We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbour Hippo

Lower Prince St. Wharf, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
+1 902-628-8687
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Paige is a great tour guide!

When our friends were visiting recently, they really wanted to go on the Harbour Hippo. They... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
RoseandMikePEI
,
Charlottetown, Canada
Great your!

We were a group of 6 adults and two babies and we really enjoyed this tour. It was just under an... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Melissa J
,
Orillia, Canada
via mobile
Read all 135 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“captain tom” (6 reviews)
“land and sea” (5 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Lower Prince St. Wharf, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 902-628-8687
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

When our friends were visiting recently, they really wanted to go on the Harbour Hippo. They enjoyed the Hippo the last time they were on the Island so it was a "must do" this time as well. It is a one-hour tour of Charlottetown. The...More

Thank RoseandMikePEI
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were a group of 6 adults and two babies and we really enjoyed this tour. It was just under an hour, which we found was perfect for our young ones. We drove through downtown Charlottetown, and then went into the water with the same...More

Thank Melissa J
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took the Harbour Hippo Amphibious Tour in Charlottetown, (on my recommendation, having previously taken the Harbour Hopper in Halifax, which I thought was very informative and interesting). We were pretty disappointed in the Charlottetown tour, as it consisted mainly of "advertising" for the restaurants,...More

Thank BCTraveller89
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi BCTraveller, I'm very sorry to hear that you did not like the tour. We try to keep our tours a 50/50 split between history and current events (AKA Pubs, Restaurants, Shops, Events). We believe that the price is very competitive considering this is the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Charlottetown for the 1st time and wanted to visit the area to get the lay of the land by tour. We chose Harbour Hippo and their amphibious vehicle to go around the old town on the 1st of July. The tour guide...More

Thank nancypkr
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your great review. Best Wishes, Michael Gass

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took the amphibious bus tour. Thanks to our tour guide, Mike, we had an awesome tour. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Charrelottetown and had good suggestions for activities and dining. Mike also took the time to personally visit every guest to...More

Thank michaelmL3464ST
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Michael, Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the tour with me. I hope the rest of your time in Charlottetown was as spectacular as your tour. Warm Regards, Michael Gass Harbour Hippo Management

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly staff, very informative. Good way to send an hour in Charlottetown. Would recommend to friends.

1  Thank MattPQuinlan
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Matt, I'm glad you enjoyed the tour! Have a splashing day, Michael Gass Harbour Hippo Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The harbour hippo was out of service the day we were in Charlottetown so we did the Hippopotabus...we all thought it was disappointing. We had hoped to see and hear some history but instead we saw restaurants and hotels, good if you are staying there...More

Thank Debby R
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Debby, I am very sorry you did not enjoy the tour. We try to keep our tours a 50/50 split of history and current events (including restaurants, shops, hotels etc.) We also try to personalize our tours, hence why guides mention things like favourite...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have always wanted to do the Harbour Hopper in Halifax but have never gotten around to it. We saw the Harbour Hippo in Charlottetown and decided why not do it there. The guide, Maddie, was great. Very knowledgeable about the area and came around...More

3  Thank nslisa
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're very pleased that you had a good time aboard and that you had a fun time with Maddy! Enjoy the rest of your vacation, Michael Gass Harbour Hippo Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The harbour hippo is an awesome thing to do when on P.E.I. First, it acts as a bus and you have a tour of charlottown.... They explain historic buildings and their stories, and you even learn about the building where confederation happened! Then, the driver...More

1  Thank Dachshundgal
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of the Harbour Hippo. We agree that rain tours have their perks! Sincerely, Michael Gass Harbour Hippo Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basically they bring you in a few mile loop and give you some highlights of the area mostly historic. Then the shameless plugs pour on for the stores you are passing every one is as good as the last . . . .they ALL can't...More

Thank cmondaro
MichaelGass, Manager at Harbour Hippo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Cmondaro, We're sorry you didn't enjoy the tour. We are very pleased however to let you know that none of our tour guides are paid in any way by any businesses in the city. All the restaurants/stores that tour guides "shamelessly plug" are completely...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Leonhard's Cafe & Restaurant
462 reviews
.21 km away
Hopyard
154 reviews
.24 km away
Hunter's Ale House
344 reviews
.22 km away
Row House Steak & Lobster
393 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Confederation Centre of the Arts
835 reviews
.25 km away
St. Dunstan's Basilica
554 reviews
.21 km away
Victoria Row
334 reviews
.28 km away
Province House National Historic Site of Canada
277 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Grace S
20 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Kelly E | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Grace I just saw your message now.... Adults are $26, children 5-12 yrs $19 & 4 yrs & younger $5.00. A family of 4 - 2 adults & 2 children $75.00. Hope this helps
1
Vote