We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retro Cardiff

Closed Now: 9:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Open today: 9:00 PM - 4:00 AM
Share
Review Highlights
Hen party

Had a wicked night Saturday for my friends hen party, bar staff were awesome and made it alot of... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Carla W
via mobile
Love it - definitely worth a visit!

Yet again had another great night out in Retro. I love the fact it’s in a great central location... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Abertillerywales
via mobile
Read all 345 reviews
68
All photos (68)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good8%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“vip area”(36 reviews)
“hen party”(29 reviews)
“amazing night”(24 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 PM - 4:00 AM
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Nov
Dec
Jan
Contact
7A Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1FL, Wales
Website
+44 29 2034 4688
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cardiff
from US$16.40
More Info
from US$16.40
More Info
from US$36.70
More Info
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
273
28
19
2
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
273
28
19
2
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vip area hen party amazing night guest list queue jump booked vip cracking night bangers the birthday girl reserved area bottle of prosecco little touches birthday night fancy dress lovely touch booked a table free entry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had a wicked night Saturday for my friends hen party, bar staff were awesome and made it alot of fun, bartenders were karl & joe

Thank Carla W
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Cardiff for the first time for a gig at Motorpoint. My friend was removed from the club soon after we entered with another group of girls she didn't know. She was denied access to let us know she had been removed and...More

Thank Heather W
RetroCardiff, Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Heather We are very disappointed in this review as we have previously told you we do not have a woman bouncer so this could not of been at our venue! We take our duty of care very seriously here at retro and if this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yet again had another great night out in Retro. I love the fact it’s in a great central location, is reasonably priced for entry and drinks and has friendly staff. The bar service is quick and has a great range to chose from. I’d highly...More

Thank Abertillerywales
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Wow! Thankyou for your 5 star review we are thrilled you had a great time! Why not take advantage of our guestlist next time your in for free entry until 10:30pm! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pitched up, stuck to floor in one corner, slipped on floor in another, drunken men falling about at your feet, seating smelled like pee and the music well ... Guess our idea of retro and DJs idea of retro are slightly warped. Was looking for...More

Thank Freedom40108272842
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi We are sorry to hear your experience at retro wasn’t the best, if you’d like to discuss further then please contact us on info@retrocardiff.co.uk

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In Cardiff for the weekend, came here Friday night and Saturday night, Friday night was quality, great music, well priced booze and a fun friendly atmosphere. Saturday was busier and the music wasn't as good but still decent. Staff were efficient and bouncers friendly enough....More

1  Thank Spartacus20863
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for this great review, we would hope next time we could make it 5 stars! Take advantage of our guestlist for free entry the next time your in Cardiff! Hope to see you again soon! Hollie

Reviewed 7 October 2018

Looks like nothing from the outside. However - it's a great club. Plays cheesy music and old school hits and is packed. Drinks cheap. Music superb. Great vibe and audiance in the club too. How can you not have a good time here!

Thank mattfrost216
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Matthew Thankyou so much for this amazing review we are glad you had a great time! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Me & my husband visit Cardiff a lot, it’s one of our favourite places to go, we are from Devon but this particular visit was a 2 night stay seeing Ed Sheeran, so we decided to head out the first night of our stay and...More

Thank kaybee898
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thankyou for a five star review! We are so happy you had a great time! Il be sure to pass this on to Laura as she will be thrilled with the review! We look forward to seeing you again in December! Take advantage of our...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

4 stars purely because the doorman lied to us about no guest list. Contacted well in advance for 8 people to be on the guest list. As we approached the club , we weren’t a rowdy bunch, not in fancy dress, yes intoxicated but not...More

1  Thank MarkHadley
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for your review! We do have a policy regarding large groups but we are glad you had a great night! Hope to see you again soon! Hollie

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

I visited retros for the first time this year and at first I was reluctant as I was unsure of what type of club it was and none of my friends had been there. However, once inside I had the best time ever! The music...More

1  Thank Natasha D
RetroCardiff, Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi Natasha, Thankyou so much for your five star review! So happy you all enjoyed! We hope to see you all again soon! Take advantage of our 2 for 9 cocktails when you next visit! Hollie

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

I have been going to retros for years and now I will never return. Rude dj, horribly rude bartenders acting like it’s our fault they’re in work on a Saturday night. Not welcoming or friendly at all just miserable not one smile at all from...More

Thank KLM1995
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi We are sorry to hear your time at retro wasn’t the best! If you would like to discuss further please call us or email directly at info@retrocardiff.co.uk then we can look into this for you. Hollie

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 nearby hotels
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
1,629 reviews
.04 km away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
942 reviews
.10 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
2,550 reviews
.13 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
2,713 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,390 nearby restaurants
Servini's Cafe
216 reviews
.06 km away
Cote Brasserie - Cardiff Central
787 reviews
.04 km away
Mocka Lounge Cardiff
320 reviews
.04 km away
Bistrot Pierre
1,045 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 396 nearby attractions
Cardiff Central Library
88 reviews
.07 km away
Royal Arcade
64 reviews
.18 km away
Wyndham Arcade
9 reviews
.07 km away
Cardiff Tourist Information Centre
58 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
carolemaddy
4 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Yes we do karaoke, there isn’t a fee at the door! We hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Christina S
14 June 2018|
Answer
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Hi Christina Yes we only do kareoke on Thursday nights! We hope to see you here soon!
0
Votes
Georgina F
29 May 2018|
Answer
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Hi Georgina, We pay anything right through from the 80s to current chart toppers!
0
Votes