We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwater Tubing

19 Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely Awesome!!

Can’t tell you how fantastic this trip was. The views were spectacular!! Could NOT stop taking... read more

Reviewed 8 April 2018
Rob B
,
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
via mobile
Loved it!

We did the 1/2 day tubing over a weekend in March and the river was unfortunately very low as the... read more

Reviewed 4 April 2018
Elfrida J
,
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Read all 105 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“water level” (10 reviews)
“the river” (39 reviews)
“day adventure” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 2:00 PM
LOCATION
19 Darnell Street, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water level"
in 10 reviews
"the river"
in 39 reviews
"day adventure"
in 2 reviews
"adrenaline junkie"
in 2 reviews
"nice activity"
in 2 reviews
"great adventure"
in 3 reviews
"cliff jumping"
in 3 reviews
"whole experience"
in 3 reviews
"axe"
in 7 reviews
"rapids"
in 11 reviews
"arms"
in 7 reviews
"jumps"
in 12 reviews
"richard"
in 7 reviews
"sore"
in 5 reviews
"fun"
in 36 reviews
"wetsuits"
in 7 reviews
"backpackers"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Can’t tell you how fantastic this trip was. The views were spectacular!! Could NOT stop taking pictures. I’m SO glad I decided to do this. Our guides, Lolo and Mitch were brilliant. Friendly and very professional. Helped everyone at every turn. Then to top it...More

Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We did the 1/2 day tubing over a weekend in March and the river was unfortunately very low as the area hasn't received a lot of rain the last few months. I would love to experience the difference when the river is in full flow!...More

Thank Elfrida J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

This is definitely one for your bucket list. Do not miss out ons this exciting experience. We did the half day trip and it’s was amazing will def do it again

1  Thank Rinie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Blackwater Tubing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Rienie, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are busy introducing a new activity to our half day trip that we think you'll enjoy. Please come back for a complimentary experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

The 1/2 day outing which was more of an obstacle course than rapid tubing. Hard work walking down to the river and paddling yourself down the river - no real flow happening when we were there, .....more walking and then more walking. Biggest highlight was...More

1  Thank Tanyakahanovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Blackwater Tubing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Tanya, We're terribly disappointed to hear that you had such a poor experience with us.We do not however advertise 'rapid tubing' as you call it. On the contrary we run the excursion on the Storms River with tubes specifically because it is a narrow...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We booked our tubing experience before we went on holiday to South Africa, but I wished we never did. The service of the company is absolutely horrible; we were not provided with water shoes or boots & nothing was communicated - so we had to...More

1  Thank Lisanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Blackwater Tubing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Lisanne, We are not sure how you booked your tubing activity but had you booked directly with us you should have been advised that shoes are a necessity on our excursions. We do advertise this on our printed media and online distribution channels as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

My new wife and I were in the area for our honeymoon. We decided to do this adventure. We really had a good time. Seemed to be nice staff and all seemed to be organized and run well. We were offered photos of our trip...More

Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Blackwater Tubing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Brad, I remember this exact incident and I can assure you that this was purely a mistake for which I am responsible. We had changed our media system to an automated online video rendering system in November and this change had required an increase...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Kind and energetic staff which added to a wonderful experience. The scenery is beautiful and drinks and delicious food can be bought afterwards. What a wonderful fibe!!

Thank Chantelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Blackwater Tubing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for a wonderful review! We have since added value by including a light meal after each excursion. A new activity is due for launch now in April as a compliment to our low water operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We did the tubing as a group of 10. Scenery was beautiful and the guides were awesome. We were lucky that it rained the night before, so we had less walking to do. Take along footgear, otherwise you have to buy additionally. You must wear...More

Thank ShantelleBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius M, Owner at Blackwater Tubing, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We had changed our media system to an automated online video rendering system in November and this change had required some painstaking processes in training our staff. As our bandwidth at the time could not handle the upload we had many issues such as yours...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We went during a period of dryness and the river wasn't flowing as well. This requires a lot more walking and less floating. Otherwise the trip down the river is fun for a family trip and some fresh air!

1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We went as a group of 5 people and had booked prior. I would recommend that people ask the tide level before making the booking. We arrived and then got told that the tides were low so there would be a lot of walking in...More

2  Thank Shandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Storms River
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
1,035 reviews
.17 km away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
317 reviews
.40 km away
Misty Mountain Reserve
313 reviews
7.86 km away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
780 reviews
12.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tsitrus Cafe
248 reviews
.24 km away
The Bistro at Bitou
101 reviews
.34 km away
Marilyn's 60's Diner
503 reviews
.07 km away
Tsitsikamma Micro Brewery
62 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tsitsikamma Segway Tours
197 reviews
.56 km away
Tsitsikamma Canopy Tours
685 reviews
.07 km away
Tsitsikamma Woodcutters Journey
26 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blackwater Tubing staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;