We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

British Wildlife Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: British Wildlife Centre Eastbourne Road, Lingfield RH7 6LF, England
Phone Number:
+44 1342 834658
Website
Fee: Yes

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 337 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 219
    Excellent
  • 79
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Great photographic course

This is a truly a awesome place, great friendly knowledgeable staff, well looked after animals, a great education for us all. The work they do is first class and should be... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
waggers100
,
Peterborough
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 337: English reviews
Peterborough
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is a truly a awesome place, great friendly knowledgeable staff, well looked after animals, a great education for us all. The work they do is first class and should be supported

Helpful?
Thank waggers100
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the BWC on a damp Sunday not expecting to view much of the wildlife. As we walked round we listened to one of the keepers talks and were mpressed with their knowledge, so we then made sure to listen to them all! . Most of the animals appear on cue as they are given treats during the talk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert740
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Coming from Australia we enjoyed the opportunity to see deer, foxes, squirrels otters and a badger. The park is easy to get around and offers good food and coffee for lunches. My only concerns were it was not particularly well signposted so without a GPS could be tricky to find. Also a tip, we visited on a 7'C Feb day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madpet22
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Knowing how much our little girl loves animals, this seemed the perfect opportunity to see some with her. Even though it was a cold February morning there was still plenty wildlife to see (favourites being the red squirrels and otters!). It was so nice to see wildlife in their habitat that we can't wait to go back in the Spring... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim3011
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its a shame to give a negative review but quite frankly for what you actually see, this is an expensive day out. The cages and pens for the creatures are beautifully made and the surroundings very pleasant but that does not justify the £11.50 each charged for admittance. Most of the animals were hibernating or tucked up in their burrows... More 

Helpful?
Thank annacarol2014
Liza L, Public Relations Manager at British Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

We are always sorry to hear any of our visitors are disappointed with their visit to the British Wildlife Centre. Our species are not forced on display as they may be in some traditional zoos or farm parks, and very few hibernate. Some will reduce their activity during the colder months. We wish to them to live and behave as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Without keeper talks we would have been devoid of seeing any wildlife. It was a cold windy day so this may have had an effect on the animals hiding in warm burrows etc but it meant the children were quite bored and bearing in mind the entry cost it was an expensive day for not very much which meant two... More 

Helpful?
Thank InspectorNoccs
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

true british wildlife centre great for kids and adults alike, cheap and so much to offer was great seeing this place on such a nice day

Helpful?
Thank jbaccy92
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great place have been before but this time solo with better camera. Not overly abundant with wildlife but great place for learning patience. Love looking at nature in its own environment but down side U.K. Wildlife tends to hide away in the cold till feeding time. If your taking little people and want them occupied follow the keepers talks and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 15debs1963
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We visited with our three young children despite of the previous negative review of the lack of animals but unfortunately we were also bitterly disappointed. Most animals are in 'hibernation' so there are very few to see and the broadwalk is closed. I feel for staff and customers alike, it would be fairer to have a seasonal calendar, March -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nonsoloinglese
Buxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I decided to visit, we have never been before and were both looking forward to seeing the wildlife. Sadly we were both extremely disappointed. The tickets are expensive at 11.50 each but do appreciate the work that goes into looking after the animals so we didn't mind paying it. One problem, there were hardly any animals to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsEaster
Liza L, Public Relations Manager at British Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

We very sorry to hear you that you were disappointed with your visit to the Centre recently. Please be assured that, unless there is a sign that says otherwise, all our enclosures are inhabited. We apologise that our Wetland Nature Reserve Boardwalk is currently closed due to essential repairs but there is a large notice at the front desk which... More 

Travellers who viewed British Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Leatherhead, Surrey
 

Been to British Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of British Wildlife Centre and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
4 months ago
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from British Wildlife Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?