We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caneel Bay Beach

Route 20 North Shore Road | Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort, Caneel Bay 00831, St. John
Save
Review Highlights
Resort

You enter this beach either by the resort or by sea. The resort charges a small fee for daily... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
turfterror
,
Clarkston, Michigan
OK if you are a guest at Caneel

It can be a little snooty here if youre not a guest of the resort, and the food and drink prices... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ngn1958
,
Denver, Colorado
Read all 154 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Route 20 North Shore Road | Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort, Caneel Bay 00831, St. John
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You enter this beach either by the resort or by sea. The resort charges a small fee for daily parking with all the facility's included, also a couple very nice restaurants

Thank turfterror
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It can be a little snooty here if youre not a guest of the resort, and the food and drink prices are quite high. I'm not one to pay for my beach time, so we avoid this one.

Thank ngn1958
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning vistas. Sparsely populated and pristine. Some of the bluest water anywhere . Secluded and service par excellence unlike the restaurant uphill.

Thank enam63
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't swim here, but restaurant serving breakfast overlooks the beach. Ferry to and from St. Thomas docks here. Kayaks and snorkel equipment can be obtained here and kept for the duration of your stay. This beach is mostly used by families with young children.

Thank dpm3356
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We did a day trip to Caneel Bay Beach and Honeymoon bay (10 minutes walk apart). The cost of $20 to part might put people off, but I highly recommend it. Firstly you get the money back if you spend anything at the resort. So...More

Thank Kiwiboy4921
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Caneel Bay Beach is the beach you see if you are coming in to Caneel as a guest on their "ferry" boat. It is also the only beach you can be on if you are visiting for the day. The water is pretty, there are...More

Thank Christopher P
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Caneel Bay allows the public access to a beach ( not the same beach for the guests staying at the resort, however). For $20 you can park and walk on an 8 minute trail to a small beach. Beware: the snorkeling ships dock in the...More

Thank ReviewingQueen
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying that Caneel Bay is a lovely beach, as most beaches on St. John are. We visited twice as a day visitor, a $20 per car fee, as we were not guests of the resort. We stayed in a lovely villa...More

3  Thank Mandemhamm
Reviewed 23 June 2017

The public can use this beach, have lunch in the cafe, or drinks at the bar. But only registered guests can use the chairs and water toys. Definitely worth a visit around sunset. Lovely views from here to St. Thomas.

Thank Katie F
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited Honeymoon Beach while visiting St John on our honeymoon 😍 It was a beautiful place to spend the day if you're up for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. We brought our snorkel gear and were pretty disappointed with the lack...More

Thank Taylor P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill
1,810 reviews
.16 km away
Our Market Smoothies
560 reviews
1.49 km away
Caneel Beach Bar And Grill
390 reviews
.02 km away
North Shore Deli
316 reviews
1.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Morningstar Sailing and Power Charters
873 reviews
.62 km away
Honeymoon Beach
677 reviews
.47 km away
Scott Beach
186 reviews
1.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MoMc
23 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Emmaling | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I am not sure we like to lay in the sand. However, we did not stay at Caneel just had lunch and went swimming. I would think you will have to pay for chairs if you are not a guest. Call and ask they will let you know... More
0
Votes