We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2-4 Winecellar Entry | 2 High Street, Belfast BT1 1QN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
+44 28 9024 3080
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:00

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 151 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 66
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Hidden Gem

Lovely wee atmospheric pub with very tasty pub grub reasonably priced right in the heart of Belfast.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 February 2017
DerryBelladonna
,
derry
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Forget the Irish stew! I tried it in two other places in Belfast... The daube of beef I just had here was the best I had in years! The meat just melts in your mouth! And the service is friendly prompt and makes you feel like home ;-) definitely would like to recommend! Thanks to Siobhan I had full history... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanczi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time in White's, and didnt disappoint,absolutely beautiful old pub,loved the atmosphere,great service and food was yum'

Helpful?
Thank Lorena L
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really busy, but got a table. Great place to people watch, although it was so noisy we couldn't hear each other speak. Music was excellent and service was speedy. Felt very at ease and our English guests really loved the atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank pamelagF8232QX
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Many of the players in the pipe band I was in Ireland to see were from Belfast, & White's was their "go to" place. It was easy to find, & very close to our hotel. When I first went in I thought, "Oh, we'll never all fit in here!" But we did! There was amazing atmosphere, good food (best tomato... More 

Helpful?
Thank evelynhazzard
derry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely wee atmospheric pub with very tasty pub grub reasonably priced right in the heart of Belfast.

Helpful?
Thank DerryBelladonna
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

I was so amazed booked this for two for Saturday 17 December. Out of the blue for me . Staff were amazing . Went in at 6 45 and thought I'm in the wrong place ?? It was bunged but when I asked about my table he called me by my name got my table and well done to everyone.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BelfastMarie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Downstairs in this place is great. We booked for our Christmas doo. Were informed there would be live music. There wasn't. Imagine Christmas Byker Grove. That's what upstairs in this place is like. No Christmas music, no decorations, no Christmas atmosphere, no resemblance to downstairs. Big group couldn't even sit together, toilets were awful, food was fine but decent Christmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Andrew. Where and when were you in for your Christmas dinner? We had live music all weekend as we always do. We had live music on from 7pm until after midnight, so I'm confused by that comment. Upstairs is run as a separate business to Whites which is why it looks different to downstairs and it had a Christmas... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I am a 57 year old man and have joined this trip site to say how much I throughly enjoy my time here. My wife and I along with 2 friends were recommended here by a friend while on holiday for the weekend. We did have to send all of our food back as it was only mildly warm however,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ian67234
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Ian, thanks for the comment and feedback. Glad you enjoyed your time at Whites. I'm sorry our food wasn't warm enough for you - I'll certainly feed this back to our Kitchen staff. Emma was indeed your server that day and I'll be sure to pass on the lovely comment. Thanks for getting in touch. More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Nice pub, amazing open fire, excellent whiskey selection. Arrived at 5.50pm on a Tuesday evening, the girl behind the bar told us that the kitchen had closed and that she was closing the bar in 30 mins. I said that we wouldn't be staying long, so she let us place an order of one round of drinks. In the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank dee0512
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Dee, thanks for your review and for coming into White's on Tuesday evening, as I know you've been few times before. Our website/facebook page is right, we do close at 8pm on a Tuesday. On the Tuesday night that you visited us, we closed 1 hour early so that we could do maintenance, paint some parts of the interior... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This is the oldest pub in Belfast, and it must have seen so much history since it first opened its doors in 1630. Tucked away up an entry, it's cozy and atmospheric. Even at lunchtime it's cozy with little natural light, instead there are tealights everywhere which makes it delightful. The service is good and the food is honest to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Coz! Thanks for your comment and for having lunch with us! Really happy you could spend some time at Whites, it really does have a lot of history and if you look around, you'll find pockets of information all around the bar. I think perhaps your server didn't explain properly about the Lasagne - it wasn't sold out -... More 

Travellers who viewed White's Tavern also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to White's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White's Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from White's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?