We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Castleward House Castleward Estate | Strangford, Downpatrick BT30 7LS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: +44 28 4488 1204
Website
Description:

Castle Ward will take you on a journey of discovery. The 18th-century...

Castle Ward will take you on a journey of discovery. The 18th-century eccentric house with two distinctly different styles, classical and Gothic, will entice you to explore further. This truly beautiful 332-hectare (820-acre) walled demesne, with walking trails, exotic garden, stunning vistas and picturesque farmyard, will unlock your imagination through family history, leisure pursuits, events and industrial heritage. A children's pastimes centre and laundry room are a short walk from the house in the stableyard, alongside a gift shop, second-hand bookshop and tea-room.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.31*
and up
Full-Day Trip from Belfast: The Ultimate Game of Thrones Experience including...
More Info
US$51.13*
and up
'Game of Thrones' County Down Filming Locations Tour from Belfast Including...

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 370 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 211
    Excellent
  • 105
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
What a place!

We loved it. Took my parents to see Castle Ward because they are huge Game of Throne. We loved it. This is an amazing castle to visit, even if you're not a GoT fan. So much to... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
squashedbug
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 353: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved it. Took my parents to see Castle Ward because they are huge Game of Throne. We loved it. This is an amazing castle to visit, even if you're not a GoT fan. So much to see. Cycle paths or walking tracks to take in more. My mother is unable to walk much. There were enough disabled parking places... More 

Helpful?
Thank squashedbug
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Castleward is a beautiful estate on the shores of Strangford Lough. The ancestral Ward home is impressive with beautiful gardens front & back. I'd recommend a picnic on the back lawn overlooking the lough after walking around some of the grounds and farmyards. Some of the outhouses hold exhibits of what life was like there in Victorian times - the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aingeal N
Cork
Level Contributor
210 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We visited here based on GOT connection. There is a GOT plaque in the castle showing how it looked in GOT and the basement has stills from GOT. Although this more than just "winterfell". We walked the trials and enjoyed the wonderful views. I would recommend this location for a great day out for all the family

Helpful?
Thank ConorFi
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

We visited here to see the location of the original Winterfell from season 1 of game of thrones. We did a self guided tour around the caste which is pretty easy to do. Just get a location map before you start. It took us a couple of hours to walk around, well worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Terrycharleton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Meet at the entrance by or of the rudest young ladies I have ever met when obtaining our entrance fee she asked if we were national trust members, when we said no brutality she said "why not rude woman, in a nut shell castle ward ground is beautiful the game of thrones influences has spoiled the experience, certainly not worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Everydayone
CastleWard_VETeam, Marketing & Communications Officer at Castle Ward, responded to this review

Hi Everydayone, I am sorry you did not enjoy your most recent visit to Castle Ward and that you were treated poorly by a member of our team. If you would like to provide the date of your visit then I would like to look further into this incident so that this no longer happens. Game of Thrones has become... More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
438 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

My son is a massive G of T fan and we came here to see the set for Winterfell, but it was much more. The grounds and trail to see the G of T sites was lovely, with the lough (seawater lake) and the beautiful scenery and farm animals making your acquaintance. We also paid 90£ for the three of... More 

Helpful?
Thank SLT1962
NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had a great time spending much of the day at Castle Ward. We loved our tour of the castle, with its gothic and neoclassical sides. Our tour guide was fantastic -- I wish I remembered her name to give her credit. Walking the trails around the estate was lovely (no need for bikes), and we enjoyed a snack at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaMinNJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful countryside but a tad expensive entrance fee if you are only going for a walk round the lough. But good value if you are spending the day there doing house tour etc. Location of Winterfell, Game of Thrones, interesting if you are a fan, the trails for walking are well signposted and for leisurely doddles or serious trekkers. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée went here yesterday and went kayaking and hired the mountain bikes.. out in the lake we had a seal bobbing along nearby which was nice to see. The staff were really friendly and fun. We got the bikes then and cycled into strandford village/town.. such a quiet quant little place, we had our dinner in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

wonderful place to visit for all ages, the grounds are a treasure of discovery and the house is a definite must see. On the shores of Strangford lough another delight of its own......

Helpful?
Thank Gail M

Travellers who viewed Castle Ward also viewed

Newtownards, County Down
 
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to Castle Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Castle Ward and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Ward staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?