Tours and Tickets

Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf provided by Bay City Bike Rentals and Tours

Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf

Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf
3.5
Book in advance
from
RM 138.58
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
About
San Francisco and its iconic attractions sit on the tip of a relatively small peninsula—it’s not a sprawling city, and great to explore by bike. On this tour, explore the city and surroundings at your own pace with the freedom that comes with traveling by bicycle. Start at Fisherman’s Wharf and head to North Beach, Chinatown, and Haight-Ashbury, or bike across the Golden Gate Bridge. Curbside pick-up is available to ensure a contactless rental experience.
Know before you go
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Know before you go
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
All equipment is sanitized before and after rental with no human contact required!
Independent bike tour of San Francisco with full-day rental
Explore as much of San Francisco and the surrounding area at your own pace
A great way to exercise while on vacation
Opt for purchasing a ferry ticket for a return trip from Sausalito
What to expect
Begin your independent bike tour by picking your bike up at Fisherman’s Wharf for a full-day bike rental. Your bike includes a bell, water cage, bike rack, bungee cord, storage bag, helmet, and lock. Spend a day exploring San Francisco at your own pace. From Fisherman’s Wharf it’s a short ride south to North Beach, and from there to Chinatown and Union Square. Alternately, travel west to Fort Mason, the Presidio, and the Golden Gate Bridge. Where you go is up to you. Since you have a full-day rental, you have enough time to cycle across the Golden Gate Bridge. From there, see the city skyline and Alcatraz Island in the middle of the bay, and head to the charming waterfront town of Sausalito. If you’ve bought ferry tickets from the bike shop, easily board the ferry from Sausalito back to San Francisco. Finish by dropping your bike off at the original pickup point.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3306RENT
Call +60 392125427
Important information
Inclusions
Full day bike rental • En route roadside assistance • Helmet, Bike lock, Bike bag • Map and Map-holder
Exclusions
Guide • Optional ferry ticket (14.50 USD; payable to supplier at time of travel) • Optional electric bike upgrade ($35, payable to supplier at time of travel)
Departure details
501 Bay St, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA Shop opens daily at 8am
Inclusions
Full day bike rental • En route roadside assistance • Helmet, Bike lock, Bike bag • Map and Map-holder
Exclusions
Guide • Optional ferry ticket (14.50 USD; payable to supplier at time of travel) • Optional electric bike upgrade ($35, payable to supplier at time of travel)
Departure details
501 Bay St, San Francisco, CA 94133, USA Shop opens daily at 8am
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Rescheduling is available in the event of inclement weather
Infants must be at least 6 months old and able to sit up to use a baby seat or bike trailer
Children age 4-11 can use kid bikes or Tagalongs
Comfortable shoes and clothes, water and sunscreen are recommended; dress in layers as weather is likely to change quickly
Helmets are provided and recommended, though not required
Not wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Infant seats available
Visitors are required to maintain 6ft of social distance from other parties and staff.
Curbside pick-up is available for all rentals. Bikes will be brought out to you and likewise you can leave them outside upon your return.
All staff is required to wear PPE to ensure everyone's safety. Visitors will be asked to come wearing their own PPE. Masks are available for sale for those that do not have their own.
Staff will disinfect the equipment before a safety demonstration so you will know that it is clean.
Most travellers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 999 travellers
Popular mentions

3.5
27 reviews
Excellent
15
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
7

Vicky G
1 contribution
DO NOT RENT WITH THIS PEOPLE
Apr 2021 • Friends
Worst experience ever.
DO NOT RENT WITH THESE PEOPLE.
We rented 4 electric bikes on April 18th, we paid the full amount in cash but they kept our credit card details until we returned our bikes. We returned the bikes on the same date before 6pm as they asked and they retuned the credit card details.
On the following afternoon they started to call us and they sent a bunch of messages asking for the bikes. They contacted us on facebook, instagram and they even sent a message to my working place asking for the bikes, implying that we stole them. Not to mention that they called the hotel in which we stayed, not being successful in finding us as we had already checked out. Once we could finally get in touch, we explained that the bikes were already returned and they explained that their employee(the one who received the biked) did NOT check the bikes as returned.
Today, May 2nd, I realised Bay City Bikes CHARGED me 1.000 dollars on my credit card. I called them and they checked their system, which confirmed the payment.
When I called the company to check out how they were refunding the money and, of course, to complain about the “mistake”, a very rude employee did not even listen to me, she only explained that the money was refunded and her next word was “bye”.
What really got my attention was that the payment for the 1000 dollars was made on April 19th, a day after I got my credit card details “RETURNED”.

CONCLUSION:
1. Their employee never checked our bikes as returned
2.They harassed us asking for their bikes when the mistake was theirs.
3. They implied in messages that we stole their bikes.
4. They charged us 1000 dollars for the bikes which WE RETURNED IN PLACE AND TIME.
5. They kept my credit card details against my authorisation.
6.They were rude and impolite on the phone when talking on the matter.
Written 4 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReservationsDesk
Dear Victoria, Firstly, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience this has been on all parties involved. As most businesses in San Francisco are just starting to reopen, after over a year of being completely closed, we have had to hire and re-train staff en masse. During this time of economic hardship, our shop has been burglarized and vandalized several times and many bikes have been stolen. Therefore, we’ve taken measures to avoid more loss; this unfortunately affected you. The staff member assisting you made a mistake, which we do apologize and take full responsibility for. Said mistake led us to believe that you still had the bikes in your possession and had not returned them when due. We then tried all avenues to reach you and inquire about the bikes including texts and phone messages. At the time of rental, we authorized the credit card you gave us for deposit, provided for the case of stolen or lost equipment. After nearly 24 hours of trying to reach your party and without a response, and as a course of normal business, we used that amount to cover loss assuming the bikes had been stolen. We appreciate your feedback on the employees who assisted you. As we thrive on our outstanding customer service, we have taken measures to make sure this will not happen again. Lastly, kindly understand the situation from our side; following an explosive pandemic, the severity of expensive equipment being lost or stolen is simply not sustainable. Again, we are very sorry with this mishap and we hope you enjoyed riding with us. Best regards, Andrew
Written 5 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Greta M
1 contribution
Great experience!
Oct 2020 • Friends
The electric bikes were so easy to use! I was a little nervous because I had never used one before, but Andy explained everything clearly and was so personable and sweet. He is a truly wonderful employee! I would do it again in a heartbeat!
Written 14 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OPal
1 contribution
Loved it
Nov 2019 • Couples
Great experience hiring these bikes, worked well & cheap insurance. Recommend the independent tour so you have time to explore on your own and spend as much time as you want in certain areas. The only tip is that the ferry charges are more expensive from the shop as opposed to buying them in Sausalito.
Written 27 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReservationsDesk
Thank you so much for your feedback and for your recommendation! It means a lot to us that you took the time to write about your good experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed the bikes and the independent tour route. The ferry tickets we sell at our shops are open ended tickets and are valid on either of the two ferry companies in Sausalito at any time, hence the price difference. Buying the tickets in advance also allows you to skip the line to buy tickets at the Ferry. I apologize if this was not explained to you at check out- it should have been. I am sorry for any inconvenience we caused you and am happy that you loved the bikes! Thanks again and we hope you'll come visit us again soon! Ashley
Written 27 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MCH65
American Fork, UT311 contributions
Self guided tour on a bike
Oct 2019
We have been to San Francisco many times and were looking for a new experience so we rented bikes and did the ride over the Golden Gate Bridge and then took the ferry back to the Ferry building. the ferry ticket is included with the rental price of the bike. Total tour took about 3 hours, but we went at a leisurely speed and took time to take lots of photos. If I were to do this tour again, I think I would do the e-bike as there are a few big hills to climb and since we had the bikes all day long, we could have explored other parts of the city. probably worth the extra price unless you are big biker. As it was, biking across the bridge was pretty good even on a normal bike. Looks like a few other people complained about the service. They have 2 locations and we rented form the Bay Street location and the service was great. They even made a few fantastic suggestions of where to eat when we returned the bikes.
Written 14 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ReservationsDesk
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed your rental and you had a great bike trip over the Golden Gate Bridge! It was a pleasure having you here at Bay City Bike and I hope you'll come back and visit us again soon to try our electric bikes. Thanks again, Ashley
Written 15 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matteo
1 contribution
STAY AWAY! They Are Not Serious
Sep 2019 • Couples
we rented two bikes for the whole day, paying a surcharge to get insurance coverage. after an hour of use my bike broke, becoming unusable. I had to take a bus back to the bicycle depot .. open claim for refund amount (I had paid extra insurance) but this reimbursement did not happen. don't rely on them. they have old and poorly maintained bikes and it's not a serious company! there are so many rentals .. go elsewhere !!!
Written 21 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dear Matteolambretta, We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues during your rental. We offer a $4 per bike optional damage insurance that covers any damage to our equipment bike during your rental. We also have roadside assistance to quickly swap out bikes that experience issues during your rental duration. All you have to do is call and we will dispatch your problem. If you were charged for damage after purchasing insurance, then this was done by mistake. Please contact us with more information so we can reverse these charges for you. Thanks! John
Written 23 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ingvar G
1 contribution
Great bikes
It’s a great way to explore the city, good service and great e bikes. We recommend e bikes because of all the hills. Ride over the golden gate, explore china town.
Written 21 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

alejandro c
San Francisco, CA4 contributions
Terrible service and bad attitude of management
The bike that we rented was not working properly. It was a frustrating experience. When I complained. They just said to file a complaint and they didn’t even review the bike.
The manager was the worse of the staff
Written 5 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sorry to hear this. When folks rent we require them to test ride and come back during the test ride If there are any issues. If any problems occur during the ride we include free emergency rescue service; seeing that you are local we wish you had just called us as we would’ve brought you a replacement bike. It would have been so easy to resolve during the ride! Finally although you aren’t privy to our operational procedures we do mark bikes that people complain about and send them to the mechanic for review. The customer service staff you encountered would not take care Mechanical issues
Written 5 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alex D
San Antonio, TX27 contributions
Great customer service!
Jul 2019 • Family
We recently rented bikes through Bay City Bikes and went on a self-guided ride to Sausalito. Bikes were in great condition. One person in our party of 13 had an E-Bike and the rest of us were super envious. The hill leading up to the GG Bridge is a doozie and he sailed right up that hill with no problem. We reserved our bikes online and they were ready when we arrived just after opening. We rode the ferry back from Sausalito with out bikes. You cannot reserve a time to travel back on the ferry and the first one filled up quickly delaying out return. You can drop your bike in Sausalito for an extra fee, which is a great idea if you are ferrying back.
Written 29 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sydney Traveller
Sydney, Australia7 contributions
Freedom and incredible views
Jun 2019 • Solo
This was a trip highlight for me on my recent stop over in San Francisco. I would recommend it to anyone. It is especially nice after a long flight to move the legs and get some fresh air and amazing views over the bay. The cycle path is very easy to navigate. A round trip from Fisherman’s Wharf, around Chrissy Fields and over the Golden Gate Bridge and back again takes just two hours and it is absolute heaven. It only costs $8 USD per hour to rent the bike. They give you a map and their phone number in case you run into any problems. Take a bottle of water and put it in the little front pocket they provide on the bike. I loved this bike ride so ,ugh, I did it twice. 😊
Written 17 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul T
4 contributions
Good rental, but too windy to attempt bridge
Jul 2019 • Family
We enjoyed the rental, but for our day, the wind was really whipping as we attempted to bike down the Presidio after seeing the Palace of Fine Arts. We felt like wind sails, and although we are fit, this was way too hard to bike into the wind on the Presidio at 4pm. We figured the wind on the Bridge would be 3-4x as bad, so we turned around and just biked the Wharf. I am disappointed that we didn’t experience the bridge. I feel like there are certain times where the rental places probably know the winds are super rough and could give some warning to renters, but they don’t. That’s my reason for 4 stars instead of 5. I like to bike, but this wind as we headed west was stopping us in our tracks. There are chances to get some great pictures. But, if you can’t make it up to the bridge— you miss the best experience and best pictures!
Written 11 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi there Unfortunately we don’t know when the wind will be more severe at the bridge. San Francisco is a city composed of many microclimates and from the wharf to the bridge the weather can change greatly. I assure you if we knew we would tell you as there are no times of day or anything else to indicate when it will happen- it’s just part of the Bay life. I am glad you enjoyed your bike ride otherwise. Thanks John
Written 12 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 23
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Bay City Bike Rentals and Tours
gcadwallader
gcadwallader
00
Great Fun!!
My daughter and I booked the bike to to Sausalito over the Golden Gate Bridge. What a wonderful experience! Judy,
Patricia W
Patricia W
00
Fun
This is the second time in six years since we have stopped at this iconic spot lots of fun great pictures wonderful
vivianapalmab
vivianapalmab
00
Amazing tour with Adam!
Adam has great knowledge about the history of the city! It is evident that he loves SFO and he really made us love
Genevieve H
Genevieve H
00
Family fun with the best tour guide, Judy!
Judy was out tour guide for the bike tour and was hands down, amazing. We had my 4 year old and 1.5 year old with u
Mom_Of_Twins85225
Mom_Of_Twins85225
00
Best day ever!
Had an absolute blast with our electric bike rental! Spent over 6 hours running around town from the Golden Gate br
marcdO2749XU
marcdO2749XU
00
Excellent!
Our bike tour guide Judy was amazing! Knowledgeable and fun! She took us to many scenic views and offered to take
willk822
willk822
00
Great tour by a great tour guide
This was a fantastic tour that we would highly recommend. Our superb tour guide, Adam, took us down side streets an
Darkchild9
Darkchild9
00
Excellent Experience-Bad Customer Service
I’ll start by saying that my guide, Blake, was EXCELLENT! He was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I thor
T4147TMjanicem
T4147TMjanicem
00
Incredible experince and tour
We loved our Sunset bike tour. It is not really at sunset but maybe that wouldn’t be safe in the dark lol. Garret a
claudiapA2082IC
claudiapA2082IC
00
Awesome Tour!!
Our Tour Guide, Adam was absolutely AWESOME!! He was very patient with us and great sense of humor. He made this to
577stacim
577stacim
00
Save money and book when you get there, price around.
They were not at address listed, walked to new address and they were shuttered up. I had to call them and wait. The
danyandalex
danyandalex
00
Great tour and guide!!
Adam was the best tour guide! He really enjoys giving the tour and made us enjoy and see things we wouldnt have see
Iheartmm
Iheartmm
00
So much fun!
Eli was the best tour guide!! Very knowledgeable, friendly, and he even took some great pictures of us. We rented
Bob W
Bob W
00
Great experience on a bike
Adam, our guide loves The City and shows. He gives a great historical perspective of the landmarks we saw on our ri
akirtasran
akirtasran
00
Bike Rental
The staff was helpful with deciding bike routes and provided bikes which were clean and in good condition!
Frequently Asked Questions about Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf

Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf will start at 12:00 AM. Discover and book Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf on Tripadvisor


Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf price starts from RM 135.19. Discover and book Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf on Tripadvisor

Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Full Day Bike Rental from Fisherman's Wharf on Tripadvisor