We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Felinwynt Rainforest Centre - CLOSED

Felinwynt SA43 1RT, Wales
+44 1239 810882
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely gutted!

We visited earlier today with our two very excited young daughters who are 2 and 3 only to arrive... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2014
Tammy B
via mobile
Interesting

took our two little girls to see the butterflies and they really enjoyed themselves. £5.50 for... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2013
JOHNHEPPENSTALL
,
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Read all 10 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Now a Cafe
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good50%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible20%
30 Jul 2014
“Absolutely gutted!”
7 Sep 2013
“Interesting”
LOCATION
Felinwynt SA43 1RT, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1239 810882
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We visited earlier today with our two very excited young daughters who are 2 and 3 only to arrive and discover that it's all locked up and for sale! Leaving our 2 and 3 year olds crying and really upset. Think out of politeness a...More

6  Thank Tammy B
Dorothy D, Owner at Felinwynt Rainforest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am sorry your daughters were disappointed. They will find life disappointing! I had asked TripAdvisor to remove us from their site. If you had gone to our website you would have seen the Centre was closed or rung the number and found it not...More

Reviewed 7 September 2013

took our two little girls to see the butterflies and they really enjoyed themselves. £5.50 for adults and children under three are free. The place itself is only small but as enough space for you to wander about and see the many different species of...More

1  Thank JOHNHEPPENSTALL
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I cannot recommend this to anyone. We had hoped our visit would keep my family and I entertained for a couple of hours but it didn't. It is very small and about 10 minutes entertainment at best. There was no one to show us around...More

1  Thank fred d
Dorothy D, Owner at Felinwynt Rainforest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I'm sorry you felt you didn't have your moneys worth. I can't understand why you didn't have John to explain things as I'm sure the member of staff who you paid entrance to told you that John would be there to explain things and answer...More

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I spent a really interesting hour here and walked around a few times, seeing more butterflies each time. I found my guide, the owner, very interesting but not at all pushy and he happily explained anything I asked but also left me to wander on...More

1  Thank kunduku
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We came across this wonderful tropical House by chance. We saw the sign offering teas and coffees. Wow once in side it became clear that it was a real place to visit if your in the area. The Rainforest effect has been built up over...More

Thank puddleduckNrHereford
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Overpriced for a small centre. Some nice butterflies, but we found the pushy "guide" a bit much. Some nice butterflies, but we had thought to spend a morning there and were finished in 20 minutes.More

Thank kalsisolva
Dorothy D, Owner at Felinwynt Rainforest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for your review. Obviusly you didn't feel you had your moneys worth. It costs a lot of money to run the Centre and the entrance fee doesn't reflect the costs occured. The "giude" was not pushy but the passionate owner of the Tropical...More

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Felinwynt Rainforest Centre, and found John to be very enthusiastic and informative about his rainforest wildlife. Despite it being a somewhat overcast afternoon there were plenty of exotic butterflies to be seen and the ant colony was active,...More

1  Thank Llaingyfre
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We recently visited the rainforest centre when we were away for a few days in cardigan. the staff were very pleasant and very helpful, and John the owner was very informative about his collection of butterflies and moths, which were very interesting to look at...More

1  Thank village1962
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This butterfy centre is not the best we've been to in the UK, and it could certainly do with more butterflies and displays. It is relatively easy to get too and not to expensive (our party of six cost £24.50), also there was adequate free...More

1  Thank Joe L
Dorothy D, Owner at Felinwynt Rainforest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thanks Joe for your feedback. We aren't really a butterfly house as our name implies and we hope we give good service everywhere in the Centre. We have run Felinwynt Rainforest Centre for 24 years and wish to retire but good service from all of...More

Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is a lovely centre run by a couple whose passion for nature have kept this place going. It was £5 per adult entry to a massive greenhouse which was a tropical rainforest filled with butterflies, caterpillars, finches, leaf cutter ants and fish. The owner,...More

1  Thank MrsCrofty72
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jamieson's Steakhouse
213 reviews
5.07 km away
The Ship Inn
503 reviews
5.82 km away
Food For Thought
387 reviews
5.97 km away
Cwtch Glanmordy
35 reviews
3.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aberporth Beach
114 reviews
3.84 km away
Tresaith Beach
158 reviews
5.80 km away
Welsh Wildlife Centre
164 reviews
6.53 km away
St. Dogmaels Abbey
104 reviews
7.27 km away