We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Reef Aquarium

#40 of 127 things to do in Portsmouth Features Animals
Clarence Esplanade, Portsmouth PO5 3PB, England
+44 23 9287 5222
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great until you use the gift shop

We had our grandchildren 3 & 5 stay with us and as we used to take our own children here when it... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Ken J
,
West Molesey, United Kingdom
via mobile
Interesting range of species

We enjoyed our trip to blue reef Aquarium but were glad we had found online discount vouchers to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ReviewerEm
Read all 510 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Take the ultimate undersea safari at the Blue Reef Aquarium in Portsmouth. Enjoy close encounters with everything from tropical sharks to fascinating frogs and adorable otters!
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good21%
  • Average36%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Clarence Esplanade, Portsmouth PO5 3PB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 9287 5222
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had our grandchildren 3 & 5 stay with us and as we used to take our own children here when it was Sea Life we decided to have a day out in Southsea, an area I grew up in as a child and teenager....More

Thank Ken J
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our trip to blue reef Aquarium but were glad we had found online discount vouchers to reduce the ticket costs. We found the two young women on the desk not particularly friendly or helpful. However, the man that did the talk about sharks...More

Thank ReviewerEm
Reviewed 1 week ago

Website makes the whole place look much bigger than it is. Tiny Sharks, about a meter long. Otter's just stayed in their den. Overall took less than 1 hour to walk through stopping to read and explain to the kids what each fish was and...More

Thank dave2allen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought it would be good place to visit on a rainy day. Definitely not worth the money. Very dated and tired. Would not recommend.

Thank Nataliewindle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took our kids here on a rainy day during the holidays looking for somewhere to take them out. Never been before. Wasn't a bad visit overall. The aquarium was bigger then I was expecting. All your typical fish, Open tanks and tunnel to walk...More

Thank ISAACDCRDA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner,10 year-old grandson and I visited this attraction whilst we were staying in Portsmouth. It was fascinating seeing all the different fish but we were very disappointed as everywhere looked very scruffy and not up to the usual standard for this type of establishment.Luckily...More

Thank 428susan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was okay, somewhere to go that's indoors with a 2 year old and great location, right on the seafront. Highlights were the tunnel and the tank with the clownfishes in. However, could desperately use a clean and revamp throughout. Was dark and dank inside. The...More

Thank lucy j
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was quite good. Could be much more fun and interactive. My 6 year old son wasn't impressed . The government should put in to help.

Thank Dutchmaster10
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it was a really awful day weather wise so were better to go than here, its noit big enough for a whole morning/afternoon attraction (unless the weather is good so the kids can play outsidein the play area, but it was great fun and not...More

Thank karenlewis2015
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good day out overall, could have more available attractions. Tanks were unfortunately quite dirty which made it harder to enjoy. Not entirely worth the money as some things weren't available to see and cleanliness wasn't up to standard.

Thank emsworthh
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Soprano's
694 reviews
.47 km away
Montparnasse
407 reviews
.44 km away
The Courtyard
213 reviews
.36 km away
Meat & Barrel
276 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
D-Day Museum
611 reviews
.23 km away
Southsea Castle
471 reviews
.35 km away
Southsea Beach
152 reviews
.33 km away
The Kings Theatre
234 reviews
1.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Claire H
5 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueReefPortsmouth01 | Property representative |
Hi, Yes these answers are all correct, we are wheelchair accessible. The only tank where there are steps is our Stingray tank, however this tank is also accessible from ground level. Thanks Blue Reef Team
0
Votes
chrisc0le
20 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from missnikkikrista | Reviewed this property |
There is a small covered area outside, it's right by the sea so if it windy it can be rather chilly! There is a cafe next door, which i think they own, so they may not be lee on you bringing your own food. However, there are... More
0
Votes