We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Rusheen, | Borrisoleigh, Thurles, Ireland
Phone Number:
+353 87 410 6868
Website
Fee: Yes
Description:

We are a small family-run equestrian business located in the unspoiled...

We are a small family-run equestrian business located in the unspoiled Tipperary uplands. We believe that small is beautiful and that you deserve an experience tailored to your needs. We care passionately about our horses, the environment, and our guests. Whether you come for a riding lesson, a trek, or a residential stay, we aim to provide you with memories to treasure.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.31*
and up
Scenic Horseback Riding Tour through Unspoiled Mountain Pastures of Tipperary
More Info
US$134.61*
and up
Half-Day Horseback Trail Ride including Pub Lunch in Tipperary
More Info
US$59.23*
and up
Two-Hour Horseback Mountain Trail Ride in Tipperary

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 35 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
The highlight of our trip

My wife and I decided to take a horseback ride while on vacation. I was a novice rider and had the time of my life. Our guide Lily was very knowledgeable of the area and cares... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 December 2016
calnenfurniture
,
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016

My wife and I decided to take a horseback ride while on vacation. I was a novice rider and had the time of my life. Our guide Lily was very knowledgeable of the area and cares deeply for what she does and the horses. The views are amazing and the area is rich in history that our guide gave us... More 

Helpful?
Thank calnenfurniture
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your appreciation for our beautiful country and horses makes this the best and most rewarding job in the world! Lily xx More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

Yesterday, my friend and I, did the 5 hour trek with Clare. It was amazing, the weather was perfect, the horses are incredible. They are very friendly, calm and everything you wish for in a horse to go on a trek. We are two experienced riders, and this experience is needed for the 5 hour trip. The views during the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

Thank you, Karen, for your lovely review. It was great to go for gallops up the hills with you both and I am so glad that you enjoyed your day. If you are ever back in Ireland don't forget to come and see us again! More 

Wollongong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

First let me start by saying that the hostess, Clare, loves her guests to write in her guest book, I didn't because I don't like to write negative reviews in guest books and all the comments I saw were effusive in their praise - thus my conundrum. My friend and I were disappointed in this guest house and I think... More 

Helpful?
Thank Therese N
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

More of a puzzle ... Therese, you and Gail did leave nice comments in my guest book. You never said while you stayed that you were unhappy. I was surprised when you said on arrival that you had found us in Sawdays because I stopped advertising in it several years ago. Although you told me you were researching a novel... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

This is not for novice riders like all in my family. It was a wet and windy day and the conditions made the horses very spooky. I take some responsibility for selecting a trek with difficult terrain for young riders. But we have had some good times riding previously as a family in other locations. The food in the pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
ferelith, Manager at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

I regret that you did not enjoy your ride. It is important that you follow instructions meticulously and keep children under control as horses are sensitive animals and cannot cope with constant screaming while they are walking along the road. This is the first trek I have taken out in seventeen years where I was forced to dismount and lead... More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

Beautiful horses, lovely area, good ride across the hills. Lunch was very good and pub can cater for Gluten free.

Helpful?
Thank Carol C
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016

This was by far one of the best experiences for me in Ireland. I had never ridden horseback before in my life (neither had my boyfriend), but we both did so well with the horses at this place. The tour was amazing! We were able to see so much of the Irish country and being on horseback was the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuckyGirl0717
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

Reading your review, I can't stop smiling! Thank you so much for sharing! More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016

I had the great pleasure of staying here for awhile. Waking up to the mountains, beautiful horses, or high speed wifi, I could not tell you which is better. The treks have amazing views and are very tailored to your riding ability. The owner, Clare, has great hospitality and a great sense of humor. She knows her way around the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maddison T
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Maddison for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here as much as everyone here enjoyed your company. Please come back very soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as a volunteer and loved it. Being able to work live and breathe in Ireland is a dream I've had since I was 17! I'm now 25 and couldn't have done it without Clare. The food, the dogs, the horses and the views were impeccable. Highly recommended if you are both tourist and a wwoofer.

Helpful?
Thank Allie y
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

Hard-working, intelligent, creative and dedicated volunteers with a good sense of humour, like you, are always welcome here x More 

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited a few weeks ago from the states and we had a wonderful time. I cannot put into words how beautiful the scenery is-- just breathtaking! We will definitely come back on our next trip to the Emerald Isle :)

Helpful?
Thank Dixieangeln
ferelith, Owner at Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre, responded to this review

It was a privilege to welcome you both and I am so glad that you enjoyed your trek - thank you so much for bringing the sun with you! Hope to see you again when you are next back in Ireland. More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

My cousin and I stayed with Claire and Lily and very much enjoyed our stay and horseback ride in the Irish countryside. Claire was very patient teaching us how to ride and was a great host. Huw and Baz were the cutest tour guides, showing us around the farm and surrounding area. The trip was such a pleasure and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R

Travellers who viewed Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cahir, County Tipperary
Roscrea, County Tipperary
 

Been to Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tipperary Mountain Trekking Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?