We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Water Rats

328 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8BZ, England
+44 20 7833 3312
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Unbelievably good pricing and service! So much impressed

Me and my mom were randomly looking for dinner at quite a late time and we nearly missed this... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jiaqing L
via mobile
Jobsworth comedy night door girl

Went to The Water Rats for a comedy night last night. It took me an hour to drive there. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
hyperion111977
Read all 151 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
The music club that hosted Bob Dylan in 1963. Live Venue, Gastro Pub, Breakfasts, Real Ales, Comedy Club, Live Bands, Cocktail Bar - Open 8.30am till Midnight 7 days a week - available for private hire and special events
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 00:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
328 Gray's Inn Road | Kings Cross, London WC1X 8BZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7833 3312
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my mom were randomly looking for dinner at quite a late time and we nearly missed this amazing pub before we were invited by the friendly staff to take a look at the menu. The pricing is absolutely unbeatable with such large portions...More

1  Thank Jiaqing L
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for coming here to write your glowing review, your comments about the service will definately be passed onto the staff, it is so nice to read that they are appreciated by our visiting customers who also go on to recommend us so highly...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to The Water Rats for a comedy night last night. It took me an hour to drive there. The comedy room is at the back of the main room with a door separating the two. When I walked into the main room there were...More

1  Thank hyperion111977
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You review although under the title of The Water Rats actually describes events that we cannot actually have control over, the traffic and the time it took to drive to the venue is beyond our control - the doors opening at 8.45pm is the opening...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good service and excellent food. Prices which, considering that it is London, are very fair and you certainly get more than you pay for. Would certainly recommend to anyone in the area!More

Thank Callum W
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your glowing recommendation, it is always a delight to read such positive reviews, your ''very good service'' and ''excellent food'' comments will be passed onto the staff - pricing - we hope to continue to be very competitive for a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in on the off chance on a Sunday afternoon to enquire wether they had a vegetarian Sunday roast option. Informed there was nut roast on the menu but told to allow 30 minutes for its preparation. Agreed to return in 30 minutes yet when...More

1  Thank Charles B
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It is with great disappointment that we read your very negative review of us here at The Water Rats, despite you leaving our premises without paying a penny (which you admit in your review) for any aspect of the service, produce or attention that you...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

Plenty of live music with great staff and a good range of beers. Also ate breakfast here the next morning. Full English was £10 but as I was staying in the hotel next door I got a 50% discount. Well worth a visit.More

Thank DN918
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and your recommendation, it is always most encouraging to read the staff are 'great' and your comment will be passed onto them - our beers and real ales are a favourite with many regulars and those just popping in whilst...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017

Point A Hotel recommended this place for breakfast. We almost did not go because it was a pub. Glad we went. Food and staff are great. And it has a long and storied history from Charlie Chaplin to Katy Perry...More

Thank Jim R
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your review correctly states that we have a long and varied history, we can tell you were observant and looked at the wall of fame wall whilst you visited us Katy Perry appeared here very recently going back to her roots of the first appearance...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Went to see Chris Shiflett (Foo Fighters) and Sam Palladio (of Nashville fame), on a particularly warm evening. Consequently the back music room was a little toasty to say the least. No gluten free beer options unfortunately so had to have a cider instead. Gig...More

Thank Rich B
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Chris Shiflett was a popular audience choice and well attended, this may of added to the warmth in the room along with the extremely hot weather outside during that event - our live music events offer a variety of artists both upcomining and internationally renown...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch here and got the fish & chips. Food was good and service great. I feel i missed a lot this place has to offer by coming at lunch hour since they have a stage for live music in the back room. But...More

Thank cbl0421
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Fish & Chips is very popular and we receive many compliments about it from locals, our office worker neighbours and those that have travelled further afield and are visiting our country on holiday or business Indeed we do have a stage area and the live...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Point A Hotels recommended me and my friends to eat at this pub, as it serves great British meals and indeed they do, I was really happy with the service provided to me also great deals if you are a Point A guest. Overall I...More

Thank AJAB26
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for your compliments and taking the time to come here and write your review - we hope that you will visit us again soon when you are next in London - we have many shows that perhaps you could attend to see a...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017

Like a lot of people I don't like loud music while I'm eating. Music in the dining area was too loud for me, then the band in the back room started up. Trying to eat while being blasted with two completely different pieces of loud...More

Thank BobC1954
GrayRat S, Guest Relations Manager at The Water Rats, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you for writing your review, we are currently trying to source what is called an acoustic damper curtain as we are aware that noise can escape from the stage area when we have musicians on - however this is not an easy task as...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pizza Union
675 reviews
.21 km away
Aux Pains de Papy
196 reviews
.05 km away
Honest Burgers - Kings Cross
587 reviews
.22 km away
Cappadocia
175 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
King's Cross Station
1,557 reviews
.43 km away
King's Cross
164 reviews
.40 km away
Gagosian Gallery
17 reviews
.20 km away
Brunswick Square Gardens
5 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kevin B
26 April 2016|
Answer
Response from pjb945 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure exactly. But the staff are helpful and I feel sure they would sort something!
0
Votes