We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de Goulaine

East of Haut-Goulaine, Nantes, France
+33 2 40 54 91 42
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Visiting the Goulaines.

Yes, it was much more than tourism. In fact it wasn't tourism at all. It beguns as a visit to the... read more

Reviewed 8 June 2017
EduAlv
,
Atalaia, Portugal
Historic day out

Beautiful french style castle integrated in the city. The gardens are lovely and well cared, as... read more

Reviewed 15 November 2016
KatieDiaz
via mobile
Read all 153 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good47%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
8 Jun 2017
“Visiting the Goulaines.”
15 Nov 2016
“Historic day out”
LOCATION
East of Haut-Goulaine, Nantes, France
CONTACT
Website
+33 2 40 54 91 42
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Yes, it was much more than tourism. In fact it wasn't tourism at all. It beguns as a visit to the first of 4 chateaux foreseen for the afternoon. Luckily, it became the only one! Are you confuse? I explain. The castle was closed that...More

Thank EduAlv
Christophe d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you so much , and such a pleasure to recieve you as special visitors , you were so friendly that I wanted to keep you inside the the château instead of outside ! I hope you enjoyed visiting our region . I allways remember...More

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful french style castle integrated in the city. The gardens are lovely and well cared, as well as the inside which you can visit buying an extra ticket!

Thank KatieDiaz
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Not much of this small to medium chateau was available to see and what there was, was fairly interesting. The LU biscuit museum was worth a visit for the artwork on display but the gardens and large empty courtyard and buildings were disappointing.

Thank Simon P
Reviewed 13 July 2016

we didn't do the museum, just walked around the outsides, on the walls. Nice as right in the middle of the town!

Thank Kristell L
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing, after driving a long way the château wasn't even open despite supposedly opening at 2pm was still closed at 2:45. Call before you go to avoid disappointment.More

Thank HETanner
Christophe d, Gérant at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

We are sorry if you did a long way to visit us , to make sure we are open please check our web site, the openning hours are easy to read , if you do send us a mail we will answer , or please...More

Reviewed 13 September 2015

We rented bicycles from Nantes and rode the ~1 hour out of town (Rent from Metropole a velo rather than the Bicloo because it will be cheaper in the long run). The ride was extremely flat and easy as well as beautiful as it meandered...More

3  Thank Michael W
Christophe d, Gérant at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

Thank you for visiting us , it's a great idea to use the bicycle from Nantes ! It was nice meeting you.

Reviewed 25 August 2015

gorgeous architecture, on warm days, it's nice to sit down by the moat in the sun quaffing crisp, cold, white wine whilst reading a good book

1  Thank Philip N
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

On the outside the chateau looks promising but the inside is very disappointing. The guide was finishing a tour when we arrived and we expected to be next ones for the tour but she left quickly, never to return. So we explored the 4 rooms...More

1  Thank Paul S
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Within a 10 minute walk from the train station is this gorgeous chateau. It is free admission unless you want to see objects of art which comes with an admission fee. You get to experience visiting a chateau right in the city, that has been...More

1  Thank Meisterporsche
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

We didn't go in as we were late arriving and the place was closed. However we did walk the grounds and took some photos, we also had a game of frisbee with the kids. Look closely at the most, it is full of wildlife, the...More

2  Thank Peter P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Manoir de la Boulaie
271 reviews
2.41 km away
Chez Pipette
173 reviews
2.75 km away
Restaurant Jean D'la Queue
363 reviews
2.78 km away
Le Bistrot Nantais
49 reviews
5.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cine Pole Sud
12 reviews
4.40 km away
Nantes Wine Tour
10 reviews
5.71 km away
Altissimo Escalade
14 reviews
6.89 km away
City Kart
28 reviews
6.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chateau de Goulaine staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit