We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.25*
and up
Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver
More Info
US$51.25*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Hour Cozumel Sightseeing with Private Driver and Tequila Tasting
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“nice beach” (50 reviews)
“beach club” (44 reviews)
“fish” (77 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

For many years Playa Palancar was our go to beach. We decided to give it a try again. We were surprised that they were now charging $10.00 for an umbrella. There only seemed to b 2 or 3 waiters for the entire beach. They used...More

Thank DebJ14
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were thinking of going to a different resort, but our private tour driver (toursplaza) suggested this would be better for our family (with little kids). It was also suggested because there wasn't an entrance fee. This worked out great since we were only staying...More

Thank Millers1982
Reviewed 6 days ago

Great beach, cold drinks. Also peacocks and a racoon! Easy access to the ocean, lots of seating. Good service.

Thank Mary K
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Drove to Palancar beach and was deeply disappointed. How many beach chairs can be crammed into a tiny space? Aside from the fun in spotting the resident crocodile in the car park pond, there was little to keep us there. Far too many people, and...More

Thank Haywood_Callow
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was good. The beach was not as rocky as others. The food was good and the service was excellent. Get there early so you can get comfortable beach chairs because it does get pretty busy. I enjoyed my time here and would definitely...More

Thank Ryguy2779
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of 4 visited off of a cruise ship. Taxi was $25. Taxi driver tried to convince us to stop at another beach by saying this place was too far and we wouldn’t be able to get a taxi back. Not the case at...More

Thank CJT1997
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Supposed to be free, but the snorkling vendor charged us $40 beach fee. Overcrowded. Boat to reef was great. Make sure you get life jackets for snorkling. If they say 2 hr. it means 1.5 trip, including the boat ride. Cabbies will also try to...More

Thank frank316212
playapalancarcozumel, Gerente at Playa Palancar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. Thanks for your comment. the general management will have knowledge of this comment. this will help improve our service regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Read great reviews about this beach but the beach itself is just ok. Small, no much sand and rocky for most part. I heard snorkeling is amazing but I didn’t go because it was kind of cold. The bar at beach is great. Good service,...More

Thank Thatblue25
playapalancarcozumel, Gerente at Playa Palancar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. thank you for your comments. this will help improve our service the north we had in November and December affected the beach. It is usually full of sand. Greetings.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stopped here on our cruise and wanted a relaxing day on the beach. That's just what we got. We grabbed a taxi from the cruise terminal and paid $50(!!!) round trip. We arrived at Playa Palancar and there was almost no...More

3  Thank Jessica S
playapalancarcozumel, Gerente at Playa Palancar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thanks for your comment which will serve us to improve our service. and our areas. Greetings

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Crystal clear water, like glass. We snorkeled a lot and this was one of our favs. The water was so clear all the way to the bottom that it was unbelievable. We paid about $10 for two lounge chairs in a quiet area, where they...More

3  Thank WorldTraveler38
playapalancarcozumel, Gerente at Playa Palancar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. thank you for your comments. the nortes that we had in November and December affected the beach a bit. It is usually full of sand. Greetings.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 53 hotels in Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
5,117 reviews
1.73 km away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
338 reviews
2.48 km away
Occidental Cozumel
5,021 reviews
2.50 km away
Allegro Cozumel
4,717 reviews
3.07 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Alberto's Beach Bar & Restaurant
1,311 reviews
1.92 km away
Carlos'n Charlie's Beach Club
183 reviews
5.32 km away
Paradise Beach
289 reviews
5.15 km away
Nachi-Cocom Beach Club
140 reviews
3.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Palancar Reef
3,327 reviews
.39 km away
Mr Sanchos Beach Club Cozumel
5,188 reviews
3.97 km away
Columbia Reef
947 reviews
3.79 km away
Paradise Beach
2,935 reviews
5.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
madcity2013
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from playapalancarcozumel | Property representative |
Hi. yes. we have hair trensa and massages we also have snorkel and boat diving we wait for you
0
Votes
Google Translation
jenniferatkinson2017
27 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from janetl122017 | Reviewed this property |
I’d say 15/20 minutes and yes- we took a taxi there and back to the ferry.
1
Vote
Brenda K
30 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from playapalancarcozumel | Property representative |
Hi. if we have all day taxis at the entrance. waiting for the customers to leave. the cost is between 20 and 30 usd for a taxi for 4 people. Greetings. Ivan
1
Vote
Google Translation