We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matsamo Cultural Village

Jeppe's Reef - Border Post, Jeppe's Reef, South Africa
+27 13 781 0578
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing vocals

There is some real talent there. Very good performance of song and dance by the Matsamo Cultural... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Emma L
via mobile
Info on Swazi Living if you are on limited time

Matsamo village gives the visitor a glimpse of traditional Swazi living styles from the days before... read more

Reviewed 12 May 2017
Sanambozi
Read all 39 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good41%
  • Average5%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Jeppe's Reef - Border Post, Jeppe's Reef, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 13 781 0578
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is some real talent there. Very good performance of song and dance by the Matsamo Cultural Group. Their CD/DVD recordings are available for purchase following the performance.

Thank Emma L
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Matsamo village gives the visitor a glimpse of traditional Swazi living styles from the days before the Western influences started to play a part in daily life. The show village is built according to traditional uses and traditional values. It gives the visitor a brief...More

Thank Sanambozi
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

The reviews were spot on. A great experience. The show put on by the locals was wonderful and great to watch. Most of our group was in shock at the quality of the show and the entire village. We took in the show, had a...More

Thank Terry P
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We had lunch at the cultural village and toured the huts of the village. This was ok, but the real highlight is the singing and dancing of the Swazis. Now this was what made the visit well worth it. You gather under a large (Acacia?)...More

Thank Ernjack1972
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

We had no idea what to expect. Certainly not the world class choir and dancers that we were privileged to hear - all in the bush and with amazing acoustics. Serious goosebumps when they sang. You MUST stop before going on in to Swaziland. This...More

Thank amigolucy
Reviewed 20 March 2017

M'y best recommandation if you are in the south KNP area. Super spectacle and nice lunch buffet. If you like music ethnic song, this is a must visite.

Thank M O
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We started our visit at the Cultural Village with a buffet luncheon which I enjoyed as it was representaive of the Swazi food. We then headed to the show where we sat on stools and watched a large group of Swazi dance and sing for...More

Thank tlynn63
Reviewed 8 January 2017

i have travelled this area lots of time never went there . i am now sold on the place great cultural show lovely singing and dancing . Food was really nice and reasonable price . what a nice way to cross borders

1  Thank mashesha
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Surprisingly enjoyable. The village is constructed to replicate a Swazi Village. The most enjoyable part of the visit was the performance of the singers and dancers. Their costumes were very colorful and their singing and dancing was very enjoyable

Thank Heb2013
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel we stayed in recommended this to us, but charged quite a lot, so we decided to do it ourselves. It was not difficult to find (right on the border to Swaziland) and they were very flexible. We got there at 11.30 and there...More

Thank Philip D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Hamilton’s Restaurant
171 reviews
33.21 km away
Restaurant josephine's
110 reviews
41.96 km away
Jabula Lodge
85 reviews
50.42 km away
Orange Restaurant
437 reviews
56.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kruger National Park
2,183 reviews
32.82 km away
Leopard Creek Country Club
17 reviews
35.07 km away
Barberton Makhonjwa Geotrail
36 reviews
44.48 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Hendrien1
telephone number does not exist & I urgently needs to make a reservation for lunch for tomorrow!!!!
25 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Hendrien1 |
please give me the correct tel number URGENTLY
0
Votes
Welsh_Bev
Hi We are thinking about going to matsamo, but are not part of a bigger tour company. Where can I find out more information. The website link doesn't work. Do I need to book? How much is the entrance fee? What time does it open? When are the performances? Thanks all, B
3 May 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Welsh_Bev |
We never got there in the end. Our journey from Kruger took a long time but we hadn't factored in the hour we would need to cross the boarder into Swaziland.
0
Votes