We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Kincraig, Kincraig PH21 - 1N, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1540 651272
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer...

Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer and skiing in the winter at nearby Cairngorm Mountain. Lessons many also be taken on our dry ski slope, onsite. Other activities such as archery, mountain biking and local walks are available all year round as are the children's activity play parks. The Boathouse Restaurant onsite is the perfect base to compliment activities, whether you are looking for a warm and cosy environment to have a cup of tea and spectate or requiring a warm, hearty, home-cooked meal to warm up after an activity.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 219 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 114
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
A restaurant/bar with a lovely view

Friends and I quite often stop by here for a snack or a meal. The view over the loch is perfect being right at the edge and there is always something to see as it is a... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
MorayTraveljunkie
,
Moray
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 hours on Saturday morning Stand Up Paddle Boarding for the first time with some friends and loved it (I hadn't been looking forward to it). What a laugh! Great instructor and brilliant kit provided from the wet suits to the boards. Really good facilities on site in that you can get a really hot shower afterwards and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank FoxyRoxy40
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear FoxyRoxy40, Many thanks for your feedback. I will pass this onto the teams here. We look forward to seeing you again here at Loch Insh...........weather permitting! And remember if you stay with us for 2 nights in our chalets you get free use of the watersports facilities from 4pm to 6pm. (tuition is an additional cost) Kind regards, Loch... More 

Moray
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friends and I quite often stop by here for a snack or a meal. The view over the loch is perfect being right at the edge and there is always something to see as it is a watersports centre and you can watch the activity on the water. Nothing nicer than sitting in warm, dry, comfortable surroundings eating good food... More 

Helpful?
Thank MorayTraveljunkie
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear MorayTraveljunkie, Many thanks for you feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in the restaurant looking at the activities on the water. We will take your feedback on-board regarding the tea bag and a mug of water. I presume a pot would be nicer? I will discuss this with the Restaurant Manager to see if we can... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After Johnny Freshwater took over from his father, the Boathouse restaurant really upped its game and we were regular lunch visitors in 2016. Our first visit in 2017 was a disappointment (apart of course from the view over the Loch down towards Creag Dhu.....sometimes in summer ospreys can be seen). Last year's interesting and varied lunch menu had been replaced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Killeboy
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Killeboy, Thank you for your feedback, i am sorry your feel that the menu is "bog standard". Interestingly we are in the process of changing our menu which i will be a combination of traditional and contemporary. Please do look out on our website for the new menu launch and do come back and visit us to try the... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great couple of hours being taught to stay upright on skis by a very patient man called James. He was really on the money talking us through each thing we were doing wrong (or right!) and the whys and hows, and there were five of us to keep track of, all adults, mostly beginners. We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank gracecowley
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Grace, Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at Loch Insh. I will pass on your comments to James, one of our qualified Instructors. I will also inform the restaurant staff that you enjoyed your meal with us. Regards, Loch Insh More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Loch Insh Watersports Centre for February half term and had such a great time. The accommodation was comfortable and clean overlooking the lake but we really didn't really spend much time there as there was so much to do on and off site! The staff on site were so friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janey312
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Janey312, Many thanks for your response. It is so nice to have feedback like this. I will pass this to the teams in the Restaurant and the Ski Instructors, it will be most appreciated by them. We do hope that you come back and enjoy not just the food but the facilities we have on offer. We are in... More 

England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We booked ahead for a table of 7 including 3 children. We were greeting and seated by very welcoming staff. Our food was great, tasty, hot and the portions were very generous. We thought the prices were reasonable. In summary it was a great family evening meal in a beautiful setting with a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Da4orce
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Da4orce, Thank you for your feedback. It is really appreciated when we receive positive comments. I will pass on your comment to the restaurant team, it will lift their spirits. We do hope that you come back not just for the great food but the fabulous views across the Loch. Yours sinclerely, Loch Insh More 

UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

This place has a lot of potential, the scenery is amazing, lots to do nearby, rooms mostly comfortable. But sadly it is let down by a few things: 1. Firstly, you would expect to be able to eat in the local restaurant, sadly not. We were told they were full despite only 8 tables being occupied in the large restaurant.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meekered
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Meekered, I am sorry you feel our business is badly managed. In response to your comments regarding being unable to eat in our restaurant on Saturday night you were not actually refused service. You were offered an alternative option in the bar. Whilst i appreciate there were empty tables when you arrived they were pre-booked as it was one... More 

Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Visited today. Had 2 coffees and 2 hot chocolates, £11.... shocking. Not only that but the waitress who served us was rude and abrupt. Won't be returning. Was hoping to have stayed in the chalets for a holiday but the experience and restaurant prices put us off. Shame beautiful views and beach. Spoilt by restaurant experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank sheena m
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Sheena, The price of our hot drinks are good quality, competitive and are comparable with the costs you would find in the high street and in this area. Our prices are clearly advertised in the restaurant in our menus and on the blackboards. I am sorry you felt the service was "rude and abrupt". The majority of our guests... More 

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome wee adventure for my mates 21st , there was 8 of us , was cosy enough ! Hot tub and cabin was great ! I'm not fussy it had everything you need ! Girl at reception was polite and funny ! Only problems was the radiator stopped working in one room and wifi was poo ! But I guess... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin m
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Hello Colin, Many thanks for this information. It was quiet at the time you visited and hopefully not too cold, I will pass on your comments to the team. Regards, Loch Insh More 

Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

I have been at Loch Insh a number of times in the last year. the food has been good on the whole but recently I feel the cleanliness has been poor. Dirty glasses and plates. The new menu is a bit overpriced. Over £9 for soup and sandwich for lunch?????? Hot chocolate was £2.60, that was okay until we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dallal66
GManagerLochInsh, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review

Dear Dallal66, I am so sorry you had a poor experience in our Boathouse restaurant. This is not the level of standard we would normally expect our customers to receive. You have commented on previous visits the food in the past has on the whole been good, i am so glad these were positive for you. Again i apologise for... More 

Travellers who viewed Loch Insh Watersports also viewed

Kincraig, Badenoch and Strathspey
Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Loch Insh Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Loch Insh Watersports and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Loch Insh Watersports staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?