Bowland Wild Boar Park

Bowland Wild Boar Park, Preston: Hours, Address, Bowland Wild Boar Park Reviews: 4.5/5

Bowland Wild Boar Park
4.5
Saturday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
601 reviews
Excellent
338
Very good
182
Average
44
Poor
26
Terrible
11

muppet1972
Appleby, UK23 contributions
Good day out
Jun 2021 • Family
Really liked this place plenty to see and do youngest really loved the barrel ride and getting to hold a chick.they do a mean steak sandwich as well.only bad thing is there seems to be no magnets with there name and logo on it.we as a family like to collect them from days out.
Written 3 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

saraht2
Crawshaw Booth, UK99 contributions
Excellent day out
May 2021 • Family
We visited with 3 year olds and were pleasantly surprised with how much we were able to do and was open given covid times.
It was our first visit and we easily filled nearly 5 hours with the playground, the walks in the woods, the amount of stuff in the barn (we struggled to get them away from the sand and the tractors) the barrel rides and walking round all the animals.
The park is so spacious and has plenty to offer all ages.
Written 9 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ellen S
3 contributions
Excellent. Well priced. Professional.
Apr 2021 • Family
A brilliant day out! Would just like to say how professionally run it was under covid guidelines. Its nice to have a day out that isn't too over priced our 2y/o absolutely loved it, especially the barrel ride which was a very small fee. Brilliant job everyone, will definitely be returning!
Written 18 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ruth T
6 contributions
Such an ace day!
Oct 2020 • Family
Loved our day out! We went and the weather was not great but take the kids with a view that what ever the weather they can have fun! I decided to just let them be kids and enjoy, get mucky and have fun x great day, loads to do! Highly recommend the tank driving!
Written 28 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wonderful, thanks for your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your day out. Stay safe and well this winter
Written 4 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Garny_65
Preston, UK312 contributions
A good day out
Sep 2020 • Family
Took our grandson and it turned out to be a great day.
The weather was a bit hit n miss but dry whilst we were at the park.
We started with the meerkats and gradually moved on through the park until we saw the wild boars but the greater attraction was the two hour old Water Buffalo Calf. Whilst the calf was doing an imitation of ‘Bambi on Ice’ my grandson was fascinated with the mother coaxing the baby to stand, needed to survive, as we later learnt from the knowledgeable staff member.
We also witnessed Roux, the pig that’s sits on command ( helped by food!)
What an adventure for a five year old. We saw the rest of the animals, of which there were plenty, then we took a walk on the nature trail and the sculpture trail. We filled over two hours within the park and for the money felt we had achieved good value.
Clearly the water buffalo , the wild boar and the meerkats were a massive attraction to my grandson but he enjoyed everything else the park had to offer.

Recommended
Written 6 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks ever so much Garny for your great review of our animal park. So happy your 5 year old grandson had a fabulous time and enjoyed seeing all our animal :) Hope to see you again next year.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David Graham
7 contributions
Family day out
Aug 2020 • Family
Enjoyable experience and relative to similar venues good value for money (£25 for a family of 4). Educational walks, with maps and questions to answer within a leaflet. Spot the tree, sculpture and a nature walk through the forest.
Excellent playground with sit on zip lines and pedal carts. Tractor and train rides around the park. Tank drives for older children 8+ (even Dad had a go). Plenty of animals to look at. The Meerkats are ace.
Good value lunch with rare breed burgers for a fiver i.e. you don't get ripped off like you do at many places.
We spent 6 hours there as we had the advantage of good weather. We'll definitely be back.
Written 5 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fabulous review thank you David :) It sounds like you and your family had a fun filled day out at our park.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hazybrady
Manchester, UK92 contributions
Disappointed
Sep 2020 • Family
Have wanted to visit here for a long time as from the website and reviews it looks really good. This was the last week before the park resumes to weekends only and the weather was not good so we were glad of the barn. The cost compared with other places I’ve visited with my two grandsons was on the expensive side. There were no concessions so for two over 65s and a three year old grandson and baby,the cost was £22.50. We went for a treat lunch which also cost £22.50 and was extremely poor quality. Stale bread, pathetic salad ,soft crisps and weak coffee. I would never use this fascility again and definitely recommend taking your own picnic. The Covid measures were good so we felt safe. Not sure I would return.
Written 2 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review of our park. We are of course disappointed that you don't feel your visit was value for money. We charge £7.50 per person park entry and a family of 4 is just £25. Generally a lot of our guests spend between 3 to 5 hours at the park viewing our 40+ species of animals, playing on the large playground, riding on the barrel rides or tanks and enjoying pleasant walks through the woodland areas and next to the River Hodder. However on a wet day we acknowledge that most of our activities are outdoors and you may not stay quite as long. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your lunch from our Cafe. I will pass on your comments to our Cafe manager. Perhaps if you had brought this to our attention at the time we would have had the chance to address this. Thank you again.
Written 4 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

1988
6 contributions
Wonderful!!!
Aug 2020 • Family
We camped from Saturday until Tuesday. We were meant to leave on Monday but they managed to book us on for an extra night because it was just such a great place, no hassle the staff were fab!
the weather wasn’t great but the kids absolutely loved everything about it.
The camp site is super safe, no cars can drive onto the bit where you’re camping hut or tent.
There’s a little park on the campsite and the kids loved it being able to just run back and forth from the tent to the park.
the facilities were brilliant, really clean, modern toilets and kitchenette.
Lots of wildlife around the camping area we often saw sheep grazing behind the fence just by the tent, peacocks, ducks and even some hedgehogs.
It’s £6 pp per night to camp and it’s £25 for a family of 4 to enter the farm and that’s for the whole time you are there. There’s loads of nature tails and walks. Lots of healthy clean, well kept animals. The staff are all super friendly, they literally cannot help you enough and the all seem to love working their. The play area down in the farm is absolutely fantastic!
We were really lucky that outdoors4all were there on Monday and the children enjoyed some wonderful workshops, making fires, clay models and toasting marshmallows to make s'mores.
There’s a barrel ride that you book onto on arrival for £2 and it takes the children round telling them about the animals. It’s the best place we’ve been camping and we cannot wait to book in again.
Thank you so much for the most fabulous stay! See you soon xxx
Written 26 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WOW ! Thanks Sara for such a fabulous review. You and your family obviously had a amazing time at the park and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to write this great review. All BWBP staff enjoy their jobs and will do their very best to ensure guests have a fantastic time. We hope to see you again next year :) x
Written 4 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bethan C
4 contributions
good value, lovely little "no nonsense" gem
Aug 2020
Lovely little "no nonsense" gem in the middle of the forest. Lots to keep the kids entertained. Good value day out. Nice cafe and ice-cream parlour, with (very much appreciated) environmentally friendly packaging (compostable coffee cup lids, cardboard trays etc). Very impressive.
Written 21 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brilliant, thanks for your great review Bethan :) Stay safe and well !
Written 4 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

s m
Isle of Man, UK245 contributions
Can't decide with this one
Aug 2020 • Family
Came here while on holiday with 4 adults and 2 children.
Found it a little different that everyone pays the same price regardless of adult, child, oap etc. Have read comments that it is more than previous years and has changed ownership.
Also read that pre ownership change there may have been more animals and opportunities to enter enclosures, get up close with more animals than you can now.
I am unsure too how different things are from the norm due to covid 19 precautions.
Paid 1 pound for the kids to go on a tractor ride which lasts nearly 10 mins so that was good. Plus there are some neat tanks kids can drive if they are tall enough for four pounds for four minutes, (you have to book a time slot for both these things from the office) however if you are tall enough for the tanks, you may be getting a bit old for alot at the place, Ie toys and games etc.
There are some nice walks to see a variety of animals (27 or so I believe) so we saw bison I think, an ostrich, red deer, mere cats, turkeys, owls pigs, goats etc but only managed to see one large wild boar, there are lots of vey young ones in pen's in other areas.
The play area was a good size and out kids enjoyed it several times.
Cannot comment on the ice cream or food , and after a couple of hours we had pretty much done everything except some more walks as we had two seniors with us. Only other thing that isn't a big issue is the roads to the park are a bit of a swine, lots of local nutters in shiny audi's that with any luck the next time I see them they will be upside down
Written 16 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review; we appreciate all comments so we can address any issues found. During the summer of 2020 we have been working with Covid restrictions in place and therefore unable to offer animal petting or feeding to comply. We have over 40 different animal species on the park, a large children's playground, along with individual children's barrel rides, a tank experience, mini diggers to drive and some beautiful walks along the river Hodder and within the woodland areas of the park. Stay Safe and Well
Written 4 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 599
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing