We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery - CLOSED

| Drake Circus, Plymouth PL4 8AJ, England
+44 1752 304774
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
It's closed till 2020

The Museum is now closed for a major restructuring that will take a few years. There are supposed... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2016
UnfortunateFursey
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Surprisingly interesting

Popped in one day because it was raining. Didn't expect much but we were very pleasantly... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2016
Elaine S
,
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Read all 120 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are currently closed for the major redevelopment of the Plymouth History Centre (working title) which is set to open in spring 2020. In the meantime we are offering a 'Museum On Tour' programme which includes a range of partnership exhibitions, events and community projects in venues/locations across Plymouth and beyond.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good42%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“all ages” (5 reviews)
“city centre” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
| Drake Circus, Plymouth PL4 8AJ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1752 304774
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2016

The Museum is now closed for a major restructuring that will take a few years. There are supposed to be some pop-up events during this time but I couldn't see much listed when I looked on the web. This is disappointing when you consider the...More

Thank UnfortunateFursey
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Many thanks for your feedback. All our 'Museum On Tour' events are listed in the what's on section of our website. We also have a Collections On Tour page on the site which highlights where you can see loan items while our building is closed....More

Reviewed 2 September 2016

Popped in one day because it was raining. Didn't expect much but we were very pleasantly surprised. Lots of different exhibitions, so something for everyone.

1  Thank Elaine S
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Many thanks for your positive feedback about your visit to the City Museum and Art Gallery! Best wishes.

Reviewed 31 August 2016

The M & AG has been running down for months. Things being packed away over time. Now the premises are shutting for gargantuan works on a new complex intended to incorporate the various collections and lots more including local records and features we can't dream...More

Thank Jannerbloke
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Many thanks for your feedback about the Museum and Art Gallery and its closure for the development of the History Centre. There are lots of ways you can stay up to date with details of our 'Museum On Tour' programme and information about all our...More

Reviewed 28 August 2016

I was looking forward to taking my kids i used to love it when i was a child. This time the visit was very disappointing most of the displays where empty due to the museum closing soon. Kids got bored very quickly we where in...More

1  Thank Leanne H
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Many thanks for your feedback about the Museum and Art Gallery. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed but hope you will join us for some of our offsite activities while we are closed and return when we re-open as part of the...More

Reviewed 13 August 2016

Walked a LONG way through Plymouth to see this. Its not well signed, I hope the signs are better for the new location. Its closed on Mondays!

1  Thank john e
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent visit to the City Museum and Art Gallery. Best wishes.

Reviewed 10 August 2016

If you are looking for somewhere to go in the City centre that is away from the hustle and bustle of the shoppers, then this is one way to spend a few hours. For those that want to know more about Plymouth and its history,...More

1  Thank Chauffeur2015
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thanks very much for your positive review of the City Museum and Art Gallery. Best wishes.

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We decided to take children aged between 4 and 10 and it was fairly interesting. Didnt do a "whole tour" as would have took too long.

1  Thank Lana B
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you for your positive review of the City Museum and Art Gallery. We're glad to hear that you and your children enjoyed your visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 27 July 2016

A good selection of antiquities from all over the world as well as some interesting stuff about Plymouths history

1  Thank charlotte4530
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thanks very much for your positive review of the City Museum and Art Gallery. Best wishes.

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Great stuff! Lots of different things to look out and for children to interact with. love the art gallery as well

1  Thank rosieplews91198
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you very much for such a positive review of the City Museum and Art Gallery. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 23 June 2016

An interesting place to spend a couple of hours, free to enter and over different rooms on different floors interesting artefacts to explore. I had never heard of plymouth pottery before my visit [ sorry for my ignorance] ,but i certainly do now some on...More

1  Thank sue a
Joanne C, Public Relations Manager at Plymouth City Museum and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thanks very much for your positive feedback about the Museum and Art Gallery. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Best wishes.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Umami Ramen Bar and Restaurant ltd
76 reviews
.08 km away
Mr Wok Thai Noodle Bar
299 reviews
.09 km away
PL4
33 reviews
.08 km away
Mrs Browns
24 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Drake Circus Shopping Centre
152 reviews
.23 km away
Peninsula Arts Gallery
16 reviews
.00 km away
Plymouth Methodist Central Hall
9 reviews
.17 km away
PL4
32 reviews
.09 km away