We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodgers Fishing Lodge

Features Animals
| Port Eliza Inlet, Tahsis, British Columbia, Canada
+1 800-429-5288
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Dishonest Company. Overcharged cc & Never Issued a Refund

On June 11, 2017 I received one of their email promotions offering a 4N 5D combo fishing package... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
zee777104
,
Los Angeles, California
They have stolen our deposit and payment

We paid $2415 for a fishing trip scheduled for August 1, 2, and 3rd. On July 27th Doug Cancelled... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Del J
,
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Read all 215 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Specialty Lodging in Tahsis
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“halibut” (102 reviews)
“catch fish” (21 reviews)
“rock fish” (13 reviews)
LOCATION
| Port Eliza Inlet, Tahsis, British Columbia, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 800-429-5288

Similar Things to Do in Tahsis

Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On June 11, 2017 I received one of their email promotions offering a 4N 5D combo fishing package for "$2175 + 5% tax pp for party of 3". It also stated "Your round trip airfare from either SEATTLE WASHINGTON OR VANCOUVER BC is included in...More

Thank zee777104
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am very sorry for the mix up with your billing and I hope by now that it has been resolved? We had some tough decisions to make in August for several reasons. The forest fires in central BC and the impact that these fires...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid $2415 for a fishing trip scheduled for August 1, 2, and 3rd. On July 27th Doug Cancelled the trip. I have asked for a refund which he promised. It is now 30 days after the scheduled trip and he has not refunded the...More

1  Thank Del J
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately, we were suddenly forced to close our business for the season on August 13th because of the negative impact that the many forest fires in the Province were having on our business. We had many of our charter float plane flights either delayed or...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We booked a trip Aug 20-24th this year. August 6th I was charged $7100 when I was quoted $3000 per person (2 people) On August 9th I receive an email the trip is being cancelled due to wild fires and being under a state of...More

5  Thank Rainey S
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We have had many emails back and forth on this. I have tried to explain that the forest fires were having such a negative impact on our business that we felt that it was in the best interest of our clients and our staff to...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

This was our (my wife and I) …… 7th consecutive year and is now our ‘custom’ to book our trip for next year before we depart. This was our best trip of the 7 years and we would attribute this to the fact we booked...More

1  Thank mjlarson
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Easy to understand that weather can effect fishing but that was not the problem here. The boats were in terrible shape, filthy and breaking down daily. From leaking gas tanks, bilge pumps not working, failing motors and broken down riggers. No working heads on the...More

6  Thank m h
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Have been going to Rodgers Fishing Lodge for over 30 years. We have only missed a few of those years due to other commitments. We always come back with our limit of Halibut and Salmon with a few Ling Cod and Rock Cod thrown in....More

Thank PAUL H
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thanks for your review Paul. Hard to believe that 30 plus years have passed since you started fishing with us? Who can forget all of the good times that we have had over the years? The members of the famous Whoppers Fishing Club have certainly...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

This was our 3rd time to Rodgers. My wife and I traveled from Kelowna BC via the drive in route to Rodgers. Terrific scenery. Although our trip started off with a couple of hiccups Lodge Manager Michelle worked very hard to rectify our concerns. Michelle...More

Thank Gary T
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Our business is only as good as the people that are running it and like most businesses nowadays, it is an ongoing challenge to find good people. Being in such a remote location makes it even more difficult to attract qualified and professional managers, guides,...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a fabulous trip. The food was excellent as was the fishing. It's located in a very beautiful and remote part of the world, and is very well run by Michelle.More

Thank Erik S
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Glad to hear that you and your crew had a fabulous trip. Neil has been cooking up a storm for us again this season to rave reviews. We do have an excellent GM in Michelle and she is working very hard to try and make...More

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Had a very good trip and caught a number of fish even though the weather was less than perfect. The captains of the boats and the boats themselves were great and can definitely handle the big water. Michelle and her lodge stage were great and...More

Thank Marjorie G
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

We all hope that the weather will settle down and that a summer long high pressure area will be over us soon. Our business is like trying to run 5 or 6 businesses in one and it takes an exceptional person like Michelle to keep...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

We had a tremendous vacation from June 2-6, 2017 at Rodgers Fishing Lodge! The staff, especially, Michelle, the general manager, were superb! The rooms were clean and made up daily. The food, prepared by Neil, was delicious. We caught halibut, ling cod, salmon and rock...More

Thank 741francines
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you Robert and Francine for your thoughtful review. It is a very long way from Florida to Rodgers. We also feel that Michelle is a jewel and she adds a whole new dimension to our business. She has probably spent more time fishing our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ridge Roadhouse
48 reviews
70.06 km away
Killer Whale Cafe
214 reviews
74.75 km away
Duchess' Bannock and Desserts
52 reviews
77.86 km away
Clayworks Cafe
30 reviews
69.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reel Obsession Fishing Lodge Vancouver Island
33 reviews
15.91 km away
JC Pacific Charters
10 reviews
68.76 km away
Get West Day Adventure Cruises
237 reviews
70.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Del J
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from PAUL H | Reviewed this property |
If Doug canceled your trip you are certainly entitled to a refund and possibly other things that you prepaid. I know Doug's policy is "no refunds" but he will credit you in full for another trip. Why would he cancel your... More
1
Vote
Deborah D
3 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Del J | Reviewed this property |
Deb- Rogers charged myself and another client....total almost $10,000 USD. He canceled trips on both of us and will not refund the money. Do not deposit money with this business
2
Votes