We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Edinburgh Dungeon

31 Market Street, Edinburgh EHI IQB, Scotland
+44 131 240 1001
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.09*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80-minute journey will take you through 500 years of Scotland's darkest history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat ride” (341 reviews)
“great fun” (365 reviews)
“sawney bean” (97 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
31 Market Street, Edinburgh EHI IQB, Scotland
Princes Street and Gardens
CONTACT
Website
+44 131 240 1001
Write a Review
Reviews (4,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 3,875 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

As someone who really isn't a fan of history this was a good way to learn more about the history of Edinburgh/Scotland. Probably wouldn't recommend for someone with a weak stomach/gets scared easily.

Thank Sarah F
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

What can I say? Amazing from start to finish. Waiting in the queue, the front of house staff ensured that everyone knew what was happening and roughly how long they had to wait. Taking the groups up to the admissions desk to get their tickets...More

Thank Aziz A
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Wowee! What a fantastic review, thank you so much for taking the time to write something so thoughtful. A career in attraction reviewing beckons? We will pass on your comments to the team. Come back and hang with us again soon! :)

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My fifteen year old loved The Dungeons! It was very interactive and the live portrays gives the feel of how things were like back in the day. Staff was fantastic. Would recommend finding a coupon.

Thank ssmith302
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for the horribly good review! We do offer a number of local and national promotions, and you can save over 25% by booking online. Come back and hang with us again soon! ;)

Reviewed 2 days ago

I must admit - I was rather sceptical at first. Expected cheap "silicone masks" and amateur acting. But the dedication these actors took their roles on, good humour, how the crowd was involved and how the interior was carefully designed - absolutely wonderful. The witch...More

Thank Anzu P
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Anzu, for your horribly good review. Our Dungeon masters may even feed us tonight! Come and 'hang' with us again. ;)

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

What can I say?? Fantastic trip to the dungeons what being my fifth visit it never gets old or samey. I have never laughed so much in all my life was so funny and fantastic. The actors were superb and the staff was so helpful...More

Thank April L
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

You've survived the Dungeon five times?! Well that deserves a celebration! We'll make sure Alex gets your message. Let us know when you want to come back and we'll sort something special for your SIXTH trip. Email address is on the website.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Very good visit, lots of jumps and scares along the way. The issue would be that the rooms almost appear to close and you get a lot of noise bleed through from other rooms, which can mean that the actors are drowned out. Also the...More

Thank Ben W
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hey there! Thanks for visiting the Dungeon. We are a noisy place (mostly screams) and occasionally you can hear what's going on in the other areas of the tour, although it's always a surprise! Come back and 'hang' with us again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago

Not what i expected, poor quality and not as interesting as described. Most of the time spent standing about.More

Thank chrisybhoy_11
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm sorry you didn't have a great time with us. Our aim is to provide a uniquely thrilling experience for our guests. I'd be interested to hear more about why you say we weren't as described. Please do tell us more if you can. Many...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I went to the dungeons for the first time, despite living in the city for a number of years. The staff in the box office were very nice and let us get in early despite us having booked online with an allocated...More

Thank Myra W
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hey there Myra, welcome to the world of Dungeons! Once bitten, forever... infected. Thanks for the horribly good review. We recommend the Dungeon to children over 8, and our photo team always take shots of guests, and there is no obligation to buy (although you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the dungeon for a hen party activity and had the best time! It is a great way to spend an afternoon when the weather is not good (often in Edinburgh!) and is not too expensive either. The boat ride and Mary King's Close...More

Thank Broons B
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Congratulations! Now that you've survived the Dungeon you can DEFINITELY survive marriage. All that horror is the perfect preparation! Thanks for the review. ;)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In are group there was two very young children under the age of five in buggies even at the beginning of the tour ,waiting for the tour to being the children were crying and scared. Unfortunately the parents didnt seem to care and neither did...More

Thank Grainne M
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Grainne, We are very sorry about your experience with us here at the Dungeon. I understand that you have been in touch with our teams directly and you can expect to hear from us very soon. Please accept our apologies for your below-par experience...More

Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant
1,533 reviews
.07 km away
Krua Khun Mae Thai Restaurant
333 reviews
.08 km away
The Milkman
135 reviews
.04 km away
The Doric
1,217 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Old Town
10,294 reviews
.10 km away
Real Mary King's Close
10,728 reviews
.14 km away
Fruitmarket Gallery
49 reviews
.10 km away
City Art Centre
78 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sue O
Why is it more expensive the later you go? Is there an advantage to going later in the day?
20 June 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Francesca D | Property representative |
Hi there, You get exactly the same experience whatever time of day you come.Our pricing is tiered to encourage morning visits, as afternoons can get busy (especially at this time of year). Promise you won't be missing out... More
1
Vote
CheshireMatt
Hi there....would this be suitable for a 5yr old or is he maybe a wee bit young?
17 May 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Francesca D | Property representative |
Hi there. We don't recommend the Dungeon for children under the age of 8 as it can be quite scary for the little one as it is very dark with a few jump scares and loud noises. However, this is just a guideline and it is... More
1
Vote
KCfromKCNY
Has anyone bought the VIP ticket ? Not sure I understand how this works , you can't seem to select a timed entry with this.
13 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Francesca D | Property representative |
Hi there! The VIP ticket isn't timed because it's a priority entrance ticket, so you get to walk in whenever you want, without committing yourself to a time. You also get a souvenir guidebook and a photo memory of your... More
1
Vote