We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau du Champ de Bataille

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 8 Route du Chateau, 27110 Le Neubourg, France
Phone Number:
+33 2 32 34 84 34
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 157 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 3
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Beautiful formal gardens

I went with my elderly parents (type of visit doesn't allow that category!) and we only went round the gardens rather than the chateau itself. Gardens were amazing. Very formal... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Vicky B
,
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 19: English reviews
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my elderly parents (type of visit doesn't allow that category!) and we only went round the gardens rather than the chateau itself. Gardens were amazing. Very formal and a bit like how I remember Versailles (went as a child so memory may be hazy!). Lots of painstakingly maintained topiary. The gardens are very well tended and cared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
Management response:

Dear Vicky B, I would like to thanks you for your compliments and all the positive energy that I will transfer to the gardeners. Concerning the access for electric buggy, we will take your remark in consideration and try to improve that leak. We would be more than happy to see you again this summer. You have to know that... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We phoned in the autumn to book a special visit for a group of architects to view the chateau this May. They had no record of the call and agreement as the previous manager had left. The new manager seemed helpful and asked our organiser to phone him at 8pm that night to rearrange for the following day. When he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
Management response:

Dear Robert W, We did meet two weeks ago in order to solve your problem. The previous manager did not book your visit in the calendar, and if she did accept your booking, I would be really surprised since private visit is only for 20 people during the week, as I told you when we met. I did let you... More 

St-Germain-en-Laye, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This remote castle has 2 main interests: the huge garden where you can brng your own picnic on sunny days and spend at least 1,5 hours and the castle with about 15 rooms nicely decorated. Visit is only with audio-guides (no guided tour available). Staff isn't very friendly and the service at the café is very poor. It is overpriced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
Management response:

Dear Patrick.B, First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit and remarks. Concerning the Credit / Debit card, that we only refuse for the visiting tickets, it is clearly written on our website in order for people to prepare their visit. We are sorry if you did not enjoy at the Café Garcia and would like... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
727 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Our visit entailed the inside of the chateau, where we had a most impressive, charming and animated guide, as well as the extensive park. I found the interior a combination of over the top elements combined with an admiration for all the effort in creating such a place. The garden was a great place to stroll, extensive and with lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
Management response:

Dear John P, I would like to thanks you for your compliments and all the positive energy that I will transfer to the gardeners. Concerning Prices, since it is a private castle, we do not have any financial helps from Government that's why prices are a bit above the average. Kind Regards, Nicolas. P More 

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

It Is really one of the most and largest gardens in Normandy and in France. One should spend at least hour or two walking thru the gardens.

Helpful?
Thank Vlado Z
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
658 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

This place is definitely different from other chateaux we have visited! Outside on the road the sign said the chateau was open but actually before Easter only the gardens are open ! This was a bit disappointing- there was no price list displayed either! There is a tea room and small gift shop The gardens are a mish mash of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JANDDBritinParis
destelbergen Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Passed there in sept '15, when only the gardens were open for visits. You will stroll through magnificently restaured gardens reflecting Versailles, but having them all for yourselves ... On the expensive side, but value for money. TIP : combine your visit with the restaurant in the old stables : very charming, cosy, and at a very good price for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walter_Hilde
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The garden at Champ de Bataille is a extraordinary success. Very true to the period i.e. grand, it has not been stuffed with fussy flower borders - rather they have contained these together with fruit and vegetables in one place. There are some impressive vistas and breathtaking effects. However, should you be in wheelchair you will not be able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank gladfin
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

A huge undertaking to restore and recreate this magnificent château and grounds.quite expensive though 12€ gardens and a further €12 for house. Gardens are grand and green. Very few flowers but a striking design. Only about 10% of the water features actually working and about 1/4 closed off Aug2015. Audio guide informative and available in English. Some of the UK... More 

Helpful?
Thank G C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2015

-Very expensive (24€) -Opened 2hours a day only -A few rooms only to visit -No guide, and the audioguide is boring and nothing is told about history +Furniture +garden

Helpful?
1 Thank J T

Travellers who viewed Chateau du Champ de Bataille also viewed

 

Been to Chateau du Champ de Bataille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Chateau du Champ de Bataille and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chateau du Champ de Bataille staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?