We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carnoustie Golf Links

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Golf Centre Links Parade | Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
01241802275
Description:

This championship course is considered one of the top layouts in Britain...

This championship course is considered one of the top layouts in Britain and has been described as Scotland's ultimate golfing challenge. It is simply a must play for any golfer

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 192 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 125
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Great round, in historic location

Wow, what a great day of golf. Got to play here last year on holiday to Scotland. Very tough course what an incredible day. Can't wait to get back. The day I played it was 70 and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
George C
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow, what a great day of golf. Got to play here last year on holiday to Scotland. Very tough course what an incredible day. Can't wait to get back. The day I played it was 70 and no wind. Couldn't ask for better. Wound not try it without a caddie.

Helpful?
Thank George C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived early to use spa facilities however reception was rude never said welcome and would not allow us to check in so ended up hanging round the bar area till 3. Then we were allocated the wrong room. They did sort this out but were not very polite and offered no apologies. I asked if I could speak to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tamsin334
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Early booking required for group golfing activities caddies available. World class championship course, with 2 other excellent courses running on both sides of the championship Course. Good hotel attached, but can be a bit pricey for food and drinks.2 other private golf clubs across the road available to visitors for food and drink, ample parking facilities

Helpful?
Thank alex m
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

just back with a group of 8 people who got a round of golf at carnoustie for a xmas present from wifes etc. what a disappointment 6 greens were off,tees were a mat in the rough ,one green was actually a tee we were putting on , think it was the 3rd, most of the bunkers were off, a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank dougieduncan
carnoustiegolflinks, Public Relations Manager at Carnoustie Golf Links, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Carnoustie. Winter is always a challenging time for golf because your enjoyment of the day is so weather dependent. On this day in question, there had been some early morning frost and had to use some temporary greens. As was explained when booking, matts are in play all winter... More 

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The Championship Course does not come cheap, but bear in mind that you are at the home of golf and playing a course which is world class and better than the Old Course, but without any snootiness - which alas no longer applies to the St. Andrews venue. The off-course facilities are being updated (and not before time) but visitors... More 

Helpful?
Thank carbill2015
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

From arriving on the Saturday and leaving on the Tuesday couldn't fault anything. Amy at reception was lovely made us very welcome and explained everything to us. We were with our friends and our room looked on to carpark and they had a room with a view on to golf course. Food was excellent I'm not very good at names... More 

Helpful?
Thank Delzer65
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I booked the night away here for my mum as a birthday gift. Bad points.... Unfortunately we couldn't get booked in for treatments at the salon so we had pedicures nearby where we live then traveled. Once we got there we walked round the town which was very close by but not much to do. We came back and went... More 

Helpful?
Thank O7062TPb
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Coming from Australia and being a golfer this is another special place to visit. Have seen many times on TV, can park and just wander around, pretty special

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Was lucky enough to play with a member a Friday evening last August. The good news was it wasn't windy - the bad news is it was very wet. Be prepared for bad weather not matter what time of the year. That said I still really enjoyed it. The course is very challenging as you would expect. Accuracy is key... More 

Helpful?
Thank comcgan
Portumna, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We have just returned from another great trip to this magnificent links course. This time we had the privilege of playing with Carnoustie Pro Colin Sinclair. It was also the first time that my son Sam aged 14 got to enjoy playing the Championship course. The links was in incredible condition on the 28th December. All greens were open and... More 

Helpful?
Thank thebrianmurphy

Travellers who viewed Carnoustie Golf Links also viewed

 
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to Carnoustie Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Carnoustie Golf Links and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Carnoustie Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?