We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Carretera de Benahavis Km 0,7, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Phone Number:
+34 952 88 28 12
Website
Description:

Set against the stunning backdrop of the Sierra Blanca mountains, its two...

Set against the stunning backdrop of the Sierra Blanca mountains, its two magnificent 18-hole courses - the Atalaya Old Course and the Atalaya New Course - are lined with mature eucalyptus trees, cactus and palms and pink and white azaleas that fill the air with an unforgettable and intoxicating scent.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 107 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Nicely maintained golfcourse with great lay-out

The Atalaya Old Course is one of my absolute favorties in Marbella. It is a long course - even form yellow tee. The course is managable for mid handicappers as well as challingig... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Øyvind M
,
Asker, Norway
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We played on teh 26th of MAy with 20 people on the Atalaya old course. Eve though the course itself is ok/average the suroundings, staff and facilities are poor. - The driving range is about 5-10 min drive from the clubhouse by buggy - The staff on the ground are really unfriendly and give you nop feeling that you are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andries d
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Atalaya Old Course is one of my absolute favorties in Marbella. It is a long course - even form yellow tee. The course is managable for mid handicappers as well as challingig for good players. What I find most impressive with this course is that it is always undergoing improvements. This year, the first hole (now hole 10) has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Øyvind M
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of 8 played golf here twice in 4 days. Unfortunately, the first round was a bad experience, there was a lot of noise from local construction sites, and one of the lockers was broken into, while we were playing and a large amount of cash was stolen. This was on a Thursday. The second round was on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 60sparky08
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Started off in line with other teams on nearly 5 hour round. Expensive to play there and catering a real rip off, little bottle of water for 1.50€ second rate and expensive food at the upper restaurant. Not friendly club difficult to park, not going back there again.

Helpful?
Thank Benjakefoxy
Golfenred, General Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Benjakefoxy, Sorry for the long round of golf at our golf club. As it is high season we have many players playing at the courses and pace of play is some days above the estimated 4h 25 minutes per round, however we have since a week contracted another marshal to better control the courses and players. Concerning the... More 

Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

I have NEVER been to a place where I felt more unwelcome. They appear to dislike visiting golfers and make it quite clear in many different ways. On arrival we were met by a man who was organising the parking who was delightful, smiley and helpful. We were then not to see another smiley face until we visited the Kiosk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
Golfenred, General Manager at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Richard, Atalaya Golf apologises for all these problems you had at our course, and we will work hard to improve all departments to produce a much better service to all our clients. Please bear in mind that we are only working on the road with installing a new fence, cutting the grass, cleaning after the stormy weather of... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Final day of a 3 round minibreak, so glad of a more gentle, less undulating challenge at the end of Sept 2016. Lovely clubhouse, pro-shop and played the old course. One hole under reconstruction but not an issue, course in very good condition for time of year and amount of usage. We will definitely be returning. A pleasant bar restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee S
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This Parkland Old Course is more tHan interesting long and in good condition 200 yd plus par threes very long par 4 s but all fair Would I ply it again ? Yes but not at the price they charge !

Helpful?
Thank Bootrav
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2016

WARNING !! If you want to play Atalaya Golf Courses be aware that they do not follow the booking rules provided by Golfhæftet.com. If you tell them when you book that you will use golfhæftet they only have a small number of tee times not available during preferable hours. If you do not tell them that you will use golfhæftet... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael A
Banbury
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed at the nearby Atalaya Hotel and had two rounds of gold included in the package. Upon arrival we went to the pro shop which is well stocked with friendly staff. We arrived with plenty of time so went on the putting green and on the practice range. There was also a half way house by the 1st so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tuz73
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The Hotel was lovely with warm and welcoming staff. Restaurant food plentiful and lots of choice although some items would benefit from being labelled as vegetarian, didn't want to try a lot of the food as there was no one to ask at times and didn't want to "trust my " luck" Bedroom clean with daily maid service although the... More 

Helpful?
Thank minlic751

Travellers who viewed Atalaya Golf & Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Atalaya Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Atalaya Golf & Country Club and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Atalaya Golf & Country Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?