We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Musee National de Prehistoire

1 rue du Musee, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
+33 5 53 06 45 45
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$170.88*
and up
Small-Group Dordogne Day Tour from Sarlat
More Info
US$170.88*
and up
Lascaux IV and The Art of the Caves in Sarlat
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good36%
  • Average18%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great museum” (6 reviews)
“stone tools” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:30 - 12:30, 14:00 - 17:30
LOCATION
1 rue du Musee, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
CONTACT
Website
+33 5 53 06 45 45
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Whilst one cannot fault this world class museum it is very specialised. Although there are a number of fact sheets n English and other languages, most of the detailed explanation of the individual exhibits are in French. But you're not going to visit the National...More

Thank Wellfan
Reviewed 3 days ago

There is an incredible collection of pre-history artefacts in this very modern Museum but its almost impossible to navigate your way through it. Once inside, its just too difficult and time consuming to understand everything, as all the displays are signed in French only. I'm...More

Thank MadamJosephine
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This museum has a TON of stuff. It struck us as a delightful place for people who come with some knowledge of and appreciation for prehistory, but for others, it might well be dense, dry, and overwhelming. (The labels/descriptions are all in French, too.) It's...More

Thank Nonydog
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Many artifacts...signage only in French.we would have had a better experience if audio guides were made available.

Thank Lcg46
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this tour through Viator and had an excellent experience. We met our guide in a parking lot in Sarlat and she drove us to the museum and Lascaux IV. The museum is quite new. There are bones of animals and humans, artifacts, and...More

Thank Judy M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This museum has some great artefacts and displays, but unfortunately everything written is in French. There are some printed pages in other languages at various points, but more is needed. Definitely needs to invest in audio guides. €6 entry well worth it.

Thank mini_d51
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This museum is just excellent, and a must visit for anyone with an interest in archaeology, anthropology, human evolution, and the prehistory of France. Make sure you allot sufficient time to go through without rushing - at least a day, and maybe more. There are...More

Thank Paul G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While it had some good artifacts, it did not have English translations, nor did we see any audio guides available. After the fabulous experience at Lascaux, this was disappointing.

Thank vdempsey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our experience here was so, so French, in that we arrived at 11 a.m. and were told the museum would close at 12:30 for lunch; at noon the staff literally started herding us through the museum and out the door. We went back after lunch...More

Thank Susan M
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The museum is a treasure trove of artefacts and information about prehistoric man's activity in this area of France and beyond - a comprehensive resource to underpin an understanding of the caves and troglodytic dwellings all around. As other reviewers mention, the exhibits are set...More

Thank Martin G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Maison
157 reviews
.01 km away
Au coup de Silex
471 reviews
.02 km away
Mentalo
270 reviews
.26 km away
Hotel Restaurants Les Glycines & Spa
179 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cave of Font-de-Gaume
532 reviews
1.07 km away
Pole International de la Prehistoire
200 reviews
.36 km away
L'Abri Cro-Magnon
107 reviews
.56 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Lori H
The first two charges made 7 months after our visit said "entree" which we assumed was for a meal at a restaurant. Now we wonder if the two charges were for "entrance" to the Museum? If so, this still does not explain why the charges came thru 7 months after our visit nor does it explain the very large charge attempt. We love France and feel terrible to report this bad experience but want the staff and visitors to be aware of the possibility for this to happen. I recommend taking credit cards because they are safer for the consumer to use. Using a debit card is not safe because it gives the person who has the number direct access to your bank account. We hope the person that did this is discovered and that it never happens to anyone else again.
4 February 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Lori H | Reviewed this property |
We did not have enough cash and they did not take Master Card or American Express card so we had to use our Debit card and the number was used 7 months after our visit for 3 purchases but our bank fraud department was... More
0
Votes