We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Cliff Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9RW, Wales
Phone Number: +44 1492 518484
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Not the best but OK for an hour or so

Kept the kids (6 and 3 years) happy for over an hour. Lots and lots of tables for parents to set up camp but the size of the actual soft play area is quite small. The main area... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 July 2016
DanRWatts
,
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Visited with my 6year old and some friends and their children. Cheap to get in which is great but I found that in general the place looked very untidy and unloved. I visited the ladies toilet to discover no sanitary bins in any of the 3 cubicles, just normal bins. I brought this up with the lady who was either... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryony B
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Bryony, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review I was in fact the person that spoke with you at the time. I was very concerned to read your comments regarding Totally Ape and myself. I did listen to your comments regarding the bins and did apologize to you and I would like to assure... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We've been coming to totally ape for years. My 5 year old gets so excited when I tell her we're going. Totally ape offers a food menu which is cheap enough. It's a great place to come to for the kids when it's raining outside. The staff are great too, they work so hard.

Helpful?
Thank Laura J
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Hi Laura Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review your feedback really does matter. I will pass on your kind comments to my great team thank you Gill White More 

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016

Kept the kids (6 and 3 years) happy for over an hour. Lots and lots of tables for parents to set up camp but the size of the actual soft play area is quite small. The main area has 2 good slides and there's a separate area for babies and toddlers (with a small ball pit). The cleanliness of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanRWatts
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Dan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review your feedback is greatly appreciated. I will pass on your kind comments to my great team. thank you again Kind Regards Gill White. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2016

My sister had a party here on Sunday 26th of June, not very child friendly at all, some of the drops and climbs were ridiculously high and there were many times which i had to go in and rescue crying children because they couldn't get down a high drop or climb up!

Helpful?
Thank _Anonymous_51135_
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Good afternnon, Firstly I was very concerned to read your review. To assist me in trying to answer this in more detail I would need to know the following please: Ages of children on frame who were crying Was this reported to any member of team or Manager at the time? At this point all I can confirm is that... More 

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2016

Extremely rude unhelpful staff, child's party for 3-4 yr and they couldn't care less. Served up worchester sauce crisps, when asked if they could be exchanged for plain we were told " you get what you're given ". Definitely a place to avoid, and to think we paid for this abysmal service. NEVER AGAIN.

Helpful?
Thank caroleliverpool
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Further to this review I now feel it necessary to write a response. I was away for the weekend but have received a full and detailed hand over upon my return, from my Manager, Paula.To date I have had many comments, several inappropriate and incorrect and reviews from various people. I have attempted to contact the party Mum Sian by... More 

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2016

My kids love this place, and every time we go it gets harder to leave!! Staff are very friendly and can not do enough for you. Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank James P
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Thank you James for your lovely review which I will pass on to my great team. So glad you and your family enjoy Totally Ape. Kind Regards Gill White More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016

This is a great place for young kids to play. The place is nice and the staff are nice! Took my one and a half year old today and he's normally very clingy but he actually went off in the Toddler section on his own! One big let down for me is that although it clearly states that the area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abby D
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Hello Abby, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I was so very sorry to learn of yours son's experience. We try very hard to monitor the Toddler frame to stop bigger children playing there. Unfortunately on this occasion we have failed and I am also very concerned to hear about the lack of first... More 

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Yes there are bigger soft play centres around but we have a toddler and the toddler area is bigger than Bonkers so that was appreciated! Not too sure why people complain so much about this place because it's in the middle of a town where there is NOTHING else for kids to do.

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Hello Ben, Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am pleased that both you and your toddler are happy with Totally Apes toddler play area. Thank you again Kind Regards Gill White More 

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Me and the Missus had our little one's 3rd Birthday party at Totally Ape! All the kids had a great time...plenty for them to do!! They came home exhausted which was great!!(early night!!!) Staff were great with everyone considering how busy it was too!! Nothing was too much trouble! Play areas looked that much fun I wanted to have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank cjmartins82
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so glad the birthday party was a success. I will pass on your feedback to my great team, thank you again for your review. Kind Regards Gill White More 

Meliden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Possibly the worst children's play place. £4.95 to get in and there is virtually nothing for the children to do. No music. Food is awful. £4.50 for this pizza!! When I complained they couldn't understand the problem??

Helpful?
Thank Metalgearmatt
62Gill, Owner at Totally Ape, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review which I was expecting after your verbal threat of Saturday "to expose Totally Ape all over the social media". I apologise that you were not happy with your visit or the food. But the child's pizza meal deal you asked for was changed at your own request to Pizza and... More 

Travellers who viewed Totally Ape also viewed

 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to Totally Ape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Totally Ape staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?