We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallery of Modern Art

Royal Exchange Square | 111 Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3AH, Scotland
+44 141 287 3050
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$117.00*
and up
Glasgow's Must Sees 5-Hour Private Tour
More Info
US$20.65*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Housed in a grand iconic building in Royal Exchange Square, the GoMA (Gallery of Modern Art) hosts art exhibitions and special events throughout the year. The Library at GoMA houses a café, free internet access terminals and an extensive collection of art and design books.
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good25%
  • Average29%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 20:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Royal Exchange Square | 111 Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3AH, Scotland
City Centre
CONTACT
Website
+44 141 287 3050
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the place to pick up a great 'glesga' keepsake. The witty cards and t-shirts make ideal gifts. On asking the curator of who owned the building originally, we were entertained by some real cracking patter. Although the main exhibit may not be to...More

Thank Jocksabroad
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. I'm really g;lad to hear you had a wonderful experience and that you had some good banter with our friendly staff! Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so despite having lived In Glasgow most of my life I have never darkened the doors of GOMA before yesterday. The exhibition in the main downstairs space was cancelled but we were still invited to "explore the space"! Bit of a modern art novice...More

Thank fionamacaskill
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Delighted that you've darkened our doors for the first time! Great that you enjoyed the exhibitions - particularly Taste! in Gallery 2. We have a changing programme of exhibitions and events so I hope it's not too long before you darken...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't say I'm a big modern art buff, so it's got to be the quality of the curating that kept me riveted for hours. Couldn't understand what was drawing the crowd on the first floor, turns out it's a mesmerising video art installation which chimed...More

Thank Meguro212
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Delighted that you had such a great visit! We have a changing programme of exhibitions and events so hope to welcome you back soo. Gareth, Museum Manager, GoMA

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Some thoughts on the Marlie Mul "cancelled" exhibition from summer 2017: Goma is a space that already suffered from obvious neglect prior to Mul. It's a mess; it's a space in search of a new mission. It doesn't square with its original mission anyhow, so...More

Thank Steven M
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. We'll certainly take some of these on board particularly around the fresh paint and sprucing up. However, I note with interest your complaint of the "weirdly-shaped galleries" whilst you praise the historic architecture of the building. Of course, the two of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This museum has a few gems and is well curated- includes pieces about the history of the building as well as the modern art pieces. You probably wouldn't spend more than an hour there but that's fine since it's free admission and in the city...More

Thank Maria3559
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Glad you had such a good visit and enjoyed the weel-curated exhibits and historical displays. We hope to welcome you back soon. Gareth, Museum Manager, GoMA

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I thought a art gallery contains paintings,but it contains a pile of rubbish,,one of the galleries is shut,and the other is empty, because it has been cancelled,More

Thank Anthony A
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok it is free, but so are other good venues in Glasgow. I visit regularly in the hope of stimulation and thought provoking modern art, but the gallery rests on its earlier laurels, when it got lucky with some unknown artists. I am tired of...More

Thank ImacGlasgow
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

A TripAdvisor Member
121
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Glorious building but currently empty as the star who was to supply the summer exhibition cancelled.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was free which was a bonus. A very large and great building however they do not use the space to its full potential. I was here many years ago and remember it being a lot better. Some good art exhibits but poorly placed. The...More

Thank Shona B
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The beautiful building and modern art, what more could one wish for. Well... a lot of incomprehensible work, and in total the collect is not diverse enough. Par example: a room had the sign: exhibition cancelled. And after some time it made me wonder if...More

Thank diana56
GoMAGlasgow, Manager at Gallery of Modern Art, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. Like all museums and galleries, not just modern and contemporary art ones, we acknowledge that the displays may not be to everyone's taste. Even if a visitor does not enjoy the exhibition programme we hope that they find the iconic, centrally-located...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Western Club Restaurant
319 reviews
.01 km away
CAU Glasgow
498 reviews
.07 km away
The Rogano
1,510 reviews
.07 km away
Di Maggio's
1,011 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Buchanan Street
3,989 reviews
.15 km away
George Square
944 reviews
.18 km away
The Lighthouse
726 reviews
.19 km away
Duke of Wellington Statue
410 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gallery of Modern Art staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit