We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holtz Spa

Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 135 Rideau St | 2nd Floor, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5X4, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 613-241-7770
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Fri 09:00 - 20:00
Sat - Tue 09:00 - 18:00
Description:

Holtz Spa is Ottawa's largest full service day spa and offers a welcomed...

Holtz Spa is Ottawa's largest full service day spa and offers a welcomed respite from Ottawa's busy downtown. Just steps away from Parliament Hill and all the major attractions, you will find an oasis of calm, where highly trained professionals offer a wide range of holistic treatments to balance, relax and rejuvenate. Massage Therapy and Bodywork, Advanced Skincare, Esthetics, a full service Hair Salon and on-site gourmet food services, create the perfect spa getaway destination for just one service or an entire day. Ask about our Couples Hotel & Spa Packages when planning your next visit to Ottawa.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 144 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 25
    Terrible
If only there was a 3-hr option!

I suffer from a lot of spine/leg/muscle issues compounded by a form of cancer which comes with it's own bag of fun. The result of these complications is that I suffer from a lot... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Jeff P
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I suffer from a lot of spine/leg/muscle issues compounded by a form of cancer which comes with it's own bag of fun. The result of these complications is that I suffer from a lot of back and leg pain. A friend booked me a massage with Christine Lavoie and I was hooked. That was four months ago and I go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
Kemptville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been a client of Holtz Spa in Ottawa for a number of years and am always incredibly satisfied with the excellent service that I receive. From the moment I am greeted by the friendly ladies at the reception to the conclusion of my treatment or service, the atmosphere is refined and professional. My favourite estheticians are: Joelene for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margret_Norenberg
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

My fiancé took us for a "couples pedicure" yesterday and we left feeling disappointed and ripped off. We went in to the pedicure room at the same time, and both started off with a foot soak. One of the ladies started on my hubby's pedicure, she was very nice and seemed to be one of the more professional employees there.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wineanddine19
Christine O, Manager at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit with us. Thank you for your comments as we appreciate all feedback in order to improve our services. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and it seems you were let down in some areas. You pedicures certainly should have been to your satisfaction. I would... More 

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I've been going to Holtz for many years for massage treatments. The staff have always been super friendly and attentive. One therapist in particular, Christine, has been amazing for getting all the kinks and pain out. If you have any kind of sports or medical injury, I would definitely recommend her. I always feel like a million bucks afterwards. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesPritzy
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Let me warn you firstly that tips are "cash only" something you only find out when you go to pay. Of course they have a handy ABM machine right there that charges a hefty premium that I'm sure goes right to the owner's pocket. The woman taking payment was unapologetic and cold when I suggested they should inform people before... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mkjoss
Christine O, Owner at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvenience you experience on your last visit with us. We have recently moved to our new location at 135 Rideau, which is one block east of our old location still on the North side of the street across from Rideau Centre. I appreciate your comment regarding advising clients of the "cash only" policy for gratuities and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I'm not sure why this place is rated second best spa in Ottawa. It most definitely is not. It's attached to a hair salon and feels more like an after thought than a relaxing experience. It was difficult to locate in the first place (temporary signage may be the reason for that) and when we got there we were sadly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMums
Christine O, Owner at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience at Holtz Spa. Yes we have moved as a result of the sinkhole on Rideau Street. We have received very positive feedback from our clients who love the new spa, very comfortable and more modern. For all clients receiving two or more services Robes should be automatically offered. Robes are always... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The Holtz supreme day at the Spa is an incredibly relaxing and beneficial experience! My facial was one of my favorites, so relaxing and my skin looks much more radiant and hydrated. All the services were beautifully done with thoughtful intellect experts. I also had a separate hair appointment the same week with Grace, referred to me by staff. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I hadn't been to Holtz Spa since the spring and so when I went on the 4th November I was pleasantly surprised by the new location. They have moved to new digs on Rideau Street as of August 2016. Nice and easy to get to and the massage rooms and pedicure areas are much improved from the old location. everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank PDWilliams
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2016

My second time at Holtz Spa for a massages. For the first time, I had a sport massage which was excellent for recovery after a half marathon few days earlier. This time I had an hour regular massage and got an half hour complimentary reflexology! Both are great! Staffs at the reception desk are all nice and friendly. I would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mamiko2016
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Agains't my better judgement I decided to return to Holtz Spa. Don't be fooled they aren't closed, just relocated. Doesn't really matter though since it's still a horrible place to go. Running from their Trip Advisor review history it seems since on here it says closed. Massage was actually ok however the environment is the loudest and most non relaxing... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Shane P

Travellers who viewed Holtz Spa also viewed

 

Been to Holtz Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holtz Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?