We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Keswick Climbing Wall

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Goosewell Farm, Keswick CA12 4RN, England
Phone Number:
+44 17687 72000
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Thu 09:00 - 21:00
Fri - Mon 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Keswick Climbing Wall and Outdoor Adventure Centre provides activities for...

Keswick Climbing Wall and Outdoor Adventure Centre provides activities for indiviuals, families and groups.

With outdoor activities from £28.00 pp for a 3 hour session, why not try Ghyll Scrambling, Indoor and Outdoor Climbing, High Ropes Course, Canoeing, Kayaking, Archery.

Indoor Climbing and Archery available for all ages as well as outdoor Mini Adventurer fun.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 115 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 89
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Excellent

Fantastic set up, climbing walls are excellent and the instructor Emma was great with my boys. And they let my dog come in as it was raining and she was stuck in the car! Only... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Missy6659
,
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic set up, climbing walls are excellent and the instructor Emma was great with my boys. And they let my dog come in as it was raining and she was stuck in the car! Only complaint was no soya milk in cafe or vegan options but otherwise a great trip 👍

Helpful?
Thank Missy6659
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your kind works. Good to hear that you had such a good time with us - even the dog ! We normally do have soya milk in the cafe, so must have run out when you were last here. Its is definitely there now and we will look into vegan options when working on the... More 

Threlkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a very wet day, Keswick climbing wall is a great place to visit with 3 children aged 5-10. The staff are helpful and friendly. They hire out everything you need and provide instruction and teaching if needed. The picnic area brings your cost down, or if you prefer to eat there, the cafe meets all your needs. 3 hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank catherineapplewhite
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you had such a good time with us and that you are already thinking about coming back ! We have some new activities planned for the coming spring and summer so do keep an eye on our website to see what we are up to. Next time, what... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Fabulous place. Health and safety measures taken very seriously which is great from a parental point of view. Kids loved it and the instructor was great with them. Would well recommend and will definitely be back here when we visit the area again

Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Why Thank You ! Really pleased you had such a good time with us and are already planning to come back. We do take safety very seriously but try to do it in a way that makes each session not only safe but lots of fun too. Looking forward to saying hello again, regards, Debbie and the KCW Staff. More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were in the lakes for our summer holiday and decided to give the climbing wall a go at Keswick as the kids had enjoyed an outdoor mobile wall recently. Myself and my 6 and 9 year old booked on for the 1 hour lesson and belay course. It was something I'd never done before but absolutely loved it and... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris g
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Hello Chris and many thanks for the great review - its much appreciated. I am so pleased you have taken up climbing and as you said, its a great sport and a fun way to do something sporty together. Get the kids on the NICAS scheme - any good wall will run it and that way they will learn with... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The activity we did was great. The female instructor was fantastic with out young people. What let the experience down was the poor service in the Hungry Heifer Cafe. We waited and 1hr 10mins for a cheese and ham toaster amongst other things and when we complain the man was very abrupt and gave various excuses. He offered us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank AColtart
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your frank review. I can only apologise for the delay you experienced in service at The Hungry Heifer. The cafe had only just opened for the first time when you visited and staff were still getting to grips with the running of the service, which turned out to be very busy indeed that day. This... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016

The youngsters (14) went to the climbing wall and had a great time, with supervision from a qualified expert trainer.

Helpful?
Thank jakemcgrattan
keswickwall, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Glad you all had such a good time with us and please do come and visit again soon !! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Around End of July 2016 I and two of my friends went to Newlands Adventure centre in Keswick I wanted to experience something adventure. Being beginner in rock climbing and abseiling I was nervous but with Emma help and guidance I was able to complete. She is an excellent instructor, once you with Emma, you are in good hand she... More 

Helpful?
Thank sar33ta
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Wow, what a lovely review and I will pass your kind word onto Emma - she certainly is a star. We are really pleased you had such a great time with us and do come and try some of our other activities when you feel another adventure coming on !! Regards, Debbie and all at Newlands and Keswick Climbing Wall. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016

Think I left the first review of this place five years ago! First time back in the Lakes and glad to see it is still going strong. We had a 15 minute refresher course, after about 3 minutes I was wishing we had the 1 hour one, but a couple more minutes and it all came back so 15 minutes... More 

Helpful?
Thank tenterman
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Welcome back !! And we hope we see you again sooner than 2021 !! I hope you spotted some of the new activities and facilities we have here and how bright and fresh its all looking - its like the Forth Road Bridge; as you finish the painting, its time to start again !! Looking forward to welcoming you all... More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
429 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2016

This is a very versatile centre that can cater to just about all levels of difficulty. Instructors on hand if you need them. My two daughters started at 3 and reached 5B within one hour with one instructor between them. Good rope skills. Lots of different routes (for each grade) and endless picn-n-mix opportunities. Bouldering walls provide more free-style challenges.

Helpful?
Thank TempleofPeace
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for the great review: its very much appreciated. I hope that you come and visit next time you are in the area and maybe try some of our outdoor exciting activities. If your daughters are keen to carry on climbing, check out your nearest indoor wall and see if they offer the NICAS (National Indoor Climbing... More 

Carlisle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We only found out about this from Rosie (?) doing the climbing wall in the centre of Keswick today. £3.50 per child for outdoor adventure including a zip line, archery, maze, bug hotels, sheep spotting, slides, skittles and more. Its for under 8s too which is nice as I find older kids tend to take over on things like this... More 

Helpful?
Thank GannyMagnus
Rik-Deb, Owner at Keswick Climbing Wall, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for the great review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed Rookery Woods so much - its been incredibly popular and we are expanding it all the time, so next time you come and visit, there should be some new things to try ! Also, next time, our new cafe The Hungry Heifer should be open,... More 

Travellers who viewed Keswick Climbing Wall also viewed

 

Been to Keswick Climbing Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Keswick Climbing Wall staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?