We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tate Gallery St. Ives

Porthmeor Beach | Porthmeor Beach, St Ives TR26 1TG, England
+44 1736 796226
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Really disappointed

Having visited the gallery a few years back and seeing a great range of Hepworth sculptures I was... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Spaceman-jam
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Pay attention to trip adviser first

Our own naivety mirrored the skill in this exhibition. Compared to the (free) south bank Tate... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Ellie S
via mobile
Read all 1,340 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tate St Ives will be closed until Friday 31st March 2017. The refurbishment of the existing Tate St Ives building has proved more complex than anticipated. After careful consideration we have decided to continue the building work through the year and we will reopen the refurbished Tate St Ives in March 2017. We will continue work on the new galleries and building over the summer 2017. The fully completed new Tate St Ives, encompassing the existing building and the extension, will open in autumn 2017. The planned exhibition season for summer 2016, The Studio and The Sea will open to the public on Friday 31 March 2017.
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good18%
  • Average21%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible24%
Travellers talk about
“top floor” (48 reviews)
“art pass” (14 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Porthmeor Beach | Porthmeor Beach, St Ives TR26 1TG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1736 796226
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Having visited the gallery a few years back and seeing a great range of Hepworth sculptures I was really looking forward to returning. First off this is the only Tate gallery where you have to pay to get in. This was annoying as all art...More

1  Thank Spaceman-jam
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Our own naivety mirrored the skill in this exhibition. Compared to the (free) south bank Tate modern, what were we thinking?The curators have maybe taken more inspiration from the recent refurbishment of their cafe and accumulated dust sheets and trays of rubble, rather than 'actual'...More

2  Thank Ellie S
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We went to Tate St Ives some years ago and thought it was bad then. However, rainy day so we have it another chance. Unbelievable, even worse than the earlier visit. Once beyond the small collection of Leach and Hamada pottery, we were able to...More

1  Thank Nigel S
Reviewed 3 days ago

What was disappointing was that there is an entrance fee to the art gallery. Having been to Tate Britain, Tate Modern and Tate Liverpool within the past 6 months which are all free (apart from certain events) this was a real shock particularly given the...More

1  Thank SAK2012_12
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

For what this could be it was a little disappointing. Kids had fun doing the art hunt and making their own plasticine models.

1  Thank Ash2212
Reviewed 6 days ago

I Spent an afternoon at the Tate and I must say i was a little disappointed. Maybe the exhibition wasn't to my liking. The staff were friendly. We went to the cafe for a drink and found the service pretty nonexistent. We waited a long...More

1  Thank ColinJBloomer
Reviewed 6 days ago

It is an iconic building and they don't have a permanent exhibition but rather circulate the exhibitions - the one on this month, August 2017, was underwhelming, but a lovely space and good to escape from the heaving beach for a while and need an...More

1  Thank Marcus W
TateStIves, Visitor Experience Manager at Tate Gallery St. Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your visit to the gallery. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the current exhibition. On October the 14th 2017 we open our new extension which will nearly double the size of the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We drove down from Devon to see the current exhibition at the St Ives Tate. We'd booked by phone beforehand. Parking was a problem we had to park in a Rugby Club car park some way off. It was also difficult to collect our tickets...More

1  Thank MatthewHelbert
TateStIves, Visitor Experience Manager at Tate Gallery St. Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the exhibition and apologise for the confusion you experienced at reception. I assure you I will investigate the matter further and make sure all staff are fully up...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only had cake, wine and coffee but everything was lovely. The choices are quite limited but the views, if you can get a seat near a window, are great.

Thank Anne B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not simply a tourist trap, Tate St Ives is a more complex illusion. If you'd travelled to view Lanyon, Hilton, Heron, Nicholson, blink again. The building looks as if it houses the appex of Cornish modernism, the trendy tills near the well crafted graphics all...More

3  Thank Tim B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cellar Bistro
516 reviews
.17 km away
Porthmeor Beach Cafe
2,016 reviews
.11 km away
The Digey Food Room
215 reviews
.16 km away
Firehouse Bar and Grill
1,348 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Porthmeor Beach
933 reviews
.09 km away
Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden
1,063 reviews
.17 km away
St Ives Bay
148 reviews
.24 km away
The Penwith Gallery
45 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tate Gallery St. Ives staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit