St Andrews Aquarium

St Andrews Aquarium: Hours, Address, St Andrews Aquarium Reviews: 3.5/5

St Andrews Aquarium
3.5
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Step through our doors and be transported into an underwater world of adventure and discovery. Come face to face with some of the most beautiful, fascinating and dangerous creatures of the watery worlds. From British sharks to spiders, lobsters to lionfish, poison dart frogs to piranhas, loveable seals...... and not to forget our fabulous meerkats. Get up close and personal with our daily interactive demonstrations which include Seal feeding at 12 noon and 3pm, Penguin feeding at 2pm, reptile and snake handling sessions at 11.20am and 2.20pm and an informative talk and feeding sessions with our family of Meerkats at 12.20pm and 3.20pm.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

3.5
581 reviews
Excellent
198
Very good
169
Average
119
Poor
58
Terrible
37

wardms
Lincoln, UK1,712 contributions
Smallest aquarium I've visited
Jun 2021
It's probably the smallest aquarium I've been to, it was nice enough with lots of different animals (including ones that don't live in or near water) - but there's enough for 1 hour - 2 maximum. I don't understand people saying it was a great "day" out. I've got no idea how people spent a full day here.

Also found it really strange that they had no lift - which was a bit annoying for us with a baby. No idea how people with physical disabilities feel about it?
Written 18 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ailsa M
1 contribution
Over priced
May 2021 • Family
Used to love visiting here - granted it has been some considerable number years since I last visited in the days when it was "The Sealife Centre"
Booked to visit on Saturday as had my nephew and his two wee girls (7&3) visiting for the weekend. Family ticket cost £42... it took us precisely 45 minutes to complete our visit. Sadly our time slot did not include any of the talks which would, no doubt, have extended our stay. The one way system that we followed didn't include any seals, perhaps we just missed a turning?
I didn't book a visit to an Aquarium to see Meercats or monkeys (crocodiles, snakes and spiders were a bit of a surprise too) ... that aside I felt very disappointed by the whole experience. To be honest I have been to some petshops with more impressive fish tank displays. Personally I would not recommend especially for children of this age group.
Bring back the "touching pool" where kids could get up close to the inquisitive Ray's, that was an incredible experience for kids and adults alike.
Written 31 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your visit to the St Andrews Aquarium. We are very sorry to hear that you felt 'disappointed' by the whole experience. As you are probably aware, currently St Andrews is in level 2 and for that reason as an indoor attraction a one-way-system is for the safety of visitors and our staff. This is very similar with talks/feedings. We cannot have too many visitors beside an enclosure at the same time (social distancing would not be possible). We have to adapt to the challenge of the global pandemic, and reopen our doors with some restrictions in place. We can reassure you that there are 2 pools with the seals between our cold water area and the tank with the sharks. Perhaps you did not notice a large glass doors and signs on the wall to direct you to the seals. If you mentioned that on the day of your visit, our staff would make sure that you can go and see the seals. We are sorry to hear you were not happy to see our land species. There is lots of information about them on our main website page. We are much more than an Aquarium. We are educational place, with species from all over the world. We are sorry to hear that you were not impressed with our marmosets... Did you know that our marmosets are rescued from private collections? They were kept in small cages, with no interactions/attachments to other animal from the same species. According to research, primates who are kept in isolation suffer significantly from anxiety, depression or aggression. Our marmosets' wellbeing improved significantly since they joined our aqua family. Their enclosure was designed just for them, and they have each others company. Unfortunately, we cannot bring back the 'touching pool', as they are unethical! Did you know, that in recent years it was reported that countless animals died in touch tanks?! There was even a case of stingrays suffering from decomposition in touch pools, due to people touching their corpse. Animals need a safe, healthy and comfortable space in the water. Please believe me none of the starfish, stingrays like to be touched! Additionally, they are very fragile and can be injured in those 'touching pools'. We want to educate especially children and young visitors that is not ok to touch and play with sea creatures. So, they learn to have respect for wildlife. Thus, if they ever spot a wild sea creature in the water; they will act responsibly and not touch/squeeze that beautiful animal. Please contact us if you would like more information at splishsplash@standrewsaquarium.co.uk With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team
Written 1 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dundee1962
Dundee29 contributions
Really scraping the barrel
Oct 2020 • Couples
Visited in October 2020, nice and quiet with Covid restrictions which was nice. I reckon the sea life were on lockdown as there really doesn't seem to be a great deal there.
The informative talks/feeding of the seals and meerkats (yes, meerkats) were good and worthwhile, but unfortunately couldn't help but feel the meerkats as well as some other things have been added as gimmicks to attract more people.
Minus the talks it would take about half an hour to an hour to go round it all, really disappointed.
Written 26 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to share feedback regarding your visit to the St Andrews Aquarium. We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed in your past experience... Particularly, as you mentioned that 'meerkats as well as some other things' were added as a gimmick to attract people. We would like to reassure you that is not the case. We welcomed meerkats into our aquarium family 10 years ago. The purpose of that was to educate visitors about those particular species. Additionally, our aim is to promote animal conservation, and support research of animals. Currently, our keepers conducting research with the meerkats, and other species at the St Andrews Aquarium. We are pleased to hear your positive feedback about talks/feedings. They are there to give an insight about particular animals. They are part of your experience too. Should you wish to discuss your feedback; you are more than welcome to email us at splishsplash@standrewsaquarium.co.uk With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team
Written 29 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jemandem C
15 contributions
Lots of interest
Oct 2020
It's not the biggest aquarium we've ever been to but it has lots of interest packed into a small space. The talks are also interesting and informative and my teenage children enjoyed it as much as we did. I should add that the staff were extremely helpful when my son accidentally dropped his glasses in the shark tank!
Written 1 November 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and a massive bonus for us that your children had a great time too . We are glad our staff were extremely helpful, and that they managed to rescue your son's glasses from the shark tank! That must be a memorable experience for your family. Thank you for visiting and supporting the St Andrews Aquarium throughout global pandemic. With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 21 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

weeloren
Glasgow, UK75 contributions
Brilliant visit!
Oct 2020 • Family
Myself, my partner and my 7 month old little girl stopped off at the aquarium after a day pumpkin picking at a nearby farm. We had such a good time! Yes it is small however I much preferred this one over the larger sea life chain, it really is what you make of it. We were lucky to witness two animal talks, the seal and meerkat talks. The keepers were very informative and encouraged questions from the crowd. The seal chat was particularly funny due to their antics so if able make sure you are there! We spend over an hour and a half so not all day however was great as a little activity to split up your day. I highly recommend visiting 😌
Written 28 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review! 5-star review, Jaw-some! We are pleased you had a brilliant time at the St Andrews Aquarium. It's fantastic that you have managed to watch our talks. With the current global pandemic we only offer few talks on a quiet days. Our keepers are absolutely amazing as you have noticed. Their talks are informative and funny. There is not a better way to learn than through a laugh. Our harbour seals have very playful personalities. Did you know that seals are very quick learners? Studies suggest that seals can mimic sounds from human speech. How cool is that?! Thank you for visiting us; we hope to welcome you back in the near future. With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 25 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirsten M
Glasgow, UK42 contributions
Aquarium visit
Sep 2020
We visited the aquarium during our stay in St Andrews but were quite disappointed. There wasn't a great deal to see which we felt for the money wasn't great. Wouldn't say don't visit but don't expect too much. The place was clean and social distancing was in place and we had to keep our masks on the whole way round.
Written 6 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your visit to St Andrews Aquarium. We are sorry to hear you felt disappointed in your recent experience. We are not sure which particular point you meant when you reflect that 'there wasn't a great deal to see'. We are not sure what else you expected to see? If you have any suggestions please do let us know. We always had a great feedback about our animals. The St Andrews Aquarium is a home for over 1000 animals which include a large numbers of sea creatures, reptiles, marine mammals-seals, mammals- meerkats, amphibians, aquatic birds- penguins, insects & primates- common marmosets. We are focus on conservation of species at risk and currently developing breeding programmes. Please send us an email if you want to find out more at splishspalsh@standrewsaquarium.co.uk We are pleased to hear your positive feedback about cleanliness and safety of everyone during COVID-19. We worked hard to make sure everyone feel safe and comfortable during those uncertain times. Thank you for visiting us. With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 26 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Keith N
1 contribution
great day out
Sep 2020
lovely selection of fish and animals. Clean place and great staff. Area is well laid out. Its a pity we didnt see the octopus on display
Written 29 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to share your Fin-tastic feedback regarding your visit to St Andrews Aquarium. We are pleased to hear you had a great day, and appreciate our animals. Such a shame you missed Ursula- our resident octopus. Ursula is part of a very intelligent species, she hides from visitors as soon as we open our doors! There is some evidence that octopuses recognise individuals outside of their own species, including humans. Perhaps she is shy, or just plays hide and seek with our visitors! Thank you for visiting us. We hope to welcome you back very soon, and maybe you will find Ursula this time. With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 4 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirstin B
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom5 contributions
Lovely experience
Sep 2020 • Family
Lovely way to spend an hour or so.

Very clean, lots to see and lots of information about the various exhibits. We enjoyed the Seal feeding - the staff were happy to answer questions.

Would encourage people to visit and support the Aquarium during this challenging time.
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are pleased to hear you had lovely time at the Aquarium, and your recommendations are much appreciated during those uncertain and challenging time. Glad to hear you enjoyed seeing our seals getting fed. Our harbour seals are very popular among visitors. Their playful behaviour and unique personalities are a pleasure to watch. Thank you again for supporting the St Andrews Aquarium. We hope to welcome you back very soon. With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 4 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

47sandiep
Dunfermline, UK8 contributions
Really good
Sep 2020 • Family
Visited the aquarium today when the family and I were in St Andrews with time to kill and what a great time we had, it’s not a particularly big aquarium but it has a great range of fish, amphibians and even marmosets and meerkats who were their usual entertaining selves. We also really enjoyed watching the turtles and rays and what I also liked was the layout of the aquarium which allowed us to go back to different areas and revisit things.
I think it’s a great place to visit. My six year old grandson loved it and says his favourite were the jellyfish !
Written 5 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for a 5 star review! We are so pleased to hear you had a really good time at the St Andrews Aquarium. We have to agree with you the range of species at the Aquarium is pretty amazing. This gives a chance to the visitors to see and learn about particular animals. We are glad to hear your six year old grandson enjoyed his visit and that his favourite was the jellyfish! Did you know that jellyfish have been around for millions of years, even before dinosaurs lived on the Earth!? Pretty cool.. Thank you for visiting us. We hope to welcome you back very soon. With best wishes, Magda & the St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 20 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joseph
2 contributions
Waste of time and money right now
Sep 2020 • Family
I went for my Daughters 3rd birthday today 1/9/20. We paid £20 for both of us and we were done in literally 40 minutes. We spent about 15 more in the shop choosing a toy for her.

There are no staff except at the front entrance and so no one to talk about anything that was on display. All of the talks and displays are cancelled due to covid19, understandable I guess but we still paid full price.

Perhaps a discount since there is literally nothing but tanks of fish and a few mammals/insects? My daughter was happy walking around looking at things but I am hugely disappointed.

Honestly not a bad place, but as something special for my Daughters birthday it was quite rubbish in all honesty.
Written 1 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are sorry to hear your visit was not satisfactory. Please note that we are one of the few places that have not increased our prices after the lockdown. Our prices have been the same for the past few years. Even with additions of new species like common marmosets, new species of fish, amphibians, etc, we have never increased prices. However, we have been closed for almost 4 months with no income coming in. As a family run business you can imagine how financially catastrophic that was for us. During a lockdown we could not simply just close our doors, we still had a small team of keepers who looked after our animals. Please believe me its not cheap to keep so many species from all around the world. They need proper care, food, warmth, vet care, and the list is endless. We are sorry you did not have a chance to speak with any of the keepers. Perhaps they were all busy feeding or checking the animals behind the tanks. In terms of feedings/talks. This is something what we could not offer to our visitors after a global pandemic. Basically, we were not allowed to, as this potentially can cause too many people gathering in one place. As an indoor attraction we have to make sure all the visitors, staff and the animals are safe. We have a few talks/feedings in place from September; however, they can be amended or cancelled at short notice because of circumstances beyond our control, for example, when we decide it is not safe for everyone to do them, as the numbers of visitors are beyond the limit. We appreciate your visit, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. With best wishes, Magda & St Andrews Aquarium team.
Written 2 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 565
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about St Andrews Aquarium

St Andrews Aquarium is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM