We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Bobby's Marina Village, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
(+599) 542 0032
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
St Barts Ferry Transfer from St Maarten
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 81 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Cheaper than Flying to St. Barts

Taking this high speed ferry boat express to St. Bart's is roughly one-third the cost of flying there ($70 U.S. vs. $215+ by air), so from that perspective it is a good deal... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2017
Samuel M
,
Erie
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect way to get to Saint Barths! THanks to the previous reviews, my husband and I showed up 2 hours early, and took nausea medicine in advance. The medicine helped tremendously. The high speed very ride there was horribly bumpy and you could easily get sea sick. I repeat, take the Dramamine before you go!! Coming back, the trip was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Erie
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Taking this high speed ferry boat express to St. Bart's is roughly one-third the cost of flying there ($70 U.S. vs. $215+ by air), so from that perspective it is a good deal. But, the ride over there has its 'ups and downs' so if you're sensitive to this kind of motion flying may be a better option for you.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel M
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Very smooth trip over & back. Very friendly office and ship staff. Left on time, on time return! Definitely worth the money to take a day trip to St. Barth.

Helpful?
Thank D J
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We took the Pride of St. Barth ferry from St. Maarten to Gustavia. Great ride...very comfortable seats and friendly staff (and free water). Absolutely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Acinonyx60
Carmen F, Front Office Manager at Great Bay Express, responded to this review

Good Day Thank you for your review! & Thank you for choosing Great Bay Express! More 

Marigot, St. Barthelemy
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Very rude and incompetent team. Don't feel safe on board. Take the VOYAGER in Marigot or Oyster Pond instead!!!

Helpful?
Thank iscsxm
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We used the ferry to take a day trip to St Barts. They left a bit late but the ride was smooth and got us there and back in fine fashion.

Helpful?
Thank SUSANCROUCH
Carmen F, Front Office Manager at Great Bay Express, responded to this review

Thanks For Choosing Great Bay Express! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This ferry service is the absolute worst. They are rude, shady and incompetent people that run this service. Both the front desk employee, Janice and the owner, Gorge are extremely rude and they DO NOT CARE about their customers. They have no tact or customer service skills and will screw you out of your money with every excuse in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
Carmen F, Manager at Great Bay Express, responded to this review

Thank You For Initially Choosing Great Bay Express We take our time schedule very serious because of the amount of passengers that depend on us to reach their destination on time. we take pride in helping every passenger in whatever way we can. once again thank you for initially choosing GREAT BAY EXPRESS! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

This is the worst service. I was robbed of my 240 dollars. They provided more excuses than services. They where rude and negative about trying to get a refund. Do not book in advance for it is non refundable if you don't make the hour early time line. They just take the money and more or less just tell you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Waylon R
Carmen F, Manager at Great Bay Express, responded to this review

Thank You For Initially Choosing Great bay Express! More 

Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Made reservations for this ferry on-line and paid at the time of booking. We arrived for the 9:30 ferry at 9:20 and were told that we were too late and would not be allowed on the ferry. The ferry was still there but they would not do anything to allow us on it. We had to wait around to talk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ccdancequeen
Carmen F, Manager at Great Bay Express, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for initially choosing Great bay Express as your ferry provider from St Maarten to St Barths. Check-In procedures for our ferry departures our clearly stated on our website on our Terms and Conditions, it reads; " Important Notice: YOU MUST BE AT THE CHECK-IN 45 MINUTES BEFORE THE DEPARTURE TIME YOU HAVE SELECTED. THE CHECK IN... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017

My husband and I took the Great Bay Ferry on January 14, 2017 from St. Maarten to St. Barth. It was a windy day, but otherwise sunny. I asked in the office if the ride would be bumpy, and the young woman there said, "maybe a little choppy." We got out on the open water and it was a NIGHTMARE!!... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lgweiss
Carmen F, Manager at Great Bay Express, responded to this review

Good Day First i would like to thank you for initially choosing Great Bay Express for your trip from St Maarten to St Barths! i would like to apologize on behalf of mother nature for the rough seas, however it is not something we can control. Maybe you will be back sometime when the seas are calm and experience what... More 

Travellers who viewed Great Bay Express also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Great Bay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Great Bay Express and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Great Bay Express staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?