We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Good evening

Met up with friends for a meal, food was very nice (better than when it was 2-4-1 in my opinion... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Caroline W
,
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
excellent service

Went to The Fox for lunch ,very good food, service was second to none, served by young man called... read more

Reviewed 5 March 2018
379elaine
,
Yate, United Kingdom
Read all 143 reviews
23
All photos (23)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak”(22 reviews)
“pudding”(7 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
17°
11°
Jul
17°
11°
Aug
15°
Sep
Contact
Broad Lane, Yate BS37 7LD, England
Website
+44 1454 227431
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
49
49
14
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
49
49
14
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakgreat value for moneypuddingnice mealmy mumgets busystaff were very friendlylast visitexcellent servicemixed grillbuy one get one freefirst classsunday roastwild boar and chorizo burgerfood comingpre christmas mealmenu
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Met up with friends for a meal, food was very nice (better than when it was 2-4-1 in my opinion) staff friendly and prices reasonable.

1  Thank Caroline W
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Caroline, thank you very much for the great review, we really appreciate it. I do hope you visit us again soon, Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Haven’t visited here for a quiet a while and I remember why, the food is tasteless and bland and just poor quality. Chicken rubbery, burger cheap and nasty and the pizza totally tasteless and it was a curried pizza! Service was friendly though and the...More

Thank wattage80
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, I’m sorry to read our food is not to your taste. Hopefully you’ll give us another try in the future. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Awful! Food took a long time and was microwaved and tasteless! Not one meal was fresh! Overpriced for the food!!! Awful awful awful! We will not be back!

Thank sarahmK1491RS
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Hello, thank you for the review, I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy our food. If you would like to discuss your visit further please send us an email or give us a call. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Popped into the Fox on the way home form shopping. Was shown to a table straight away. Drinks and meal were ordered from the table which is nice. Service was quick but not too fast with the food coming hot. Servers were attentive but not...More

1  Thank Loonuk
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Loonuk, thanks so much for taking the time to post such a positive review for us, everyone is so quick to criticise but not so much to praise. We really hope you pop in and see us again soon, Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 18 April 2018

Visited the fox last night very disappointed sirloin steak full of fat and gristle burger overcooked there were 4 of us the other 2 enjoyed there meal we have visited many times over the years and all of us thought nowhere near as good as...More

Thank 222janettep
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed with a couple of meals, I do hope you let us know so we could rectify it for you. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Went to The Fox for lunch ,very good food, service was second to none, served by young man called Andrew I think was extremely polite and nothing was to much trouble. Have been to this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed.More

Thank 379elaine
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Elaine, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review for us, we’re really grateful. We love that you’ve never been disappointed and Andy will be delighted that you gave him a special mention. We hope to see you again soon. Regards,...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018

Many visits to the Fox, never disappointed. Good food, great selection, wonderful attractions for children. Staff, especially Sam, a delight

Thank Gilbham
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Hello, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review, it means a lot. Sam will be over the moon that you took the time to give her a special mention. We hope you visit us again soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Went with my daughter and the starter was cold and my daughter had to send her burger back twice due to it being cold and over cooked! Won’t be going back.More

Thank foxy1234512
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, im sorry that you were not happy on a recent visit. As you can see from our other reviews we have great feedback, so I’m very surprised you were disappointed. I do...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

I went here recently for a family get together I had the prawn cocktail, beef in a sauce with veggiesand chrisrmas pud with ice cream to finish. The prawns were tasteless, there was hardly any beef but the christmas pud was lovely. The atmosphere was...More

Thank Donna M
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. We hope you visit us again soon. Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Met with a group of friends for pre Christmas meal. You cannot book in advance so best to get someone there early to secure a table as it gets busy. Once we hot a table we were told it's a 40min wait for food but...More

Thank Oakfieldtrish
Deb666888, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Hello, thank you so much for the 5 star review, it really means a lot to us all here. I’m so glad you and your friends enjoyed a festive catch up. We hope you visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Deborah Jarvis (Manager)

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
samentwistle
23 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Deb666888 | Property representative |
Yes we do. X
1
Vote
Marcia G
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from susrug1957 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Marcia, they normally only take bookings for special days i.e. Valentines or xmas, but I think as there will be 9 of you they probably will make an exception. It's worth a phone call! Just to add , we have been many times... More
0
Votes