh, yes, really??? We called STA Travel at 91 Loop Street (from which we booked the tour) and they kindly help us by obtaining a new reservation confirmation number from Aquila's reservation department. We went back to the front desk and the same rude, obnoxious and repugnant lady told us that there was no new number for us on her system and that 'IF WANTED TO DO THE SAFARI WE HAD TO PAID IT IN FULL TO HER AND TRY TO GET A REFUND FROM STA TRAVEL OR FIND A WAY TO GO BACK TO CAPE TOWN AS WE WOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO RIDE THE TRANSPORT BACK TO THE CITY". And this point I just plainly lost it and started demanding to see the manager, which showed up relunctantly after we were trying to clear things up for almost an hour. After the manager look into the problem she apoligized and asked us to take the safari, which by the way, was just an O.K. experience. I would STRONGLY RECOMMED to do the Kruger Safari in Johannesburg instead of risking an appalling and dreadful experience as we had to endure at Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town.
Written 13 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town