We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

American Museum

Claverton Manor, Bath BA2 7BD, England
+44 1225 460503
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Don't miss the folk art room.

Location fabulous. View from the terrace garden across the valley stunning.Garden work currently... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
karenBotsetos
,
Bath
Not quite at its best

I'm going to preface this by saying this is one of my favourite places. We visit several times a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Catherine M
,
Bristol, Uk
Read all 582 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Situated in a glorious Georgian manor house within 120 acres of wonderful grounds and stunning scenery, the American Museum in Britain is home to the finest collection of Americana outside of the United States. Visitors learn about the Founding Fathers, the pioneers West, Native Americans and the Slavery issue which lead to the Civil War in the new interactive American Heritage Exhibition. This precedes a series of attractive period rooms dating from colonial times until the eve of the Civil War. These rooms set the scene on domestic life throughout the exciting settlement and independence years of America and are accessible via a lift for those who have difficultly with the manor house stairs. The museum has an outstanding quilt collection which allows us to alter the permanent textile display from time to time (40-50 quilts are on show each year) and an inspiring Folk Art gallery intrigues visitors with whirligigs, cigar store Indians, weathervanes and even a Mohawk ship figurehead! Main season Mid-March to November, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-5pm. Cafe & Gardens open from 10.30am. Closed Mondays except during August and Bank Holidays. Christmas season Mid-November to Mid-December, Tuesday -Sunday, 12-4.30pm. Cafe open from 11am. Closed Mondays. Free shuttle bus from Bath city centre to the museum throughout afternoon, see website for schedule.
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good31%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“folk art” (33 reviews)
“period rooms” (22 reviews)
“jazz age” (15 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Claverton Manor, Bath BA2 7BD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1225 460503
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bath
from US$20.60
More Info
from US$29.10
More Info
from US$10.21
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"folk art"
in 33 reviews
"period rooms"
in 22 reviews
"jazz age"
in 15 reviews
"the free shuttle bus"
in 15 reviews
"native americans"
in 14 reviews
"american quilts"
in 14 reviews
"quilt collection"
in 11 reviews
"early settlers"
in 11 reviews
"quilt room"
in 9 reviews
"limpley stoke"
in 9 reviews
"american life"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful quilts"
in 6 reviews
"civil war"
in 7 reviews
"rooms set"
in 6 reviews
"bath university"
in 10 reviews
"different periods"
in 9 reviews
"re enactment"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Location fabulous. View from the terrace garden across the valley stunning.Garden work currently underway and a more detailed explanation of what was planned would have been appreciated. Inside the museum, I particularly liked the black and white photographs of the Indians although the story of...More

Thank karenBotsetos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi karenBotsetos and thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your day, especially the Folk Art Gallery, with us and hope we'll see you again soon. You can find out where else you can get a discount with your Discovery Card via the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm going to preface this by saying this is one of my favourite places. We visit several times a year, my children always have fun and have loved the knitted trails of the past couple of years. But currently the museum isn't quite at its...More

Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Catherine M and thanks for the kind words. We're glad you like the plans for the New American Garden. It's going to be a riot of colour, smells and amazing planting which we know visitors will love. The garden is schedule to open in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Catch the free shuttle bus from Terrace Walk. the information centre will give you the timetable. The museum is on hill overlooking countryside to the south of Bath and is in a lovely Manor house. Unfortunately at the moment the full extent of the museum...More

Thank sian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi sian r and thanks for the review. Some great tips for visitors. Finger crossed the main collection will re-open on the 5th May. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very quiet and gentle visit. Love visiting the exhibition halls especially the maps. Just watch the café they don't take a lot of care when giving change - confusion between £10 and £20 notes!

Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Clare G and thanks for coming to see us. Great to hear you enjoy your visits. Sorry about the confusion in the cafe; we'll look into this. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved it. It is quite interesting that they would come up with a museum like this in Bath. Learned a few new things as well. Great for kids.

Thank Korda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Korda S and thanks for the kind words. Hope we'll see you back at the Museum soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

I drove five hours to visit because my daughter is studying Art A level and wanted to access some of the exhibits in person (rather than on line) as part of her studies. When I arrived I was told the main house was closed because...More

1  Thank JDanials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Marketing Manager at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hello JDanials and thanks for your review. We're so sorry to hear you were disappointed. Since the leak we've had information on our website and regular updates on our social media platforms about what is and isn't open. We'll continue to update these as the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We took our grandchildren here on an afternoon in the school holidays and were surprised at how quiet it was. We have been to various events here in the past and have often had trouble finding a parking space, but this time there was hardly...More

Thank Winner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Marketing Manager at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello Winner2 and thanks for the review. We're so glad to hear you and your grandchildren enjoyed our WWI exhibition & trail. You're right, the temporary closure of the main museum building (due to the water leak) has produced a slower start to the season....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I visited with my parents and my children, hoping it would cater to all tastes. Unfortunately we visited when some of the museum was closed due to flooding and in all fairness I do believe that affected our experience. We were given admission at a...More

1  Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello rebecca g and thanks for your review. You're right, right now we're not looking our best and not all parts of the Museum are open due to the leak we suffered early last month (March 2018) and because we're transforming our gardens. The ticket...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I visited this museum years ago and had very happy memories of it and so persuaded a friend to go with me. Sadly it no longer lives up to what I remembered. It was overpriced. The museum is quite a long walk from the car...More

4  Thank lymefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hello lymefan and thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear your visit (you didn't say when) didn't meet your expectations. Like many Museums and historic buildings we have to monitor light levels to ensure the objects in our care can be experienced by future...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We came last summer to this gem of a museum, but we're disappointed this time in Bath, to find out it is closed until March 17th. It is the only museum of American decorative and folk art outside America! It is situated in a glorious...More

Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericanMuseum, Visitor Experience Team at American Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Angela and thanks for your kind words, fab review and heads up for the new year. 2018 is looking like a really exciting year for the Museum. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 hotels in Bath
Combe Grove Hotel
300 reviews
2.00 km away
Tasburgh House Hotel Ltd
964 reviews
2.47 km away
Church Farm
23 reviews
2.49 km away
MacDonald Bath Spa Hotel
4,848 reviews
2.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at Combe Grove
11 reviews
1.40 km away
The Crown
245 reviews
2.87 km away
Eden Brasserie
10 reviews
1.40 km away
Bathford Village Shop Community Cafe
6 reviews
2.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
Warleigh Weir
8 reviews
.73 km away
Claverton Pumping Station
5 reviews
.73 km away
St Nicholas Church
8 reviews
2.55 km away
Prior Park Landscape Gardens (NT)
663 reviews
2.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
terrywood10
24 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AmericanMuseum | Property representative |
Hi terrywood10. As a small independent Museum on the edge of Bath we tend not to welcome as many overseas visitors as the city does so our static, written interpretation is just in English. Many of our volunteers are able... More
0
Votes
Fransan2014
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AmericanMuseum | Property representative |
Hi Fransan2014 and sorry for delay in getting back to you. Sorry but nothing this year, other than our Kaffe Fassett inspiration corner in our Gallery shop. Kaffe's a great friend of the Museum and we KNOW he'll be back... More
0
Votes
LesleyD47
2 March 2016|
Answer
Response from AmericanMuseum | Property representative |
Thank you for posing this question Lesley. Our Period Rooms span 200 years of American domestic life from 1690 to 1860, many simply showing the craftsmanship of the early colonies through to the new Independent United... More
0
Votes
;